Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

100%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 8 reviews

Low-Carb Diet

While its popularity has waned a little, the low-carb plans still have loyal followers.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

They say history and fashion repeat themselves. And apparently the same is true for diet trends. What we now know as the carb-fad, first came out in the 1970s. It caught just as much criticism then for potential health risks as it in recent years. With more research and science backing the idea than ever before, low-carb diets are popular and more acceptable.

We saw how Dr. Robert Atkins devoted his life to showing the benefits of practicing a low-carb lifestyle. A low-carb diet can most notably shed pounds, but followers have also found their cholesterol to decrease and that they have more energy. With Atkins as the flagship low-carb diet, there are many others promoting the positive, lasting effects including The Zone, South Beach and Carb Addicts.

While each of these low-carb diets puts their own spin on the program, they're all rooted in the same principles: limitation of carbs and inclusion of fat and protein.

By eliminating carbs from your diet, you're effectively decreasing the production of glucose, which is involved with regulating blood sugar and weight. When there are no new carbohydrates entering the body, it is forced to start relying on storage. When these carbs are burned, water is produced. This results in loss of water weight. Once the body has used up all the stored carbs, it turns to fat for energy. This fat is then burned off to give your body the energy it needs. That's when you see the anticipated results.

PRO
  • It's become more acceptable with mainstream healthcare experts.
CON
  • There are studies that show low-carb diets produce positive results for those seeking to lose weight and manage their cholesterol.
  • There are still critics who contend that the high consumption of fat during a low-carb diet can be detrimental to your health in the long run.
DIET and NUTRITION

With a low-carb diet comes the dismissal of stand-by, starchy favorites. You'll say goodbye to bread, pasta, potatoes, cookies and so much more. The flip side is that you can indulge in all the butter, bacon, eggs and cheese you can eat. Each plan varies slightly, with some less strict plans allowing produce and whole grains.

EXERCISE

Depends on the plan, but most have accompanying exercise recommendations.

CONCLUSION

There are plenty of low-carb approaches you can choose from. But they all share the basic principles of eliminating certain carbs and stressing proteins and healthy fats. While there are still critics, most of these plans aren’t as drastic in the long run as you may think.

Common Misspellings

low carb, low carb diet, low-carb deit


Related Diets: Atkins Advantage, Atkins Diet, South Beach Diet, Dr. Gott's No Flour No Sugar Diet, The New Atkins for a New You


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 31 total comments)

whoah this blog is wonderful i love reading your posts. Stay up the great work! You know, lots of persons are looking round for this information, you could help them greatly.

whoah this blog is wonderful i love reading your posts. Stay up the great work! You know, lots of persons are looking round for this information, you could help them greatly.

posted May 15th, 2014 6:57 am


stefanie

I have lost 20lbs in 7 weeks! And still losing. I now have energy to last me all day. I'm thrilled with the results. I run 5 days a week. My usual day of eating is breakfast: a hard boiled egg with coffee without sugar & sugar free cream. I also take vitamins: b12, iron, multi-vitamin & fish oil. Lunch: salad, with grilled chicken, light ranch & cheese. Snack: carb master yogurt (low carb yogurt). Dinner: slim fast low carb shake. I don't eat dinner late or snack afterwards. Atkins isn't just eating fat. You can do low carb, low calorie, high fiber, high protein. Be smart & live well.

posted Mar 4th, 2013 6:57 pm


Bethee

Can not do the greasy foods people are taking about, stomache ses NO! I have seen great success with low carb, stick to under 50 a day. DO NOT eat a ton of meats, there is plenty to eat, just be creative and watch your food groups.

posted Mar 4th, 2012 12:41 pm


stevek

It works, I lost 2 kg within 10 days. I decided to eat green vegetables even during induction phase, further meat (chicken, pork, fish), milk products-yogurt, cheeses and eggs. At first it was difficult to live without bread and potatoes but the results persuaded me. You need not to keep the strict version without any vegetable at all, with low carb veggies (pepper, cucumber, brocoli...) it works as well

posted Jan 13th, 2012 2:28 pm


Hannah

I went on a low carb diet and lost 15 pounds in exactly one month and 3 days.

posted Dec 15th, 2011 5:26 pm


Brooke

i am starting the diet today will keep update wnt to lose 25lbs crossing fingers.....ur reviews hv helped alot

posted Sep 19th, 2011 2:22 pm


Michael Mc Clenan

Calorie restricted diets often fail because your always hungry using portion control. Low Carb life style allows you to eat foods that curb hunger and reduce the amount of insulin secreted from the pancreas that causes weight gain. It's good science and works to prevent the diabetes.

posted Aug 21st, 2011 3:24 pm


Lynn

Didn't Robert Atkins die of heart failure? (btw: Jesus Christ is the ONLY "king"!)

posted Mar 17th, 2011 3:48 pm


Toya

Just eating meat alone i have lost 6 lbs in 2 days no sweets or carbs i keep my carb below 10 grams everyday. love it

posted Aug 5th, 2010 4:07 pm


Mary

Low carb diets defiantly work if you stick to it. You have to do a lot of research on your foods to find what is right for you to eat. I have been on a low carb diet for about 2 weeks and have lost 7lbs. I also do 45 min. of cardio 5 times a week. I eat eggs for breakfast but I use egg beaters because they are lower in calories and not as high in cholesterol. I will have a big salad for lunch with lots of ham, turkey, cucumbers, cheese and black olives. At dinner time I will have my meat and I tend to stick with pork, chicken or turkey but sometimes I will have red meat. I will have cauliflower or broccoli and another side dish. Itā??s hard to get past temptation but just keep in mind what results you will have at the end!!!

posted May 13th, 2010 10:26 am


Glenn

I am angered when people don't read about it and assume its an all meant, no vegetable diet.
YOU LIMIT!.
I heard of a man who had "severe bowel issues" (a friend of mine) who only thought it was just high meat. I told him to buy the book. He gave up because he would have to read a $20 book, yet I used to sell South-Beach hardcover books far more often than the Atkins one. It amazes me that people post thoughts without taking the time to educate themselves even a little before posting. I was on Atkins, stopped (wish I didn't) and got back on, and now I find I don't want sweets.

posted Mar 26th, 2010 9:56 am


Nancy

I was on this diet for a year and lost a lot of weight, I felt great until my kidneys stopped working. I was really strict and didn't go off the diet at all.

posted Mar 6th, 2010 7:22 pm


Gina

IT DOES WORK! and you can eat all the salad you want which is very good for you! Other things like eggs, cheese, chicken, steak etc. Also certain salad dressings. Lets face it most of us aren't eating tons of fruits and veggies on a daily basis so cutting them out completely for even a month isn't going to kill anyone. Obviously this diet isn't for those with high cholesterol or low will power.

posted Feb 27th, 2010 2:44 pm


bevery

and as for butter is high in saturated fat!

posted Feb 11th, 2010 5:50 am


beverly

there has been proven facts that this type of diet can damage your arteries! why would you want to go o a diet based on bacon and eggs? with limited vegetables thats a recipe for disaster and if you do lose weight it wont last long! duh. just eat your complex carbs eat your vegetables and healthy fats. its not hardl

posted Feb 11th, 2010 5:48 am


sally

Many people simply don't understand this diet. For the first two weeks the diet allows you an abundance of fats so you can make it through the withdrawl from carbs process. Fat without carbs can not raise your insulin level, a raising of your insulin level is what causes high cholesterol not saturated fat alone, it simply does not. The problem with people who claim their cholesterol levels are high on this diet are cheating, simple as that. In addition, after the first two weeks you are allowed to add certain fruits and plenty of vegetables, no potatos or corn or starch, but should you really be eating that stuff anyway if you have a tendency to pack on the pounds? Just saying. It works.

posted Jan 22nd, 2010 11:08 am


Bella

i have been on the low carb diet for about a week now (eating about 40g a day) but i am stuck at 5 lbs. i dont seem to be loosing anymore! any tips? i am a vegetarian and excersise about 4-5 days a week. And i love yogurt but it is so high in carbs can you recommend any replacements similar to yogurt? thanks!

posted Nov 12th, 2009 3:57 pm


Lara

I agree, I eat way more healthy veggies when I cut out unhealthy types of carbs.

posted Apr 8th, 2009 11:07 am


tyler

I LOOOOVEEE it! it amazes me! It takes alot of will power.. but when you see your losing 5 pounds a week you dont feel tempted to eat the bad foods!

posted Feb 15th, 2009 3:58 pm


frances

the best diet , works, do not stay hungry, nails and hair healthier, lost 16 pounds in less than 2 months

posted Nov 30th, 2008 9:17 pm



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account