Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

81%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 16 reviews

Lindora

Lindora offers more than 30 years of weight loss results.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

For more than three decades, Lindora has been helping overweight individuals get "Lean for Life." Dr. Marshall Stamper opened a weight loss clinic following the death of his mother. Her death was the result of obesity and related illnesses. Stamper developed a program that helps people lose weight in a supervised manner, and do so quickly.

In its 35 years, Lindora has grown to 35 clinics in Southern California, as well as a comprehensive Web program. There are clinics located inside Rite Aid pharmacies, the first retail-based clinic providing expert, personalized weight loss plans. It's this medically sound and clinically tested weight loss plan that has successfully helped thousands of women, men and even children.

Lindora targets mind, body and behavior for a well-rounded approach to weight loss that yields long-term benefits. It's a far cry from those rapid-loss fad diets. In fact, one Lindora proprietary finding is the VAP Test, an extensive cholesterol test heralded by the Wall Street Journal on its list of "five tests worth paying for, that can save your life."

You can visit the Lindora clinic for expert weight loss advice, as well as wellness exams, vaccinations and care for minor illnesses.

The website offers the usual fodder such as testimonials, company background and an extensive FAQ. But you can also subscribe to Lindora Online, where you can participate in your choice of several programs.

PRO
  • Lindora is recognized as being a leader in innovation and research
  • Medically supervised
  • In-person clinics and online programs
  • Promotes a well-rounded weight loss approach
CON
  • May be cost prohibitive for some
DIET and NUTRITION

You'll also have access to meal plans, expert advice, message boards, all from your own home.

Excercise

The Lindora website gives some basic recommendations for your exercise.

CONCLUSION

The staff at Lindora is recognized as being a leader in innovation and research in the health community. With that knowledge, you can go into the program with the confidence that you are starting a reputable plan.

Common Misspellings

Lindoa, Lindor, Lindoria


Related Diets: Duke Diet, Biggest Loser Resort


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 37 total comments)

Danielle

Like any diet, this one works if you follow it. I have love 40 lbs on it.. Love the program and the center I go to.. Lots of support.

posted Nov 27th, 2012 4:34 am


Andrea

I paid for a used copy of Lindora's latest book. I have not PAID for the treatment at the clinc. I followed the book to the T and am closing in on 70 pounds. I did it slowly but I have done it.

posted Jan 17th, 2012 4:55 pm


[no name provided]

fat farm was of course a boon for me. i was fed up of my overweight. i weighed 340 pounds but fat farm reduces my weight drastically.

posted Aug 28th, 2011 3:54 pm


SHIRLEY

WAS HCG GIVEN IN INJECTIONS AT LINDORA IN THE PAST? I HAVE DIETED WITH LINDORA A COUPLE TIMES, ONE BEING IN EARLY 1970'S. DID LINDORA USE THE TALKED ABOUT HCG SHOTS IN THE 70'S FOR QUICK WEIGHT LOSS. I THOUGHT THAT WAS WHEN I FIRST HEARD ABOUT THE HCG. THANKS

posted Aug 13th, 2011 2:29 am


jennifer

It is a great program if you stay dedicated. The cost is a little high, but the reward is a lot greater!!! Ive lost 45 lbs in 4 months. My friend has lost 70 lbs in less than a year.

posted Aug 11th, 2011 6:41 pm


elizabeth

I have been on Lindora for 6 weeks and have lost 17lbs. This diet really works if you eat no more than 100 carbs a day, drink the 80oz of water and limit your calories to 1,000 per day. In addition, you must, must, must exercise 5 days a week for the 45 minutes. If you do not do the 5 days of exercise you will simply not lose the weight.

posted Apr 22nd, 2011 8:05 pm


me

Maybe the two posters below me are eating something with two many carbs in it without realizing it?

posted Feb 16th, 2011 11:18 pm


reba

Donna, I'm at the same point you are. 5 weeks in and only 5 lbs lost. I have not cheated, drink my 80oz water, workout almost everyday. The first time on Lindora, I lost 33 lbs in 8 weeks. I am losing inches, but not the weight. Very expensive diet, and no one seems to be able to answer why the weight isn't coming off. They had me on plateau, and then on the amp diet. I'm in ketosis, but to no avail. Anyone else experiencing this? If so, please let me know if you were successful breaking the never-ending plateau! Not giving up - determined...

posted Feb 12th, 2011 5:49 am


Donna

This is my 2nd go around on Lindora. First time I went to the clinic, this time I am going through Rite Aid. 1st time, lost 25 lbs. this time, cannot get past 5 lbs and I am 5 weeks in. I have worked out almost everyday during my 2nd go around and nothing seems to be working. So frustrating, but I don't want to give up. Any advise?

posted Sep 6th, 2010 10:08 pm


Cathy

I like this diet, it put's discipline back in my life. I did it years ago when I was out of control and lost 30 lbs in 8 weeks. It stayed off for 7 years, then I started backsliding. I signed up again to get the discipline back. I'm on my fifth day and have lost 5 lbs. I've done the 10,000 steps a day almost every day - they want you to wear a apedometer. I used their food for the first 3 days, to get the burn going, now I'm mixing it up with my own homemade food. You don't have to eat their food at all if you don't want to. However if you do eat their food - add spices. All cooked foods a little bland but you can spice it Up. Overall, this is a good diet if you are motivated and want a very structured approach to weight loss. I am going to the clinic and they are very supported and go over a list of questions everyday as to diet and exercise the prior day. I don't mind the shots, but I don't have a problem with shots in general.

posted Aug 26th, 2010 4:00 pm


tina

I think Lindora is a great program and it really works. Its worth every penny.

posted Jan 19th, 2010 3:48 pm


Emilie Buchan

I started Lindora in July 2009. It is now the end of the year and I have lost over 60 pounds. The people there are helpful, encouraging and knowledgeable. If you follow the plan, you will be successful!!

posted Dec 28th, 2009 12:53 pm


vanessa

Allyson,

What liquid diet are you on?

posted Dec 15th, 2009 3:49 am


over 40

So this is my first week on the Lindora program and I think it might work for me! I was on Jenny Craig for 2 months and I did lose 20 lbs which I was happy but after I completed the plan, I did not know what to eat, not much support there, so I kind of noticed my self putting the weight back on just a couple of lbs, (I did notice it and feel it) So what Iā??ve seen in Lindora and talked to the people their, I feel more comfy their so I think it will work for me. I'm trying to lose at least 20 more!! Right now Iā??m going through the Prep stage so ???? wwooohhhooooo well good luck to all and to me!!!! See Ya.

posted Sep 2nd, 2009 6:37 am


Cindy

LOVE IT!!! Today is my 6th day and I've lost 8 pds!!!! Sooo easy!!! The fat is just melting away!!! I've tried everything and can't believe I took so long to try this....buy the book though at Rite Aid..CHEAPER than going to clinics..that's what I did!!! I don't crave anything!! It''s bizzare!! In the book it explains why you don't have cravings!! Pretty awesome!!:)

posted Aug 17th, 2009 1:05 am


mona

I went to Lindora today. Everyone was so kind and understanding of my needs. I'm glad that I still get to eat the healthy carbs I like, especially grapefruit. They explained that weight gain is 90% mental and for me I know it's true. I have such a sluggish metabolism. After talking to several women there who are losing weight, I felt very motivated. I also like the fact that I can go there everyday.

posted May 15th, 2009 8:46 pm


Confused

Well I am so confused but I guess it depends on everyone's body whether this diet or any diet will work. I got pregnant and lost 32 lbs. I was very ill but I was about 75lbs overweight so I still have some weight that needs to shed off before I am at my ideal weight. I did weight watchers but counting of everything you eat was driving me nuts and all for 4 lbs. I wasn't to happy. I have heard good and bad about Lindora and I am very skeptical. I also seem to always get to a plateu and nothing jump starts it. I guess I should try a liquid diet but I know I will starve.

posted Mar 9th, 2009 12:36 am


michael

I've lost 10 pounds in a month, I want to lose another 15. This diet has helped me change my eating lifestyle and I feel more active and healthy. I used to drink wine every day (empty calories) now I'm a fat burning machine! I actually don't crave anything since the protein keeps me full! I will say that the Lindora food is pretty gross for the most part, there are a couple things like the bars that I like but not as a meal, yuck!

posted Mar 8th, 2009 5:07 am


John

28 lbs in 8 weeks. It worked for me. 7 months later I've had no difficulty maintaining. The key for me is eating 6 times a day (lo cal hi-protein snacks between meals and late at night). My insurance paid half the costs (not the food). I recommend it, but you can do it by just getting th ebook. However, I've found it helpful to clinic every couple weeks to get weighed in (no cost after the program).

posted Feb 15th, 2009 12:27 pm


RayH

I tried the their diet as prescribed in the Lean For Life books. It works very well and I lost 30 lbs in the 10 weeks.
The key is to do a complete adjustment phase. As for the cost, it was only the cost of the book, very cheap on Amazon.
I only used what I could buy in the grocery store and probably saved money because I did not eat as much fast food in the process.

posted Feb 3rd, 2009 9:37 am



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account