Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

83%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 6 reviews

Kimkins

Kimkins PR Director rebuts fraudulent claims.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Please note, DietsInReview.com does not recommend the Kimkins diet program. Kimkins has completely misrepresented itself and the information it presents to customers, and in doing so, has endangered the lives of many of those people.

UPDATE 10/10 Kimkins Diets Founder Heidi Diaz is found guilty of fraud and false advertising

UPDATE 11/09: Kimkins Class Action Lawsuit Filed

Kimkins broke into the diet scene in 2000 selling itself as the one sure thing to end your dieting chaos. She said she had been an obese 300 pounds and like so many others, struggled to find a diet that worked for her. So she created her own solution- a low-carb/low-calorie diet that she says works incredibly fast. Not only would Kimkins help you lose weight quickly (198 pounds in one year in her case), but the plan would set you up for success for life. Kimkins also excitedly promotes that you won't have to do a single stretch, sprint or sit-up as exercise isn't necessary to achieve these amazing results.

Unfortunately, none of it is true. Kimkins is being investigated for fraud after many customers became seriously ill. Kimkins is an excruciatingly low-calorie diet and none of the information presented as fact as any medical or scientific support. Kimmer herself does not have a nutritional background and her advice is strictly from what appears to be fake experiences.

PRO
  • None to speak of
CON

There is a laundry list of reasons why you should not follow the Kimkins diet. Currently the creator, Heidi Diaz, who operates under the alias Kimmer, is the possible subject of a potential class-action lawsuit and under investigation for fraud. Many of the Kimkins customers are becoming dangerously sick from following the Kimkins program. While Kimmer markets the diet as being a quick solution that will last for life, and losing 200 pounds in one year herself, she currently is morbidly obese- not at all what her ads claim.

  • No research or healthcare endoresements
  • Plan contradicts sound medical research
  • Dangerously low caloric intake
  • No exercise
  • Suggested to take laxatives regularly
  • Creator under investigation for fraud
  • Creator does not have any nutrition or medical experience

Additionally, many followers of Kimkins have reported frightening side effects, including:

  • Constant nausea
  • Hair loss
  • Fainting
  • Heart palpitations
  • Fatigue
  • Bone and/or joint pain
  • Constipation
DIET and NUTRITION

The proposed Kimkins diet is made up mainly of lean protein, very little fat or carbs and no fiber. The diet is said to be based on Atkins, but with Kimmer's personal twist. The average user consumes about 1200 calories a day; many users admit to only about 500 calories a day.

EXERCISE

Kimkins advertises that you will not need any exercise to achieve your desired goals.

CONCLUSION

Mom always said "If it's too good to be true, it probably is". And in the case of Kimkins, it sounded so much better than it actually turned out to be. This is one rapid weight loss fad that turned out to be a rapid weight loss scam. Consumers have been raising flags of concern about both the legitimacy of Kimkins and the health risks linked with the program. Heidi Diaz "Kimmer" is currently under investigation for fraud. It's unfortunate that so many men and women were duped by this convincing and charming sales woman. But it appears that this scam produced nothing more than a very lucrative eating disorder that has left a lot of people hurting.

Common misspellings: Kimmer, KimKens, Kemkins, Kemkind, Kimkins deit review

UPDATE

In October 2007 Diets in review received a rebuttal to our review (below letter) from Jeannie Baitinger - Kimkins PR Director. In January 2008, Kimmer sent a rebuttal and Jeannie responded letting us know that she had left Kimkins and severed all ties with the lawsuit-ridden program.

Dear Jim,

Thank you for giving Kimkins.com the opportunity to present our side of the story.

First please allow me to introduce myself. My name is Jeannie Baitinger and on the website I am known as Tippy Toes. I am employed by Kimkins.com as PR Director and as management.

We know we are under attack from various sources. But many of these sources are coming from people who have only heard about our diets and have not actually tried them. The effect has been much like a snowball effect of people who genuinely mean well but are not actual members. Much is based on hear say and negative publicity.

Moreover, we offer no calorie limits on any plan. There are no 500 calorie per day plans. No plan is 100% fat free. We do allow the individual to use common sense when adding healthy fats and we term this as "just enough fat to make it work". We do not promote starvation of any kind and we never will. We encourage members to stick within the plan guidelines and further, we encourage them to add extra protein and possibly extra salads if they are still hungry or not feeling well.

We do not encourage or promote laxative abuse. However, it is not at all uncommon for a low carb diet plan to cause constipation. When a member complains we have recommended gentle stimulants such as M.O.M. or 100% physillium husks. There is also a tea which is helpful in relieving symptoms. We will never recommend laxatives as part of weight loss plans. Never!

Additionally we do encourage our members to have their Doctor's review the plans and monitor their progress. Many, many members report excellent lab reviews and Doctor's blessings. On our website I have never seen anything but positive reviews. On other websites I read the negatives but without offered proof. What I do read are stories of hair loss. This seems common on a lot of diets. Even the Atkins diet can cause this. When I did Atkins it happened to me. Oddly, I never lost hair doing Kimkins though. But again, hair loss is easily corrected and people who have their Doctor's monitoring progress can address the issue and get help. I would find it rather bizarre to lose huge chunks of my hair and still continue with any diet WITHOUT seeing my Doctor immediately. So I must question why there are no medical claims based on proof...

I am personally a Kimkins success story. I began my weight loss journey at 263 lbs. I am a female of 5' 7". I began losing weight with the Atkins diet (also quite con-traversal) and did well on it for about a year. I lost approximately 50 lbs on Atkins and then it stopped working. For the next 6 months I lost no further weight or inches. A dear friend told me about the Kimkins diet and I decided to give it a try. The weight came off just as promised! EXACTLY as promised! I made a personal choice to begin alternating Kimkins diet with Atkins. On Kimkins I could lose the weight and on Atkins breaks I could easily maintain it. Today my current weight is 152. Maintaining my weight has never been so easy thanks to a low carb lifestyle.

Our website is full of happy success stories much like mine. Many people have no trouble doing only Kimkins straight to goal. I have seen amazing losses--as much as 100lbs in 5 months. These big losses are quite common at Kimkins. Side effects appear minimal and as stated previously we do encourage everyone to have their Doctor's monitor them every step of the way.

Our members are not uneducated people being mislead. We just completed a Teacher's Challenge and the entire group lost an unbelievable amount of weight. The teacher's group had planned to make a public donation to fund teachers but with all the negative publicity they have opted for private donations instead. It is not at all uncommon for Internet users to wish to remain private. That is why many choose a nickname rather than using a real name.

As far as the founder of Kimkins.com is concerned and with all due respect, most members really don't care who she really is or is not. We believe the founder has every right to privacy and further we believe she is entitled to such. Her real name and weight is not an issue to people who are serious about weight loss and finally are able to make it happen. People buy a membership for their own weight loss and that is what they get. Weight loss. Our claim "there is no faster weight loss plan" is very accurate.

I will be more than happy to issue you a temporary site pass if you would like to come in and see what is really happening for yourself. Just let me know if you are interested in the real truth. It's pretty amazing!

Sincerely,
Jeannie Baitinger, PR
Kimkins.com

end of Kimkins rebuttal


Related Diets: Camp Carbaway, Low-Carb Diet, Simple Choices Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 7, 124 total comments)

Von

I was one of the originals on Kimkins. As someone stated above the women are smart on this site. I lost 45 pounds in 2.5 months. It was the fastest weight-loss I have ever had. Then of course life happens and as a dieter you fall off the wagon. Any diet will work if you use common sense and stick to it. I have nothing bad to say about this diet other than stick to it and use common sense. I met allot of great women and together we lost allot of weight and are still friend till this day. As any diet recommends and common sense and get your doctor involved and check periodically your blood work and see the difference.....good luck to you all.

posted Oct 8th, 2014 3:21 pm


Dawn

I lost 50 pounds with Kimkins in 2004 and have maintained. Every couple of years I may gain 8-10 pounds and I will restart the diet and take about a month to loose it. Then I will maintain another couple years. I highly recommend it.

posted Feb 18th, 2012 11:09 pm


formerkkuser

I did this diet before and lost weight and kept it off by working out, but stopped using it after a while and went back to my regular eating. Later on, I went back to Kimkins and started feeling so sick, so I stopped again. Again I tried using the diet and it was worse, there were many times when I just felt like I wanted to faint. It was the most awful feeling I had ever had.

posted Jul 26th, 2011 11:41 am


Jenifer

I wouldn't touch this diet with a 10 foot pole. That being said I do not understand why she was held liable when so many companies sell BS all the time. I can say there are very few sites where I beleive the results of the before and after pics. Look how all the time celebs come out and promote diets, that they lost all this weight on said diet and that is not always true, why is that okay? That stupid HCG diet is going around right now and it is very clear that you should only eat 500 calories a day and take drops where is their law suit? And I don't understand how anyone could only eat 500 calories that just boggles my mind. And while I agree I see no proof of this womans claims I also see no proof of med records proving the problems people had. I found interesting that the woman in the video with the lawyer claimed she quit the diet after a month but yet she stayed a member even became a lifetime member but only left after she was kicked off, hmmm. I think there be liars all over the place. And I sure wish I could get my money back for all the BS diets I have bought into over the years. And another thing if she was found liable why the hell is her website still up ? As for hair loss and such I am 400 lbs and I loose my hair off and on. I also have not had a period in about 6 months. I have went a year without one before. Another thing that has been said is you can not possibly lose 20 lbs in a week. I beg to differ and the ladies from my weightloss meetings will tell you differnet as well. I quite often lose anywhere from 10lbs to 20 in a week at weigh in.I donot do any foreign diet that is simple portion control and cutting out junk. MOst I am sure is from water because I usually gain back at least half what I lost within a week or two. As for diets I stick with sites that are free like sparkpeople.com. I use them for support mostly. I also go to meetings for support Tops meetings that don't cost me an arm and a leg. I try new things sometimes but I have common sense to pick and choose careful and if something starts not feeling right I back off. Ialso read reviews on things away from the said companies site.

posted Mar 6th, 2011 7:55 am


Rebecca

I have not tried this diet, but based on what I'm reading, I never would!. People if you are not already aware, you have to eat a certain amount of carbs each day for you brain to function normally. That's one reason why many people get headaches when they try the low carb zero carb diets. You just need to be careful and eat the correct carbs.
Secondly, eating too little calories is dangerous. Does anybody out there really think losing 30+ pounds in 2 months is healthy. Even people who have surgery are under a doctors constant care, especially in the beginning. Believe it or not an overweight person can die because of balemia or anoerxia or whatever it's called. When someone looses weight like that, their body goes into starvation mode. Overweight people especially don't realize it because they were so heavy to begin with. But even a fat person can die of starvation.
People please be smart. If it's too good to be true, it probably is...if it really is working, look at the side affects.

posted Nov 14th, 2010 7:06 am


2big4mysize

Kimmer, AKA Heidi DIaz AKA Kimkins.con lost the class action fraud lawsuit in Riverside County court today!

posted Oct 29th, 2010 10:07 pm


Kristin

Low carbs and lean protien= Rabbit Starvation. Google it. Your health is on the line if you follow this diet.

posted Oct 18th, 2010 3:42 pm


ddd

this diet made my eyes fall out

posted Jan 5th, 2010 9:10 am


Steph

It's pretty concerning that a known fraudulent diet get's a 100% rating on this site, it's obviouslly what's left of Kimkins few followers trying to keep the 'dream' alive.

I wish there was some moderation to clear up the spam and the fake reviews, this diet should never be done.

posted Nov 1st, 2009 1:03 pm


Kerri Jensen

I did kimkins with no side effects. I was eating about 1000 calories a day. I did notice many members were claiming they were eating a lot less and it was a little disturbing. I did not see anywhere a claim that you should limit your calorie intake to what some of these people were saying. I never saw anyone in mgmt tell anyone to eat less.

Doesn't every diet have people who abuse it? Many of my friends have done this diet and have had positive results. Anything can be taken to an extreme. It was very similar to many low carb diets.

posted Jul 27th, 2009 2:19 pm


Elizabeth

I have not tried this diet but I just want to say that being from the outside looking in there are people trying to scam this woman for money. With a class action lawsuit promising people money if they join and win I am sure there are many people making up things so that they can participate. I think as adults we should all be responsible for our own actions. No one forces us to drink the kool-aid (Jonestown).

posted May 9th, 2009 10:43 pm


Randi

I've done well with Kimkins, feel better than ever, have more energy...I don't know what is so unhealthy about that. .. I've lost over 20lbs. I eat good lean meals with chicken and salad, veggies, cheese. It works for alot of people just like WW, jenny raig, etc....its a matter of finding what works for you...quit bad mouthing it.

posted Apr 24th, 2009 9:26 pm


Member

I lost 50 lbs on Kimkins, it has given me years back on my life.
It was a great way of eating, easy and inexpensive.
Awesome diet.

posted Jan 5th, 2009 9:59 pm


RGIRL

Ok. it was definetly wrong to lie and go about the diet the way that Heidi did, but Im glad I found it. Ive lost 79 lbs in about 5 1/2 months. The basis for the diet is smart. Low carbs, lean protien. The rest is common sense. Heidi herself may not have lost the weight, and I will be the last person on earth to stick up for her, but I have lost plenty! As for the health issues, every diet I have "tried" and failed at has had worse health issues. You are making a drastic change when you diet and your body is confused. I hate it that she lied. I hate it that she is a scam and I have no respect for Heidi/Kimkins/whatever she wants to be called, but the basis of the diet itself is a wonderful idea! For the rest...God gave us a brain! Use common sense! Boot camp was stupid and didnt make sense. If you want to lose weight, dont stick anything in your mouth that doesnt nurture your body. Stop looking at food for enjoyment and just see it as nourishment. There are plenty of other things in life to enjoy.

posted Sep 15th, 2008 9:00 am


abs0lutelyfab

I have tried Kimkins several times, and although I did lose weight, I suffered serious gastrointestinal problems as well. Severe constipation and internal hemmoroids with bleeding were suffered each time. I started taking fiber tablets and used stool softeners during the diet and even after to get myself back on track. I have been off Kimkins for approximately 2 months, and I'm just barely back to normal. I am 26 years old and am in good health, and I have NEVER had issues like this before. The weight loss is definitely not worth the pain and illness that this diet can cause. BEWARE.

posted Sep 5th, 2008 8:26 pm


KIMKINS is BS

Sweet Success....Common sense tells me that you are either Heidi Diaz or an employee of Heidi Diaz. How can you trust someone who did what she did. The diet doesn't work, if you want to lose weight don't give your money to some fat liar. Excercise and eat right, that is the best way. You don't need to pay anyone anything. For anyone who doesn't know what this diet is about, just do a little research online and you will see that it is COMPLETE SCAM. I hope she gets whats coming to her.

posted Jul 31st, 2008 1:01 pm


KIMKINS is BS

SW.........or should i say Heidi, why don't you get a real job and stop posting these fake testimonials about your dangerous DIET that you never lost a pound on. COME ON PEOPLE ARE YOU THAT NAIVE to believe this diet actually works?

posted Jul 31st, 2008 1:01 pm


SCAM!

KimKins is a complete JOKE. you know what they say though, a sucker is born every minute and all these people who swear by her diet is either that sucker or Heidi Diaz up to her old tricks posting and writing FAKE stories of people losing weight. EVERYONE who gave money to KimKins should sue her, you will get PAID!

posted Jul 31st, 2008 1:01 pm


To TGIRL

LOL, i bet you like to think it was just one girl that went on TV and made a big deal. HOW ABOUT the fake before and after pictures and the numerous doctors that have gone on record to say this is very dangerous. TGIRL if you are really losing weight and you are not Heidi Diaz or an employee, why don't you prove it for everyone on dietsinreview by posting your true testimonial on youtube and posting the link here. Everyone, don't hold your breath, because i doubt TGIRL is really someone on this SCAM diet.

posted Jul 31st, 2008 1:01 pm


tgirl

I love it! I am not starving at all! I have been on it for 4 days lost 5.5 pounds. Just do everything in moderation. That's all. Try it! I thought it was all a fake when i was reading all of this...but i purchased it...and sticking to it. Really one girl goes on TV and makes a big deal...if you felt sick and lost so much why continue...duh?

posted Apr 11th, 2008 8:38 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account