Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

64%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 53 reviews

Jenny Craig

With its small army of celeb success stories, Jenny Craig shows off its effectiveness.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1983
  • Founder: Jenny and Sid Craig
  • Headquarters: Carlsbad, California
  • Stock Symbol: NESN
  • Accessibility: Online, Centers
  • Diet Type: Prepackaged Meals, Portion Control, Low-Calorie, Low-Fat
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Valerie Bertinelli, Jason Alexander, Sarah Rue, Carrie Fisher
BACKGROUND

With more than 640 centers around the globe and thousands of female followers, Jenny Craig has established itself as a leader in the weight-loss industry since 1983.

The Jenny Craig approach is built on three tenets: food, body and mind. The food element focuses on healthy eating and portion control and also teaches you how to eat the foods you love in moderation, the body element focuses on exercise and overcoming barriers to being physically active. The mind element focuses on positive thinking and getting the support you need to reach your weight loss goals.

The program is most known for its pre-packaged and portion-controlled meals. But Jenny Craig sets itself apart from other meal-delivery diets because as you reach your goal weight, you work closely with Jenny Craig counselors to learn about portion control, healthy cooking and eating at home or while dining out.

After an in-depth interview with a Jenny Craig representative, you are given a personalized meal and fitness plan. The two basic programs are the In-Person Support and Jenny Direct programs. With the former, you attend weekly meetings, consultations and food pick-up at your local Jenny Craig center and the latter gives you the same support over the phone and delivers food to your door.

In addition, there are five Jenny Craig plans: Jenny Craig for Women, Jenny Craig for Men, Jenny Craig for Teens, Jenny Craig for Spouses and Jenny Craig for Seniors.

Famous Jenny Craig Spokeswomen include Kirstie Alley, Valerie Bertinelli, Phylicia Rashad, Queen Latifah, Nicole Sullivan and Sara Rue.

Other Jenny Craig plans include:

Jenny Craig at Home: A plan that allows you to complete the Jenny Craig plan from the privacy of your own home.

Jenny Direct: The Jenny Craig program delivered straight to your door.

Jenny Craig for Men: The Jenny Craig plan specifically designed to meet the nutritional needs of men who want to lose weight.

Jenny Craig Silver: The Jenny Craig plan for older adults who want to improve their health.

JENNY CRAIG VIDEOS

Jenny Craig YouTube Channel

Consumer Reports Jenny Craig vs. NutriSystem Taste Test

Flashmob Surprises Jenny Craig Celebrities

PRO
  • Features a one-on-one relationship with counselor
  • Menu includes a wide-variety of foods
  • Program has a long history and is a trusted brand in weight loss programs
  • Prepackaged foods offer convenience
  • Named #2 in the Best Commercial Diets by US News, 2011
CON
  • May be a challenge to transition from the company's prepackaged meals to "real" food
  • Low-calorie diet may be too strict
  • Weekly in-person meetings can sometimes be inconvenient
  • Financial responsibility of prepacked meals may not be a long-term healthy eating solution
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

The food is great! Ediets is disgusting. Portions are small but your stomach does shrink so you don't really need more. Not all foods were wonderful but some I would eat even when not dieting. The food seems expensive but at the end of 6 weeks, I had actually saved money. I ate less, enjoyed my meals, and lost weight. - Katrina 1/9/11

I tried the program for a few weeks and was disappointed in the lack of support from the counselors. They didnt seem to have any "real" training. They said I could tell them things I dont like and they would make sure they werent included in the foods I bought (I hate raisins and mushrooms). They assured me nothing I bought had those 2 things in them, but lots actually did. They obviously didnt know their product. Way too expensive also. - Sandy 11/29/10

I've maintained my weight loss, fluctuating about 7 pounds, but still well below my goal weight for a year today! Great program, great food and awesome consultants. - Nina 7/12/10

Easiest diet I ever followed. Where I have always fallen off the wagon before is when I get stressed and am too busy to cook or just don't feel like it. With Jenny when I am stressed I just make a point of following the plan even better at those times. I don't do meals on my own, I just eat the Jenny food and know that way I am on track. - Carol Ann 1/17/10

I lost about 40 pounds on Jenny Craig and, with the exception of playing with 5 pounds here and there, have kept it off. I like that they first teach you portion control through their meals and then gradually reintroduce store-bought food into your diet. The one-on-one interaction with a counselor also helped keep me on track and did not allow me to hide in the back of a meeting. - A.C. 12/29/09

DIET and NUTRITION

The program's success is in the Jenny Craig food, which offers convenience with portioned and calorie-controlled pre-packaged meals. The Jenny Craig plan has a daily caloric intake of 1,200-1,300 and contains 50% to 60% carbohydrate, 20% to 25% protein, and 20% to 25% fat. Three meals and one snack are allowed each day.

Meals are either picked up at Jenny Craig centers or delivered straight to your door. There are four different menu options with Jenny Craig. You can customize your own meals, order pre-planned meals, enjoy an all-vegetarian menu or select a menu specifically designed for adolescents.

Eating on the Jenny Craig program can be easy because most of your meal is provided for you. Jenny Craig foods are paired with your own grocery foods like fruits, vegetables, low-fat dairy, whole grains and heart-healthy fats. Low glycemic veggies can eaten in limitless portions. Although the meals are prepackaged, the makeup of the foods you eat will set you up for how you should eat to maintain a balanced diet. A sample day of meals on the Jenny Craig program is reflected below:

  • Breakfast: Blueberry Pancakes and Veggie Sausage
  • Lunch: Broccoli and Cheese Potato
  • Dinner: Three Cheese Ziti Marinara with side salad
  • Dessert: Triple Chocolate Cheesecake

A dining out guide is also included so that you can eat out without sabotaging your weight loss goals. No foods are off limits on the Jenny Craig program. You work with a counselor to learn how to safely incorporate your favorite foods into your healthy eating plan.

EXERCISE

On Jenny Craig you are given a personalized activity and motivational plan to get you moving more. When you meet with your consultant in the Jenny Craig office, they will help you personalize your fitness plan. This can also be done online for those that are doing the at-home delivery program. You will work to develop an approach to fitness that starts where you are now and builds on that. You will also be identifying personal barriers to your physical activity so that you can work to remove those and stay focused on the benefits of exercise.

The Jenny Craig activity plan centers around three kinds of activities. The first are natural activities like house cleaning, shopping and gardening. Next are planned activities such as doing cardio at the gym or taking a yoga or aerobics class. Last are playful activities like taking a dance class or playing football with your kids.

Over time you gradually increase your activity through these three elements and you learn how to incorporate more movement into your day.

Your planned exercises will include a combination of cardio, resistance and stretching activities. The Jenny Craig program strongly recommends exercise while on the program so that you can have an established habit to maintain your weight loss after you’ve reached your goal weight. Some of the outlined planned exercise options as well as the playful options are listed below:

  • Weightlifting
  • Walking
  • Yoga
  • Kickboxing
  • Aerobic Dance
  • Dancing
  • Bicycling
  • Playing Basketball
  • Playing Tag with the Kids
JENNY CRAIG FAQ

Common questions asked about the Jenny Craig program by our community. Click to see the full answer.

Is the Jenny Craig food frozen or freeze-dried? - Celia 6/18/11

CONCLUSION

With its focus on food, body and mind, Jenny Craig is a well-rounded weight loss program that offers the training and support you need to achieve your weight loss goals. Its varied programs and pre-packaged meals and snacks offers the convenience of healthy eating in combination with a personalized plan that fits your lifestyle.

While most pre-packaged meal weight loss programs don't provide you with any information on how to prepare and eat healthy meals on your own, Jenny Craig offers support that educates you on healthy cooking and eating.

See the Official Jenny Craig Web Site

JENNY CRAIG SLIDESHOWS

View About Jenny Craig Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Jenny Craig

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

JENNY CRAIG RESOURCES

Jenny Craig on Facebook

Jenny Craig on Twitter

Jenny Craig on IMDB

Jenny Craig Good Morning America Statement

Jenny Craig at Wikipedia

Jenny Craig Contact Information
Common Misspellings

JennyCraig, Jenny Criag, Jennie Craig, Jenny Craig deit, Jenny Craig diet, Jennie Craig diet, Jennie Craig deit, jennycraig.com


Related Diets: Volumetrics, Weight Watchers, Weight Watchers Online for Men, Jen4Men, Jenny Craig at Home, Jenny Craig for Men, Jenny Direct, Nutrisystem, Valerie Bertinelli: Losing It


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 6, 115 total comments)

Krista Nicolls

LOVE it! I have lost over 70 pounds and because of my consultants suggestions, I work out at the gym 3-5 times per week with a personal trainer and just ran my first 5K!

posted Oct 12th, 2008 7:38 pm


i love you Jenny

Jenny Craig is My Hero. anne bartee is a fag. you don't diss my jenny. she is my lover. i lost 20 pounds and now i weigh 68 pounds. thanks jenny i love you.

posted Sep 26th, 2008 10:01 am


priscilla thompson

my husban and I had the for life program where we only paid for meals we were in the springfeild pa branch

posted Aug 19th, 2008 9:06 am


Caolyn Irwin

My daughter has lost 93 pounds on the Jenny Craig diet. She looks great and has more energy than she ever has. She is 32 years old and the mother of two. It has taken her on year and she is very near her goal. She has tried many other diets but this is the only one that has worked for her. Her husband has been a real encouragement for her and we are all really proud of her.

posted Aug 14th, 2008 10:04 am


jessie

Whoa anne bartee..who are you to talk? Jenny Craig has wonderful one on one support, menu planning, pre-packaged food to help support portion control and to teach what a simple portion is, weekly consultations to keep you motivated and fresh every week, they help when you've hit a plateau and can't seem to get that last ten lbs, they have structure and help keep you accountable, they teach you how to dine out and still lose weight, and also to help you plan out any social event or gathering. Maybe you should go in for a free consultation. I'm so glad that you are managing your weight so well. Let me also let you in on something that you obviously do not already know. The "Jenny Craig" doesn't even own "Jenny Craig" anymore. Nestle does. You asked someone why they needed to be on here if Jenny Craig is working so well for them, but I should ask you why you are on here if you do not NEED Jenny Craig or weightloss support? The reason why we are here is to help others ALSO see success with the Jenny Craig program because we want to see it work well for others. You are an ignorant person and weight loss is not something that is easy and keeping it off is even harder so do not judge others. You're very rude. Congrats to everyone else who has lost weight and is losing weight now. No matter what program you are doing, it isn't easy, so props to all of you that are trying...YOU CAN do it. Good Luck!

posted Aug 6th, 2008 9:54 am


Jesa W

Tried Jenny -- badddddd. In six weeks, I met with 4 different people; my 20 minutes was spent catching each one up with where I was at and what the last counselor had said/had me do. I had the same 2 menu plans for six weeks; sometimes the same plan from one week to the next, depending on who I met with. The food is not practical if you have no access to a microwave. And much of what I had tasted like cardboard -- or like it had been frozen, defrosted and then re-frozen. I received no help on eating issues -- like over-stressed -- just told to read the books and we'll talk about it next week -- of course, next week didn't happen because of a different counselor. Three of the counsellors had never had weight problems & knew next to nothing about nutrition or physiology. When I called the 800 # to see if I could transfer to them and out of the local office (Longview W), I never received an answer back. Same with requesting the local manager to call. Money down the drain. They did contact me to renew my membership!

posted Jul 17th, 2008 10:45 pm


Laura Morgan

Please quit using Valerie B. as a spoke person. Even my Mom, who is 79 Y/O, connects theVan Halan party girl divorcee with your program. Who is using who here? My mom asks who cares if Valerie loses weight or not! She said that she is sick of seeing Valerie on TV promoting several different things at one time. Getting divorced (who cares), Promoting a book (on what I may ask)? and usingJenny Craig, which obviouslly didn't help Kirsty (that everyone loves I may add) for somekind of developement. Let's face it...Valerie B is not that interesting!!! Laura

posted Jul 14th, 2008 11:09 pm


Stacy

I love JC b/c it is behavior modifaction & portion control. I feel really healthy & it works. I have been on JC for 10 weeks so far & lost 25 lbs. It really is amazing. I love my councelor. She's amazing. I like the 1 on 1. I feel it's indivualized & the food is good. I also go out on my own 1-2x a week to a restuarant (real food) & I still lose weight. For me, I like JC b/c I eat healthy but I need portion control.

posted Jul 6th, 2008 11:01 am


anne bartee

yep.. the fools really believe .. and they keep old jennys kitty full of cash,, get with it fatty,, cut your portions down and stay within 1,200 to 1,500 calories a day and your fat backend will get thin.. stupid weak people follow winners ,, thats why old jenny is worth 360 million yo ho ho

posted Jun 30th, 2008 4:44 pm


lezlie

on and off JC for 10 years. Very expensive and since I have family I'm not buying them JC too. Did lose 40 lbs,but did 2-3 hour workout and ran 6 miles a day. Looked really good but the attempt to eat REAL food vs. JC and knee injury(Torn ACL plus meniscus)made it all come back. Medifast is getting the weight off and my doctor off my back who keeps telling me to lose it. At 5'8 170 I don't look as whale-like as the 200 lbs. plus pt.'s but I'm trying. JC may work for some but not others-like kirstie alley.

posted Jun 23rd, 2008 10:03 am


Jamie

Leigh-Ann If it worked then why do you need to come back here for??? I know why. It's because JC has you believing without their help you can't do it. I am telling you now you can. Read my last post. If you have this need to pay all this money why not take the $500 a month and donate it to a good cause like cancer treatment centers for children. Stay on a 1200 calorie food plan. You will master this problem put the faith in yuorself not in a scam. JC puppet syndrom will ware off soon,

posted Jun 16th, 2008 9:08 am


Jamie

This program really is a scam it's all about money not about weight lose and learning knew behavior/eating habits. Cut down on buying things from JC. Then you will very quickly see just how much JC cares. They will drop you so fast you won't see straight, The Celebrities (you know who you are) that are helping to decieve millions SHAME ON YOU! You should be held accountable for your part in this enabling and manipulating scam program. People listen don't be fooled by this crap. Sit down create your own daily food menu at 1200 calories each day. Make the menu for the next day every night and force yourself to stick to what you have written down for the menu. It's not going to be easy but soon you will see progress. Start a buddy system with friends and create a daily walking route and walk with your friends. Don't allow JC and her Goon's to manipulate you into believing they care about you as a person. They care only about the money your paying and that's it. This belief that you must buy thier food in order for you to lose weight is hog wash. Stay on a 1,200 a day calorie plan that YOU create and prepare. You will start seeing the pounds drop in time. Run from JC fast while you still have the ablity to think for yourself and not under their enabling spell to creat a needy person so you feel you must keep paying your hard earned money on a scam.

posted Jun 16th, 2008 9:08 am


Anonymous

anne bartee: I cannot believe how incredibly rude you are. If it was that simple there would be no need for Jenny Craig or any other weight loss systems. The part that Jenny includes that people forget about is transitioning to non-Jenny food. At the half way point you begin cooking your own food. This teaches you how to prepare healthy food and how to stay within your portions. It is a great diet. Easy to follow, effective, and it tastes great! The food is much better than the Lean Cuisines or Helathy Choice meals. I average 85 dollars a week on food. In addition to the Jenny food I spend an additional $25 a week on fresh fruits, veggies, and dairy. It is WAY cheaper that making meals from scratch plus all of the eating out and extra pick-ups at the store. Jenny is working for me and if it works for me it can work for you!

posted Jun 9th, 2008 12:39 pm


anne bartee

Yeah,, jenny craig is for woman that want to JOIN something,, check in every week ,, pay 500 a month in food ,,, and all you had to do is eat within the box of 1,500 to 1,200 calories a day and get Lean Cusine ,, yep sucker ,, don't pay this woman,, keep the cash,, invest it and eat with the box,, you will lose weight , but fatty, if you have a thyroid problem,, correct it ,,, or you will never lose wieght,,, Never Pay... it is so simple and this lady built a empire on suckers like you...

posted Jun 1st, 2008 10:32 am


anne bartee

No ,, don't join Jenny craig,, it is expensive.. that is why she is rich,, eat Lean cusines ,, stay at 1,200 cals a day or 1,500 and you will lose weight as long as you don't have a thyroid problem.. get with it fatty,, get thin...

posted May 26th, 2008 1:03 pm


MJ

The pre-prepared food is convenient and very tasty considering that it is diet food, as is the one-on-one counseling and the website offers some valuable tools to help you along. I basically had no issue with Jenny Craig program except for one thing: The CO$T! The reality is that you will spend anywhere between $120-$130 per WEEK on food alone, and that does not include the additional fresh produce and dairy foods you have to buy on your own. And then there is the up-front registration fee. Even if you join during one of their specials there is a hook at the end that prompts you to join at the regular rate which can range from $200 on up depending on which level of membership you choose. I was on the program for 4 weeks and lost about 4 pounds, which is considered the norm according to my counselor. Plus, I exercise regularly which helps and is encouraged by Jenny Craig. Will power is a must if you go on Jenny Craig since the portions are really tiny, and I found myself hungry all the time. Fresh veggies are considered all-you-can-eat freebies and I ate more raw carrots in 4 weeks than I ever had in my entire lifetime. Nonetheless, I did lose a little bit of weight. The ONLY reason I discontinued JC was the price. I figured that for the almost $600 I spent in those four weeks I could have stocked up on a freezer full of Healthy Choice meals AND joined a really nice fitness center for several months. I hold a BBA from a top-rated school and I swear I was not sleeping during Economics class so I should have known better! Bottom line: If you absolutely have NO time to prepare real meals, and have plenty of money to burn, Jenny Craig is a really good program.

posted May 15th, 2008 4:44 pm


mari

I just started JC 3 WEEKS AGO AND SO FAR I WAS IMPRESSED WITH THE RESULTS AND I DO CERTAINLY LOVE THE FOOD..... I JUST THINK JC IS TO GOOD 2 BE TRUE. WISH ME LUK PPL IM GOING ON MY 3RD APPT.

posted Apr 28th, 2008 8:31 am


anne bartee

I figured it out .eat 1,200 calories a day and you will lose weight,, try oatmeal in the morning ,a Lean cuisine meal with in 300 calories , snack, trader joes cookies .. the 100 cal bags and lunch another lean cuisine .. a fruit.. go to mcDonalds and have their fruit and nut salad,, dinner is lean cusine and a no sugar jello.. if you can't get the lean cusine anything within 300 calories in each meal.. stay within 1,200 cals a day and guess what.. its cheaper and you got the secret

posted Apr 28th, 2008 8:31 am


Emily

A few weeks ago I joined Jenny Craig and spent over $300 in my first week. The plan was easy and the food tasted great. I started at 139 lbs. I started losing weight right away. But the thought of spending over $100.00 a week for the next few weeks killed my hopes of staying on the diet for very long. What?s the point of being skinny if I can?t afford the skinny clothes? My frustrations lead me to the grocery store where I discovered plenty of prepackaged foods with approximatly the same fat and calories as Jenny Craig food! I just switched these foods for Jenny?s foods. I wish I had this information before I paid the high membership fees. Now I'm selling my Jenny want-to-be diet on ebay. Instead of paying $12-18/day on prepacked foods, I spend $3.00!

posted Apr 20th, 2008 9:55 am


leslie

I have been on JC for 5 weeks and have lost 13 pounds. The food is okay and you can substitute a food you do not like for another meal. I like this program because all my food is ready to go. I still have a tough time when I have to cook "real" food for my family while I have a JC meal. I have about 25lbs more to lose and I am confident I will actually lose it if I stay on the JC program. I have never been pressured to buy anything from my center. I like the one on one counciling as opposed to WW where I have never really connected with the councellors.

posted Mar 22nd, 2008 7:13 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account