Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

76%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 45 reviews

Hollywood Cookie Diet

Mandy Moore and Kelly Clarkson claim to lose weight with cookies.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Hollywood Cookie Diet is easy. Simply eat four cookies a day, which replaces your breakfast and lunch, then eat a healthy dinner. So, eat a cookie for breakfast, a mid-morning snack, lunch and mid-afternoon snack. Each cookie is individually wrapped so you can eat on the go.

The Hollywood Cookie Diet claims that it works because it is based on caloric restriction. This is understandable since you are replacing meals with cookies. But the idea of replacing nearly all of your daily caloric intake with cookies seems to be a recipe only good for short term results.

So what's with the Hollywood part? Reportedly, Kelly Clarkson has used the Hollywood Cookie Diet to slim down, and Mandy Moore has been quoted as saying "I love life, and I love my cookies!"

The cookies come in several flavors: Chocolate Chip, Lemon, Oatmeal Raisin, or a variety pack that includes all three.

PRO
  • Simple to follow
  • Website gives a free recipe list download
  • Product claims that you can get free diet coaching via email or phone
  • Available online and at major retail outlets
  • Cookies have a "treat" feel to them
CON
  • Not a long-term solution
  • Extremely low in calories
  • Not appropriate for those with certain food allergies
  • No exercise support
  • Expensive
  • Contains artificial ingredients
DIET and NUTRITION

Each cookie is 150 calories, with 4 grams of fiber and only 8 grams of sugar, and contains enriched wheat flour, rolled oats, vegetable margarine, Hollywood Premier Protein Blend, crystalline fructose, sugar, raisins, maltitol syrup, polydextrose, vegetable glycerine, egg whites, powdered cellulose, calcium carbonate, spices, mono- and diglycerides, natural flavors, baking soda, cream of tartar, soy lecithin, and Sucralose.

The Hollywood Cookie Diet recommends that you eat four cookies a day followed by a healthy dinner in the evening.

Based on the recommended four cookies per day (approximately 600 calories) and a light sensible dinner (approximately 800 calories), your daily calorie allottment is between 1,200 and 1,400 depending upon the size of your dinner.

While the diet is centered around the cookies, the website has created a list of foods, including breakfasts, lunches, snacks and dinners that are Hollywood Cookie Diet-approved.

A few sample recipes are:

  • Tuna Fish and Cannellini Bean Salad
  • Lemony Lentil Soup
  • Zucchini Fennel Apple and Asparagus Salad
  • Pasta with Easy Tomato Sauce
  • Lowfat Scrambled Eggs
  • Roasted Herb Chicken
  • Asian Grilled Salmon
  • Baja Grilled Fish Tacos
  • Spicy Eggplant Salad
  • Feta and Herb Lentil Salad
  • Alexander's Pumpkin Pie
EXERCISE

You are strongly encouraged to increase the amount of exercise you do when following the Hollywood Cookie Diet. No specific fitness guidelines are given.

CONCLUSION

There is no magic formula to why the Hollywood Cookie Diet would work for you. Calorie deficit works, but the idea of eating cookies, even more nutritious ones, as a meal replacement for any given amount of time is simply unrealistic. It's also expensive. The only conceivable approach would be to do it for 3-4 weeks to jump start your weight loss. Then you have to move on to a more sensible eating schedule and learn how to eat portion- and calorie-controlled meals on your own.

Common Misspellings

holywood cookie diet, cookie diet, hollywood cookie deit, hollywood cookies diet, mandy moore diet, kelly clarkson diet


Related Diets: Dr. Siegal's Cookie Diet, Slim-Fast, Smart for Life, Soypal Cookie Diet, Genisoy, Glenny's, Vitalicious


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 3, 59 total comments)

Lora

I have been on weight watchers nad just needed an extra boost during a time when I was getting bored and losing motivation on my wieght loss journey. I was very surprised how easy this cookie diet was for me. It is nothing I could personally do over a long time, but for the short term goal I was after, it was the perfect diet for me.

posted Oct 21st, 2009 4:09 pm


nikki

if you lie t keep up with it if you dont thats fine to i will give it a try

posted Oct 20th, 2009 7:24 pm


Bobbie

I started this last Friday. I have owned a diet clinic before and know that it isn't a long term goal but is a great starter. I agree with some of the bloggers and am not getting hungry at all. I'm pretty impressed with it and would recommend it to anyone that needs to get started on a diet.

posted Oct 19th, 2009 10:43 pm


jassy

ok Ive kind of read nothing but bad responses, well the first time i used it for 3 days i lost 5 lbs? but I dont know if i can do that again!! lol

So I am starting today, and I will get back to you guys soon? wish me luck. ps im 19 and 219 lbs. See u in 3 daysss!

posted Oct 13th, 2009 5:51 am


Helga Marshiin

This was dumb. I tried the Hollywood Cookie Dggiet for 3 months and gained 12 pounds. Instead of helping me lose weight, it lead me to beleive that I could eat any cookie i wanted. This sucked. DONT DO IT.

posted Sep 29th, 2009 11:36 am


Michele LaLonde

I have tried them all, and I mean ALL! But this is the only one I can stick to and get results without taking appetite supressants. I like the chocolate chip most of all, and if you buy them from their site, you can get 7 boxes for $19.95. When you're busy working, it's so much nicer than remembering to pack your meals. I keep dinner simple and eat it at 3:00 pm at my desk (chicken breast on my forman grill with vegies) and then a cup of Laci LaBeau Super Dieters tea when I get home and watch my soaps! Finally, a realistic solution for real people!

posted Jul 17th, 2009 8:57 am


Mia

They call it a cookie, but really it's like any protein bar on the shelf, just shaped like a cookie. Tastes like a protein bar. The only redeeming taste aspect is that the choco chips taste real. The rest taste powdery-healthy-dry like nutrition bars. My local store had these 50% off, (12 for $10). I don't plan to repurchase.

posted Mar 17th, 2009 2:57 am


araceli

okay you lose the weight and then what. you have to eat these cookies for the rest of your life because once you stop eating them you gain all the weight you had before or maybe even more. ive tryed this & all that i lost was my money.

posted Mar 11th, 2009 7:17 pm


michelle

I used to think this diet sounded crazy myself, but ince I really got involved in strength training and nutrition, I realized that this cookie is almost exactly like the protein bar recipes recommended by my favorite strength training magazines; it is just ready to go! So for those of you that think it is "crazy", it really isn't. These cookies are a well balance quick snack that look like cookies.

posted Feb 28th, 2009 11:17 am


Christina

I loved this cookie diet, lost 50 lbs and the cookie was delicious(especially when you heat them in the microwave for 10 sec)..Too bad some of the storeshave taken off the shelves:(..Bring them back!!!!!!!!!!

posted Feb 18th, 2009 12:35 am


gettinslim

I didn't like Dr. Siegal's cookies at all. I then tried SMART FOR LIFE WEIGHT MANAGEMENT'S and they were so much better. They were moister and filled me up more. The cookies have helped me loose 52lbs to date and I only have 23 more to go. lots of flavors of cookies, soups, muffins and snack chips. The clinic staff was unbelivable in the support that they gave me. give it a try.

posted Jan 15th, 2009 8:41 am


Shae

Trust me when i tell you smart for life's cookie plan is so muh better than this one! Check it out for yourself The cookies taste better, there is variety of product so you wont get bored, and you lose the weight fast! The bagels are my favorite!

posted Jan 2nd, 2009 2:43 pm


dieter

completley insane, it doesnt even workk and itss super expensive

posted Nov 30th, 2008 7:27 pm


John

Something this review doesn't mention: the cookies are very large, and high in fiber. They're not just "a sweet snack with some vitamins added", they're suppressing your appetite and giving you a very full feeling.

Before starting them, I was eating a 300 cal breakfast, small lunch, and modest dinner. I was coming in around 1200-1300 cals/day. That was working, but I was constantly fighting the snack urge in the mid afternoon.

Instead of doing their recommended 4 cookies (150 cal ea) + 800 cal dinner for 1400 cals/day, I still do the 300 cal breakfast and a 600ish cal dinner ... with 1 cookie for lunch, 1 cookie for mid afternoon snack, and 1 cookie for a dinner dessert (keeps me from wanting a midnight snack). 1350 cals compared to the 1400 cals the cookie diet recommends, yet I'm getting 2 reasonable meals and not snacking at all. That, some exercise, and a multi-vitamin, all works fine for me.

posted Nov 9th, 2008 11:00 am


Meisha

This seems completely insane to me.

posted Nov 3rd, 2008 4:10 pm


Melissa

Well the cookies taste good with coffee for breakfast. I was eating nothing for breakfast before, so at least this as better than what I was eating, which was nothing. I haven't lost weight yet, but the cookies taste good. :-)

posted Oct 21st, 2008 6:08 pm


loser

LOVE THIS DIET! Have been on it for 6 months and lost 55 pounds. Dieting must involve exercise too and there's no quick fix. Lifestyle must change also, along with total commitment. For me, this diet and exercise has worked!

posted Jun 23rd, 2008 4:55 pm


The Brain

This has got to be the stupidest concept. People who are fighting a weight problem shouldn't get in the habit of eating cookies instead of healthy meals. How stupid are people? Put Hollywood in front of anything and some con artist thinks the public will fall for it.

posted Jun 6th, 2008 8:31 am


jowita

seriously? cookies for a meal replacement? I'll pass.

posted Mar 20th, 2008 8:44 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account