Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

86%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 7 reviews

Dr. Oz YOU On A Diet

Oprah's favorite doctor with a healthy weight loss plan.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

YOU: On A Diet was written by Drs. Mehmet Oz and Michael Roizen to help people identify a realistic approach to slimming their waistline, and not necessarily losing weight. By explaining ordinary body functions and processes, they teach you how everything you put inside your body affects those functions. And when the right balance of food and exercise are found, you'll realize noticeable changes in your body and health.

A few key takeaways from YOU: On A Diet include: - Forget the scale, waist size is a much more important measure of health - Body chemistry rules over will-power - Walk every single day - Clean out your fridge, and start fresh

PRO
  • Endorsed by Oprah
  • Authors are well-respected experts in the field
  • Witty and engaging book
  • Promotes exercise
  • No Counting
  • Teaches you about the food/body relationship
  • Diet is flexible
CON
  • Encourages monotony in food rotation
  • Permits fast food
DIET and NUTRITION

You'll start YOU: On A Diet by cleaning out your pantry and refrigerator. It's likely most of the items in there aren't going to be up to par for Drs. Oz and Roizen. Over-processed foods, those containing high fructose corn syrup, anything that says hydrogenated, trans-fats and other food ingredients that do more harm than good have to go immediately. You'll replace them with whole grains, fresh fruits and vegetables, lean proteins and healthy fats.

YOU provides meal plans that include breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well as snacks. None of them require a lot of time to prepare. Some easy food rules to live by from YOU: On A Diet include:

  • Keep healthy snacks at arm's reach, you never know when you'll get hungry
  • Stop eating three hours prior to bed
  • Eat until you're full, don't go past it
  • Manage portion size by using a 9" plate
  • Save dessert for every-other-day

There are a lot of recipes included in the book. You'll also receive guidance for reading and understanding food labels, as well as eating out.

EXERCISE

You're encouraged to walk every single day for half an hour. Following your walk you should do about five minutes worth of stretching. You also need to do the 20-minute workouts three times a week. Details for these are included in the book and on the website and available for beginner, intermediate and advanced levels of expertise.

CONCLUSION

This is probably one of the most exciting lifestyle programs to hit the market in recent memory. Drs. Mehmet Oz and Michael Roizen have completely thrown out the window the melancholy and disappointing approach to weight loss and healthy living. Their book is funny and quite an enjoyable read. They breakdown complex scientific principles and explain them so that you completely understand why you can and can't eat certain things. Best of all, they've introduced their "waist-loss" approach, explaining how the size of your waist is far more indicative of your health than a constantly changing number on the scale. Oprah and thousands of other fans have jumped on board the YOU: On A Diet fan train, and you shouldn't be disappointed if you join, too.

Common Misspellings

YOU Diet, You on a Deit, Your Diet, YUO: On a Diet, Dr. Oz Diet, Oprah Diet, Doctor Oz


Related Diets: Bob Greene's Bestlife, Oprah Diet, The Advanced Mediterranean Diet, Dorm Room Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 29 total comments)

J. Norvell

The cleansing soup is the most expensive and terrible tasting food we have ever had in our home. We followed the receipe to the letter, yet this stuff is terrible! Dr. Oz should inform people this is terrible before they spend the money.

posted Jan 12th, 2013 4:21 pm


Darlene

Why does my stomach bloat up when I eat or drink anything? When I eat or drink anything , my stomach bloats up. Very uncomfortable feeling. Even from drinking water. This started over two years ago. Doctored and did many tests. They do not have any answers for me. How can that be? So tired of this feeling.Please help.... What can I do.

posted Apr 27th, 2012 4:49 pm


GAIL

How can I help my 10-year-old lose weight? My granddaughter, Jessica, is 10 years old and weights 135 pounds. She has had a large belly since a baby. HELP! We need to focus on the best diet or weight solution to solve her problem.

posted Jan 17th, 2012 10:12 pm


Kim godi

Dr Oz. My mom and I watch you everyday! Thank you for helping to form Americans into knowledgeable healthy people. I need help though. I am about 60 lbs over weight. It's so hard to juggle work, kids, husband, housework, friends....on and on and on....and still take time to think about ME! I need help with that. I feel like I am at such a critical age to do this. I need to get healthy. I hate to sound like a begged but that is what I am doing I guess. Plz help. Plz? My doctor said f I don't slow down and quit worrying about everybody else I am waiting for a heart attack because that's what's going to happen if I don't do this. Thank you

posted Nov 16th, 2011 3:28 am


sandra kendall

Which one of Dr. Oz's diet books would help my husband? I was in the process of buying your diet book for my husband but I see that you require exercise. My husband has neuropathy (feet) and can only stand 15 min's at a time. he presently sits at the table and eats all day long, which of your diet books would you suggest that would help him?. He needs to loose about 80 lbs.

posted Oct 19th, 2011 4:57 pm


Ms. Williams

what is the name of the test that shows what your body type is and the cost of the procedure?

posted Jul 14th, 2011 5:07 am


Sandra

Dr. Oz-You are the best thing thats happened to inform the public of health matters. I am a devoted healthy lifestyle person, but I am 30# over weight after beating Breast Cancer & Endometrial Cancer. I
I cannot lose this weight nothing works, my metabolism is messed up from the Chemo. I am currantly undergoing Lymph Edema Therapy for the swelling in my lower body.
I would do ANYTHING to get back to my old self........................Plzzzzzz HELP me find a way to lose the 30#!!
ANYTHING!!!!!!!

posted Jun 8th, 2011 8:56 pm


sherrell

went from 300 pound's with the lord's help to 269 my goal is 250 and then 220 so yes i ready let's say good bye 10 pound's

posted Sep 27th, 2010 6:09 pm


mary r.

I love this diet. I've,only been on it one week and lost 3" from waist This lets me eat when im hungrey.

posted Sep 13th, 2010 4:19 pm


Bonnie Bailey

Hi Dr. Oz
I am hypothyroid can I follow your diet???

posted May 3rd, 2010 4:45 pm


cindy

To B arbara,
The recipe is i cup juice [any variety] 1/2 banana or 3/4 cup berries. 2Tbs whey powder, 2 Tbs ground flaxseed, 1 Tbs ground psyllium husk, 1 Tbs chia`seeds, 1 Tbs wheat germ and 600 mg of fish oil. You put whole in capsule and put in shake but I did not like the taste or smell. I take a capsule with my shake. You mix that all up with about 4 to cubes of ice. Good luck ! I started it with my family last week. I hvave not lost any weight yet but I have tons of energy and feel better.

posted Apr 13th, 2010 6:13 pm


Barbara

Dr Oz Show is very informative. I love it! Last month in the Women's World magazine there was a Dr Oz smoothie recipe for weight loss (belly buster) which contained chia seeds and psyillium and flaxseed. I wanted to try it but lost the recipe. Can anyone help me.

posted Mar 23rd, 2010 8:27 pm


katie diamond

i not will health wise.i do have health insurance.i am being denied health care.i need your help

posted Mar 10th, 2010 2:43 pm


Ingrid Sievert

Dear Dr. Oz.
We have no problem in our R.P.B. FL. acreage
and the people who have a problem, bring it on to them self's by eat the wrong food, bug spray,
put salt in their water, buy water with chemicals in it etc. I live here 20 years, drink my well water
and use no medication at 69, but I don't do what these stupid people do/

posted Mar 5th, 2010 3:50 pm


Rebecca

I know this is for reviews but I did not know where else to ask so I hope you can help. I was not able to see your show on infertile men and these fruit smoothies. I have been trying to find any info because my husband and I have been trying for over a year and the doctor says it will not happen because of very low count and motility. It is my biggest wish to have a child of my own. Can you please help with any advise on how to reverse this.

posted Feb 8th, 2010 10:01 pm


karan

hi dr. oz we love ur show!! and ur really cute

posted Feb 6th, 2010 5:57 pm


Debbie

Where can I buy Ribose?

posted Jan 25th, 2010 1:28 pm


Ingrid Sievert

Dear Dr. Oz.
I am 69 years old, no health problems, no medication, I don't sleep much and I am never tiered. I eat no red meat, no soda, or sugar and salt, but I am 5ft.5 and weigh 245 lbs. I can not lose weight, even I exercise. What do I do?

posted Jan 12th, 2010 3:17 pm


Kelmarie davis

It's so amazing how much I have learn by watching your show my life has completely change .thank you doctor OZ for making a better world

posted Nov 11th, 2009 7:58 pm


tina

dr. Oz I love your show. I have a question for you I really hope you can help I have been having leg pain in right leg between the knee and ankle, I went to see my doctor about it he ordered an X-ray but the X-ray showed that everything is normal but the pain is getting worse what do I do ? Please help?

posted Nov 9th, 2009 4:09 pm



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account