Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

64%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 11 reviews

Dexatrim

Supplement has been around for more than 25 years.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

As one of the most recognized names in dieting for more than a quarter century, Dexatrim offers an all-natural appetite suppressant that allows your body to burn fat and calories at a quicker rate than without.

There are several different Dexatrim products with varying ingredients. These products include Dexatrim Max Complex 7, Dexatrim Daytime Appitite Control, Dexatrim Max Slim Packs, Dexatrim Natural Green Tea, and Dexatrim Extra Energy.

Dexatrim is a drug-free supplement, since the removal of FDA-banned ephedrine.

While the brand is highly recognized, a 2005 study listed Dexatrim last out of 30 diet supplements because of poor results in boosting metabolism, weight loss potential, suppressing appetite and quality of ingredients.

PRO
  • In use for more than 25 years
  • Ephedrine free
  • Gluten free
CON
  • Studies show poor results
  • No FDA approval
DIET and NUTRITION

Dexatrim suggests that its diet supplement is most effective when combined with a balanced diet and consistent exercise. It's argued that the same results can be found when you simply eat right and exercise.

You can find Dexatrim in several different varieties, including Dexatrim Max Complex 7, Dexatrim Daytime Appitite Control, Dexatrim Max Slim Packs, Dexatrim Natural Green Tea, and Dexatrim Extra Energy.

Past varieties include Dexatrim Results, Dexatrim Results Ephedrine Free, Dexatrim Natural No Caffeine, Dexatrim Natural Ephedrine Free and Dexatrim Natural Green Tea.

EXERCISE

Recommends it, but nothing specific given.

ADMINISTRATION

For the best results, it's recommended that you take Dexatrim in the morning or early afternoon, 30 minutes before a meal or with a meal. It's recommended that you avoid taking Dexatrim at night, because it may make falling asleep difficult for some.

CONCLUSION

The verdict is mixed. Many people have used Dexatrim over the years with success. But with so much competition now, there may be others appetite-suppressing supplements available that are more effective. Also, as with all supplements, Dexatrim must be combined with portion control and exercise to be fully effective.

Common Misspellings

Dextatrim, Dexotrim, Dexatrin, Dextarim


Related Diets: Alli, Green Tea, Hydrox-Slim


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 34 total comments)

Marisa

For the Dexatrim Max pill, is it normal to have a gatorade yellow urine and a breakout of pimples? I have been taking Dexatrim for about 5 days now and have exercised only one of those days due to a recent neck injury. But I was wondering if it's normal to have gatorade yellow urine and a breakout of pimples? I usually have a yellowish clear urine and no pimples but have gotten about 7 pimples in the last 5 days, could this be because of the pill? please help!

posted Jun 26th, 2012 12:19 am


Heather

I started yesterday and have been starving the entire day for 2 days. My stomach actually grumbles, it's that bad. This had got to be a fraud.

posted Feb 22nd, 2012 11:51 pm


12345

I found this pill actually makes me tired, and hungrier. Waste of money

posted Jan 27th, 2012 4:55 pm


Shirley

Dexatrim is not a magic pill, where your weight is going to come right off of you. It works awesome if you are on a strict diet and working out. If you are just sitting around doing the normal everyday. This pill is not for you! I have used it over the years, and when I use it right, I have great results. I am on it again, and I'm already down 3 pounds this week. If you are drinking a lot of soda or coffee with this pill, you are going to have some side effects. One being feeling like your heart is racing, feeling faint, weak and the list goes on. You can go read about the side effects all over the web. In some people it very well could be the pill acting up on a person. The pill like any isn't going to agree with everyone who takes it. On the other hand you can't think the pill is going to do all the work for you. You need to cut out your soda and coffee when you are on any diet pill, not just this one. With diet and exercise this pill works! I noticed for me as long as you are exercising the pill works even better, keeping you not feeling as hungry. So people don't get on her and complain. If your not going to use this pill or any other diet pill right, that's on you!

posted Jan 13th, 2012 4:13 pm


Sunnyinutah

I started with two pills this morning, I am waiting a few more mins until I can eat my breakfast. I already count calories so this I hope will just keep me on track and not sneak those pesky snacks at work. I will keep you posted in about 7 days to tell you how it went.

posted Jan 10th, 2012 2:34 pm


Chenita

I just started Dexatrim yesturday. I want to lose at least ten pounds and this diet pill is my last alternative. The only problem I've had so far, is sleeping, my heart was racing in the middle of the night, and it took awhile to fall asleep. I want this weight gone so I will keep you posted.

posted Dec 24th, 2011 11:51 am


Maria Maryjane

I've used this product before with awesome results,and of course I gained weight AGAIN! And now that I want to buy it again I can't find it ANYwhere.

posted May 6th, 2011 2:41 pm


KRIS10

i tOOK my first dose today...and I feel like fainting and my heart is beating out of control. Def...never taking this again. I just hope it wears off soon!

posted Mar 31st, 2011 9:03 am


ROZZ SCOTT

I HAVE BEEN TAKING DEXATRIM MAX FOR TWO MONTHS AND THE FIRST MONTH I LOST ONE POUND AND NOW THAT I'M ON MY SECOND MONTH I'M HAVING HEART PALPATATIONS, SHAKEY HANDS AND HEADACHES, I NEED TO KNOW IS THIS NORMAL?

posted Mar 18th, 2011 4:54 pm


legee

While Dexatrim is an appetite suppressant (for most people), it causes high BP and makes your heart race due to the heavy dose of Caffeine. Like all diet pills, once you're off it you gain the weight back. Losing weight is all about 'a way of life'.

posted Mar 4th, 2011 8:31 pm


Pat

Started usage of D7 today. I will let you know what happens.
I intend to use two tablets with lunch at noon only (my problem is late afternoon and evening cravings, mainly sweets).
Any opinion? Recommendation?
I allready bought it so I am going to use it! When I finish this ones what is a better product?

posted Feb 22nd, 2011 3:27 pm


Lisa

Hi everyone, well i am 15, I am about 170 and i am 5'8..i was wanting to know if it is safe for me to use this?

posted Jan 21st, 2011 7:32 pm


rachel

I really don't know if this is supposed to happen, but I'm taking this to possibly speed up my weight loss for a big production I have in 3 weeks, and I took it today and it seemed to work the way it should, I wasn't too hungry and obviously the caffeine kept me pretty energized. I went to my dance class as usual, this is fairly routine for me and normally I can make it through the 3 classes no problem. Halfway through my first class I suddenly felt like I was going to pass out... just extremely tired and zoned out. I sat down and my muscles were shaking... really unusual. I don't know if this is a side effect or not but it scared me... discontinuing use of these pills.

posted Nov 3rd, 2010 4:43 am


Genie2

I have been on this pill for 4 days and I definately like it. I take a lot of other suppliments and this one curbs my appetite very nicely. I can't take any kind of drug. Hydoxicut went straight into the trash. That spiked my BP and I was miserable on it. With Dexatrim Max I feel a nice steady appetite supressent and energy. I take two in the morning with a small protien shake with all my other suppliments and I am losing after only 4 days. Just don't want to pig out in the dreaded evening hours!

posted Apr 25th, 2010 4:14 am


Cam

I have been taking Dexatrim Max for 3 days and have eaten more in those 3 days then I have in weeks. They do not work for me at all. I am 10 lbs over weight and have tried everything. I feel as though these pills actually make me hungry.

posted Mar 13th, 2010 6:30 pm


Loren

All I want to do is eat. I took 2 pills this am and wasn't hungry for lunch. We'll see how it works. So far so good.

posted Nov 4th, 2009 2:00 pm


Jennfer

I have been taking dexatrim max for almost 4 days, I have noticed my chest becoming tight towards the evening, does anyone else have this side affecT?

posted Sep 29th, 2009 10:56 pm


Eugenia

Makes me nauseus. Heart beat is high. No considerable decrease in appetite. Maybe this product is just not for me. I like slim shots better.

posted Sep 1st, 2009 4:48 pm


jan

I just spent the last month taking the Dexatrim Max with green tea what a waste I lost about 4 lbs and gained back. It does not really curb my appetite...I don't feel no energy boost. Good thang I bought it off ebay and did not pay full priced I really be pissed. The only reason i used the Dexatrim because 20 years ago when they had the regular version i guess with that ephedra stuff i lost about 50 lbs without even noticing but people notice me....i just glided through days eating less and being very energetic the weight came off in about 3 months time...so here i am 20 years later thought I would get the same results WRONG! This ephedra free dexatrim is about nothing just a waste. Well back to ebay I think I will try hoodia phentermine see what that do...I'm too fat now after an accident and can't get around like I use to but ah yeah my mouth still working well...oh well good luck everyone! Jan

posted Jul 17th, 2009 10:41 pm


diet21

My body is very sensitive to diet medication. I've tried many but had to stop due to side effects.

I do not have side effects with dexitrim max complex7. Today is day 3 and my appetite has decreased and I've lost 2 pounds already!!!

Give it a try you won't regret it!

posted Jul 14th, 2009 10:29 am



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account