Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

100%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 21 reviews

Bob Harper

Lose weight with NBC's Biggest Loser blue team coach.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Having a personal trainer means working really hard and lots of discipline. The reward is that you always picture yourself with the dreamy trainer - so that makes up for it. With Bob Harper, you get the entire package - a good-looking, personable trainer who is dedicated to helping you realize your full potential. Bob has many years of experience and is certified with several notable fitness organizations.

Bob became a household name and put his mark on the fitness landscape by being one of the wildly popular trainers on NBC's hit show The Biggest Loser. The spring of 2008, Bob continued his success as one of the most respected trainers in the world with the publication of his book "Are You Ready! To Take Charge, Lose Weight, Get in Shape and Change Your Life." The book is a well-rounded and smart approach to managing the emotional side of weight, nutritious eating and regular exercise and physical activity.

Bob has a true passion for his work - and you get to reap the benefits. Exercise is usually as fun as dental work and watching paint dry. However, Bob Harper's practical advice, friendly disposition and consistent motivation make him a valuable partner.

PRO
  • Access to Bob through variety of media
  • Positive and motivating
  • Admits that not everyone will achieve the results featured on Biggest Loser
  • All programs are affordable
  • Begin transformation on the inside and work outward
  • Certified with American Fitness Training of Athletics and with Aerobics and Fitness Association of America
  • Trusted and respected fitness professional
CON
  • Bob's programs are not customizable
DIET and NUTRITION

On Biggest Loser, he promotes his Eat More Diet. He suggests that all of that food you might be cutting out could be the answer to why you're not losing weight. Your body needs certain calories and nutrients to function properly and become less dependent on fat stores. Bob suggests that by consuming between four and six smaller meals throughout the day, you'll be able to beat hunger before it starts. You'll consume a diet that is low calorie and low carb. Portion control is also important, since you can always have too much of a good (or bad) thing. An example of a day on Bob Harper's Eat More Diet could be: - Breakfast Five egg whites with turkey bacon

  • Morning Snack: Slice of deli chicken with string cheese and mustard

  • Lunch: Albacore tuna on a spinach salad with balsamic vinaigrette

  • Afternoon Snack: Laughing Cow light cheese with a celery stick

  • Dinner: Grilled salmon with steamed asparagus and a tossed salad

EXERCISE

Bob is a trainer, so he is focused on exercise. Should you follow his DVD program through Push.tv, subscribe to the Biggest Loser Club or read his book, you can definitely expect to get moving. Exercise will vary on both programs with Biggest Loser being more customized to your needs.

Harper is also a big practitioner and promoter of yoga, and many of his workouts have a yoga concentration or influence.

CONCLUSION

Bob Harper is certainly making a name for himself in weight loss circles. While he's been a highly sought-after trainer in L.A. for years, working with names like Gwyneth Paltrow and Ben Stiller, he's now more accessible than ever. Bob is a trainer on NBC's Biggest Loser, author of a weight loss book, star of several exercise DVDs and a featured speaker for many events. His approach to weight loss is practical and realistic. He motivates you to start by recognizing important changes on the inside and working toward the physical changes on the outside. Both the DVD videos and Biggest Loser are affordable, and both make losing weight a lot more fun than you've probably had before.

LEARN MORE

View About Bob Harper Slideshow

Common Misspellings

Bob Harp, Bobby Harper, Bob Hoper, Bob Horper, Bob Harper Diet, Bob Harper's Diet


Related Diets: Bob Harper: Are You Ready!, Jillian Michaels, The Biggest Loser At Home Program, Kim Lyons: Your Body, Your Life, 5 Minute Office Workout



Wikipedia

Robert "Bob" Harper (born 1965) is a personal trainer, who appears on the television series ''The Biggest Loser'' (US) as the trainer for the blue team. He is also a trainer in the Australian version of the show. He was born and raised in Nashville, TN.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 4, 74 total comments)

christine hover

Hi Bob love the show i would like to get some starter tips on how i can get my husband motivated he is very obese & I want him around for a long time but not sure how to go about it. Please help in anyway you can. He has his 20 yr class reunion in Aug. & I think he would feel alot better about himself if he was to lose some of the weight. Thank-you!!!

posted Feb 12th, 2010 1:16 pm


Ally Estes

Hi Bob my name is Ally and I have just started to follow some of the tips that you have givin, I have lost about 3 lbs and I am so excited. I would really like it if you could make a trip here to MN there are plenty of people here that would love and need you help, also i was wandering what kind of skacks that you make. Thank you for all the encouragement.. God Bless. Ally

posted Feb 11th, 2010 4:46 pm


Dee

I would like to know what kind of monitor the contestants wear on their arm,and what does it monitor?Where can you get these monitors?

posted Jan 12th, 2010 10:23 pm


Donna

I am looking for the protien powder that ya'll used on the biggest loser... the one you put in your water

posted Jan 8th, 2010 10:49 am


cindy connors

I'm not sure how to get in touch with you. I have had a weight problem most of my adult life. I am now 57 and have alot of medical problems. Due to a resent illness I lost 70 lbs.I still need to lose about 60 more. my biggest problem is how to tighten up all the loose flabby skin and what kind of exercise can I do with my heath issues. Please help !!

posted Jan 5th, 2010 9:13 pm


Mary

Hey Bob, I want you to know that you are the best trainer in th world. I am a 28 year old from NC, and I am over 400 lbs. I have been overweight most of my life and I am struggling to lose weight. I have lost a little bit, but that's not enough for me at my age. I am asking you to help me. I wouldn't want anybody but you to be my trainer because you're the best at what you do.
I like your smile, your enthusiasm, your motivation, and your love for people. So please if you will help me to reach my goal. My goal is to lose at least 150 lbs.
I hope you get my mail, please e-mail me back I would love to hear from you as soon as possible. I have been a very big fan since the first season of the show and I always will be. I will continue to cheer you on here in NC. You are worth cheering for. I encourage you to keep doing what you do best because it shows. Take care. Love Ya Bob.

posted Nov 18th, 2009 8:33 pm


cathy

that would be a great idea for teens to be on the biggest loser ,,they struggle too with there weight,,

posted Nov 2nd, 2009 7:45 pm


Nick David

Your doing great Bob, it is always nice to see someone from our Industry make it.
Great Work

posted Oct 29th, 2009 9:56 am


Judith

Hi Bob: I love Biggest Loser, and have become a big fan of yours. I have a question for you though, I am underweight and have become anemic recently. I know that I need to eat more veggies, my question is how does one get over the mental block of eating veggies when one hasn't eaten veggies in a very long time?

posted Oct 16th, 2009 7:31 pm


Kala

Bob, I have just one question. The bands on the upper arm of the contestents on the biggest loser. Were can you get one? The ones that you can put all your information on the computer with.

posted Oct 5th, 2009 1:13 pm


rosafina

bob... i really admire u..
you're my INSPIRATION..!!!
i love u bob...

posted May 7th, 2009 9:02 am


kayla

Hey Bob,
I'm Kayla Willis, I love the biggest loser i watch it all the time.I am 14 and over wight i have big plans for myself but they will not come true unless i lose wight.Will there be a season where children would be the bigget loser?

posted Mar 31st, 2009 9:12 pm


krista

Bob,
I love your commitment to incorporating yoga. I used to teach, but gave up my certification. Do you have any suggestions on how to get my certification.? I also just had my 2nd child 2 weeks age and had not lost my weight frm my first child yet. I am 5"7 and 200lbs. I would like some diet and exercise guidance, and I like your style.
Krista

posted Mar 25th, 2009 5:27 pm


Shelly Ward

Hi Bob, I love watching the Biggest Loser, you are terrific. Why are your workouts not on my cable television any more. I have Comcast and I love working out with you, where did you go?
Shelly

posted Mar 10th, 2009 2:18 pm


Edwin Moore

Bob- you are really cool. ure one of the inspirations of why i go to track practice everyday and work my hardest. i LOVE watc hing the Biggest Loser!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! keep it up Bob!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted Mar 4th, 2009 1:13 pm


Frank Trevizo

Bob, My name is Frank, I am retired Navy and have had both my hips replaced. This limits my options on working out. My wife Deidre is on medication for bipolar with side effects of weight gain. What are our options. Do you see a biggest looser for people with disabilities in the future. I weigh 270 my wife now weighs 200

posted Feb 17th, 2009 10:48 am


Patricia Pate

I am not overweight, but know that if I continue to eat the way I do, I will be. I am an emotional eater, have poor eating habits, have high cholesterol and high blood pressure.

I really love The Biggest Loser. Since watching your show, I've discovered the real reason behind my "binge" eating. Instead of dealing with my problems, I eat.

I'm planning on going into counseling. I know that if I start eating healthy and excercising, it will make a difference in my health. I've seen the results of the people on your show.

I will remain a fan of yours and Jillian and start following the suggestions you give on The Biggest Loser. Both of you, keep up the good work. You are an inspiration to many.

posted Jan 27th, 2009 10:30 am


bmassey

Joelle commented about a by -pass. My daughter died 17 months out from a by -pass. She bled to death. People need to hear the real facts about weight surgery.

posted Jan 13th, 2009 9:17 pm


Boblover4lyf!

Bob Harper is soooo HOT!!!!!!!!!!!
I love him!
Keep on helping people Bob, your my inspiration!!!!!

posted Jan 9th, 2009 9:20 pm


Brianna

Bob,
I'm 12 years old and I love the Biggest Loser! I love sports and i've never struggled with my own weight, but the way you help people is inspiring to me. You are so gentle, kind, cute, and i love you. Watching the biggest loser and seeing how good trainers you and Jillian and helps me become a better person. My ultimate dream is to meet you one day and give you a hug! I love you and keep on helping people. Your my inspiration!!!
Love,
Brianna-
your biggest fan<3

posted Jan 9th, 2009 9:18 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account