Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Books Diet Navigation    
User Rating

92%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 13 reviews

Beverly Hills Diet

Actress author claims some foods are better off eaten separately.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

This weight loss plan has no ties to the glamorous California destination, other than to help you find your star-worthy body. The New Beverly Hills Diet focuses on Conscious Combining,a food combining philosophy that states that maintaining or losing weight is controlled by the times you eat and your food combinations.

Actress Judy Mazel created The New BH Diet, an update to her 1980s plan. She suggests that when some foods are eaten together it leads to poor digestion and in turn obesity.

The New BH Diet is a 35-day program, in which you'll learn to eat carbs only with carbs, proteins only with proteins and fruits by themselves. This is because, Mazel claims, your body uses specific enzymes to digest carbs, proteins and fruit and when you mix these foods, your body has a difficult time breaking down food. Mazel also suggests that fat is merely a symptom of digestion and when your body is digesting properly, you will see a reduction in body fat.

PRO
  • No calorie restriction
  • Eat a wide variety of foods
  • Food Combining a popular eating approach
  • Optimize digestion
CON
  • Food Combining can be restrictive and difficult to manage
  • Author not a nutrition professional
  • No maintenance plan
  • Does not teach about portions
  • Does not provide exercise guidance.
DIET and NUTRITION

Some of the Beverly Hills Diet rules are:

  • Start your day with a piece of fruit, but only one each hour.
  • Consume steak, shrimp, salad, baked potatoes, corn and wine during the first 10 days.
  • Eat as much as you like.
EXERCISE

Beverly Hills Diet provides no guidance on exercise and fitness.

CONCLUSION

It should be noted that Judy Mazel does not have any medical or nutritional credentials and her theories are widely disputed by experts in the industry. Her suggestion that enzymes can't properly breakdown combined foods and turns them into fats is refuted by some who say the body can't absorb food that isn't broken down. It is only these absorbed foods that can turn into fat. This is pretty much a definitive example of a diet you probably won’t stick to for life, no should you.

The New Beverly Hills Diet does not offer any suggestions for serving size, exercise or maintaining weight loss.

Common Misspellings

BeverlyHills Diet, Beverly Hills Deit, Bevery Hills diet, The New Beverly Hills deit, Beverley Hills Diet, Beverly Hill's Diet


Related Diets: Eat Right for Your Type, Food Combining, Marilu Henner Total Health Makeover


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 31 total comments)

Dru

I did this diet for about three weeks. Eating all that fruit kinda sucked, but I did flatten my stomach and lost almost 40 pounds. I had no adverse side effects other than losing a lost of waste. Give it a shot and enjoy!

posted Jan 6th, 2014 1:28 pm


Denise

I have been doing the diet for 5 days now and have lost 5 lbs. I haven't been eating as much fruit as she says because im not much into fruit but the results are great and I will continue this until the end. its very encouraging to hear all the great success people have had with this diet!

posted Jun 21st, 2013 8:11 pm


karianne

this diet sounds awesome

posted Nov 30th, 2011 2:43 pm


Leilani Smith

I followed the Beverly Hills Diet in 1982 and lost 40 lbs. I've never forgotten Judy's advice about fruit and food combining. I'm going to find her updated version and use it now. The pineapple works!!

posted Aug 7th, 2011 8:28 pm


Gigi

To: Sara, Brad, fallen85: You people don't know what you're talking about! You do eat healthy, the book costs around $10-20 bucks and once you start losing weight, you actually feel good enough to start exercising. You should waste your time somewhere else!!!

posted May 16th, 2011 5:55 pm


Gigi

I am not big on fruit, but if you really want to lose weight, this diet does work and if you follow the "pattern" of the diet afterwards (ex eat fruit first thing everyday), it will help you maintain, plus the perks of feeling good and healthy numbers (cholesterol, bp etc).

posted May 16th, 2011 5:50 pm


Donna

If I cant eat avocado, what do I eat in its place! I have lost 6.5lbs first 3 days! I am very happy so far! I just cant eat avocado, what can I eat in its place? And I am having a real hard time with the prunes! I was in the bathroom from 10am till 10pm maybe I shouldn't eat 8 ounces?

posted Apr 7th, 2011 8:31 am


kim

I was 220lbs .I started in the month of July ,by September I was 135lbs from a size 20 to a size 7 no lie. it works!

posted Dec 22nd, 2010 11:19 am


tropicsgirl

I am sorry; I am a very healthy person but had put on 10 lbs over my usual 100-lb frame (I'm very petite) and could NOT lose these 10 lbs. I was running 45 mins/day, weight training, healthy eating, portion + calorie control...it was so frustrating! I was so upset with my effort vs. results ratio I just started eating more, not caring, and gaining more weight. Went on this diet bc had heard it worked for hard-to-lose weight. And it DOES!! I'm in the first week and went from 114 to 109. I am amazed. I am eating quite a lot of fruit; I don't feel hungry and when I do I just eat more and drink tea. And just when you're starting to "feel" like you're on a diet you turn the page to find steak or potatoes with butter on the menu for tonight's dinner! I don't know why it's so effective, there seems to be no real scientific reason. I cannot believe I am starving myself bc I feel like I'm eating enough. I modify parts of the diet to include whole grains and more nutrient-dense vegetables (kale for romaine lettuce, etc.). It's not that hard either; I hope I can keep the weight off but truthfully I have a ton of energy and the fact that the diet STARTS WORKING RIGHT AWAY is extremely encouraging. If I am on a diet for more than a week and do not seem to have lost a single lb, it's hard to continue. Not the case here. Unlike other diets where you starve and see the same number on the scale, this one makes you feel like you're winning the battle be Day 2. Seriously. The sense of victory is huge. Thanks Judy.

posted Dec 5th, 2010 1:55 pm


Leo

This diet is extremely effective for losing about 20 pounds in the first two weeks. I find it difficult to stick to for much longer than that, but it really gets the job done â?? and as long as you eat moderately afterwards, itâ??s not hard to keep the weight off that you lost.

posted Oct 6th, 2010 5:00 pm


naz

In the 1980's I tried BHD and it worked for me. As the years gone by I tried many different Fab diets and even went Vegan for a year. But I still come back to BHD and I find it as effective as 30 years ago; as the book say you can control your metabolism. I like it because it teaches you how to combine foods and that is the key to good digestion because a lot of people don't know this technique and they get very gassy and bloated so they rely on medication to take care of gas and bloating. Judy Mazel and BHD is an icon for me and since the diet always works and I can always easily follow it anywhere in the world It has a special place in my heart. the idea of detoxing with fruits is very healthy and there is nothing wrong with it; there are books written about eating clean very similar to this book. I would say it is better than those starvation liquid diets where you only drink liquids. BHD diet does a better job in detox, cleanse and prepare your body to eat healthy again than the others in the market. To freely eat our desired food occasionally is great because we won't deprive ourselves of our favorite foods and using the corrective counterparts to recover from it is such a life saver specially during the holidays. I was in my early 20's when I first tried it and I am in my late 40's now and I still weight 1081bs. and am in great shape. I do exercise to keep firm and do Pilate'; but I would say the reason I am still weighing 108lbs. is because of my diet and not only the exercise. If you ask me I highly recommend this diet and I think it really works. For me dieting and keeping my weight down is a life long commitment and using BHD as a tool to achieve my goal is what I have done thus far. BHD does provide the tools; you have to read the book carefully and pay attention to all the details and follow the rules and guidelines. Ignore those who miss-interpret the message in this book; but that is their lose! Nothing comes easy and if you want to be skinny all you have to do is to read and follow the book and judge for yourself.

posted Jun 26th, 2010 2:50 am


otis

this is sooo good for people who want to lose weight fast and die!. yaayy. :D

posted May 13th, 2010 9:18 am


Beki

Judy was ahead of her time. She did recommend aerobic exercise and portion control, eating like a skinny person etc. You are an evil person destroying the perfection of her diet through your ignorance. Good luck with your next lifetime, I'm sure you will be fat!!

posted Feb 28th, 2010 12:55 pm


JoA

I tried this in the 80's and it worked great. Then I got busy and just let it go. Now I am back on it and have been for 3 years without any problems. You really need to read the book before you condemn. She is quite clear on the fact that she is NOT a medical trained person in this area. But she has battled weight all her life and how maintained her "skinny" person for years on this program. Believe me, I have tried them all. This program is not worse than any other program, including those "calorie restrictive" diets. Any diet should use common sense and committment. Besides, look at the average American's diet...what's our leading current epidemic? Oh, yeah thats right: Obesity. It would appear that majority of our population does not eat correctly so I am sticking with Judy.

posted Jan 22nd, 2010 2:16 pm


rawabi

well.. i love BD ,ive tryed it & it deffenetaly worked & still working . im a believer of what JudyMazel had said. im fond of her book. dont judje it if u dont read it & combrihend the concept!!

posted Jul 15th, 2009 2:31 am


rawabi

i tried this diet & wooow its amaising, im now a believer of what judy mazel had thought . even when U take a look at other diets u see semilareties between these diets & judy`s concept espacialy (the food mixing & eating fruits should be eaten before all kinds of food & not after...etc) 2 me it worked & its the diet that i can follow & be life style because im "a night eater!!" so i eat fruits all day (one kind at atime) then i eat my favourite foods later, if its a carbs day i go 4 pastas,all kind of breds & butter, salads..etc . if its the protien day i will go 4 stakes, shrims,chicken and eggs..& so on. im 36 y ,mom of 3 , finally i found my way 2 eat all i want & yet lose wieght & i deffenatly agree with anke (comment) that when u take a day ,eat evvvvery thing ..nothing happens as long as U return back 2 the system the next morning... any way U realy cant judje it if u dont read the book and comperehend the concept and then organize your favourite foods 2 eat in order.

posted Jul 14th, 2009 6:28 am


brad

it stinks !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted Apr 15th, 2009 3:52 pm


niecey

I did the original diet over 10 years ago and it was great. The part that amazed me is that I am not good at loosing major amounts of weight because I have a tone/muscular body and actively work out. However, with this diet-I followed up to day 23 without any exercise and lost 18 pounds. This was major progress for me. The drastic measures 4 day trick really works and I still use it to this day. I usually take off 4-7lbs on it.

posted Apr 9th, 2009 5:05 pm


Tanya

I have to say that with the proper mind set and knowing that portion control and exercise is vital; this "diet" has a time and a place. It has always had a great cleansing affect for me. That being said, it is so important once you are "off" this-if you are doing this for a quick start and energizer; and not following the "day after" rules, that you have the control over the portions. I did the original Beverly Hills Diet, and it taught that the more fruit you eat, the more fat you burn. So of course, when it is pasta night, you are going to eat a mound or two. That is the downside. I am interested in reading up on the second version and seeing more of a balance, but still with great results, probably more realistic and more of a setting that is an ongoing diet that is liveable. I actually prefer to look at dieting as simply the way you eat, as opposed to a diet that seems so temporary.
Good luck!

posted Apr 7th, 2009 12:25 pm


chica

I didn't like this diet it made me fatter after i lost the weight. and i couldn't stop pooping

posted Nov 3rd, 2008 10:08 am



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account