Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

87%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 111 reviews

Baby Food Diet

Hollywood's newest weight loss diet comes in tiny little jars.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Update: Jennifer Aniston & Reese Witherspoon on Baby Food Diet

The latest fad to hit body-crazed Hollywood is the Baby Food Diet. Yep, you guessed it, noshing on jars of mashed sweet potatoes and gloppy bananas is the newest trend that makes you question if Hollywood is suffering a need to regress and feel younger (much younger!) or if there is something nutritiously beneficial to spooning down jars of the glassed stuff? You'll hear about Jennifer Aniston, Reese Witherspoon and even some of the Desperate Housewives hitting a jar of baby food to ease cravings.

PRO
  • Baby food is free of additives, pure and full of vitamins
  • Portions are small enough to control cravings and avoid the temptation to overeat
  • Many selections are gluten-free for those on a gluten-free diet
  • Organic varieties available
  • Broad variety of flavors

CON
  • Small portions could lead to a binge later on
  • Taste is bland -Since very little chewing is involved, satiety might not be achieved
DIET and NUTRITION

There are no specific guidelines that have been created yet for The Baby Food Diet . In time, your local bookstore will carry a guide on how to lose weight by subsisting on baby food. For now, the requirements are:

The dieter eats either all baby food or eats one adult meal and baby food for the rest of the day. Since babies' digestive systems are so young and innocent, most baby food that you'll find at the grocery store is free of added fats, fillers and other additives. Organic baby food is also lining the shelves so you can be sure that the mushy stuff you're eating does not contain genetically-modified ingredients, growth hormones, or antibiotics.

EXERCISE

Since The Baby Food is more of a trend right now rather than a specific guideline, no exercise recommendations have been put forth. But as reality and science has shown us, the more you expend and the less you consume, you will shed the pounds.

CONCLUSION

The Baby Food Diet is likely to inspire some good chuckles and grimaces as its popularity grows. From a nutritional perspective, the diet is clearly packed with veggies and fruits and thereby full of vitamins and minerals; and it does have the portion control element going for it too. As for its long-term ability to keep off any lost pounds? That still remains to be seen.

Common Misspellings

Baby-food, babyfood


Related Diets: Celebrity Juice Diet, Hollywood Miracle Diet, VF Smoothie


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 11, 214 total comments)

Twinky Hayes

On 04/28/2010, I am getting partial dentures, and the dentist will be pulling my last two back upper molars.

For the next 7 weeks, (5 to heal, and 2 waiting for the dentures to arrive) I will be on a strict liquid and puree diet only.

This pretty much means, a baby food diet.

My current weight is 201.5 pounds, at 5'3" tall, my waist is 45" (not hips, just waist).
My BMI has come in at 2 different chartings: 1 says I am 37 % fat, the 2nd says I am 56% fat.

I think I am 50 % fat.

It will be interesting to see, what happends during the seven weeks after the teeth are removed.

posted Apr 22nd, 2010 6:39 pm


Sara S.

Today is my first day of starting this diet, I had a baby last april almost a year ago and have been struggling with the weight gain. I have head of this diet before but originally hesitated because I thought the baby foods would taste unpleasant but it's really not that bad. My favorite so far is the pear.

posted Apr 4th, 2010 11:01 pm


KOURTNIE

I started this diet yesterday and it is going very well. I had a 1st stages apple sauce and a special K bar for breakfast, for lunch I ate blueberry apple 2nd stages and a small bowl of homemade veggie soup and dinner I ate a normal meal of stuffed shells, The baby food actually made me feel full that I didnt eat any snacks through out the day. I havent weighted myself yet to say if itd working but my calorie count was only 917 compared to the 2700 I was up too.

posted Mar 30th, 2010 9:37 am


sara

i started this yesterday and woke up today 4 pounds lighter! i wasnt too hungry yesterday. more cravings. i ate a small salad with chicken at 2pm and 4 jars of baby food over the day.. yes this most definately is a crash diet but im desperate.
i have 50 pounds to loose and i have tried it the healthy way, but i have thyroid issues which makes weight loss a unfair fight. i have been thin most of my life untill my 2 back to back pregnancies where my thyroid went crazy and i piled on 70 pounds.... im going to stick with this and will incorporate the foods and idea of serving sizes into my life so i dont put the pounds back on

posted Mar 11th, 2010 12:19 pm


nicole

well i think its a great idea.
to be honest, i had thought of baby food as a great way to diet or replace unhealthy snacks LONG before it came into fashion.
im not really on the baby food diet, i just use the jars as healthy snacks, rather than eating chocolate bars or crisps.
i eat normal food too.
i dont buy the puddings though, such as mashed fruit - i eat fruit normally.
baby foods are nutritionally balanced, they cant be bad! if they were, why would we feed them to kids??
the only drawback is that you would not feel full. but, then again, what diet ever leaves you feeling full?? lol

posted Mar 4th, 2010 10:35 am


jason

I read about this diet in a nutrition book. The diet recommended taking spirulina along with eating the baby food to help maintain nutritional levels.

I'm glad for the feedback on this page because I need to lose weight for health reason and am considering this diet now.

posted Feb 8th, 2010 2:10 am


Lynn

You people are nuts. If this baby food is so good, why not feed and market it to babies? If baby food is a diet food now, why not just go to the supermarket and buy Beech Nut instead of paying for baby food because movie stars eat it? Next thing you know water will be the new next diet craze. Bet you'll buy into that one too.

posted Feb 3rd, 2010 1:59 pm


misty1985

I am thinking about starting this diet not eating is too hard but i dont want to quit i have lost 50 lbs already and am tring to lose another 110 lbs.

posted Jan 27th, 2010 9:37 pm



Mizz laylarose Lovette

hey there if any of you have facebook please join this group its just a group about the baby food diet and i will be starting on the 25th of this month and i would love to know each ones progress and status plus i wud love to keep in touch with all people who are doing this diet

add the group or even my email

posted Jan 20th, 2010 8:30 am


Rachael111283

I did the baby food diet for 4 months and lost 3 stone. I will be doing this again as the weight didnt all pile straight back on when i stopped either

posted Jan 1st, 2010 8:20 pm



Courtney Marie Hall

I have tried this once before, just to see if i could loose the weight. I was not very serious about it but this time I have to loose weight to fit into a pre bought wedding dress. I am not very fond of the meats and veggies so i substitute out for a low fat yogurt instead. and fruits and oatmeal from the baby food isle.

posted Jan 1st, 2010 12:18 pm


Penny Pincher

I have been on The Baby Food Diet now for about 2 weeks. So, I am keeping a journal I hope to publish into a book, and I plan to start a easy to blog website about this diet.

posted Nov 17th, 2009 3:08 pm


kierao62

hi my name is kiera and i am 14, i am going to try this out and i hope that is works. Is it best to replace 3 meals a day with 3 jars a day? please tell me cause i want 2 lose weight i'm sick of being fat!!!

posted Nov 6th, 2009 9:56 am


sharon

I got divertiulious and got sick as heck, baby food is the best food. i lost 90lbs in 9 months,with exersize as well and fell great!

posted Oct 26th, 2009 12:34 am


kerri

i lost 2 stone in 6 weeks last year on this diet and managed to keep the weight off. i love this diet!!

posted Oct 25th, 2009 4:15 pm


HANNAH

I have had to do this diet for 6 weeks due to an operation on my stomach. I'm 1 week in and have already lost a stone. The different flavours out there are brillant!

posted Oct 15th, 2009 5:47 am


Couture Barbie x

Ive tried this diet once before just after I had my son 2 years ago, And its brilliant it definately works, For girls asking which size jars, I recommend the 0-3 month jars, and snack on farleys rusks in between, Drink plenty of water and the weight just falls off.

posted Sep 12th, 2009 9:33 am


Natalie

I've done this diet before when I first had my son, Now 2 years on my weight is coming back on im 5" and weigh 7 st 8lbs, im gonna do this diet again for a week, and i guarantee i can get back down to 7st, This diet is fantastic and really does work, You just gotta control your cravings and keep the weight off, I suggest you to use the 0-3 months, I know there very small jars, but snack on Farleys rusks in between meals and drink plenty of water x

posted Sep 12th, 2009 9:06 am


Trixie

This diet has been around for decades. It does work. My mother went on it in the 1960's and lost a whopping 60 pounds in just a few weeks. Remember diet and exercise were not mainstream yet in America culture yet.



I also have a friend who started having stomach troubles and switched to baby food for all of her meals. She lost 35 pounds in 3 weeks. With no exercise and no effort.



Here are some benefits:



1. Controls diet plan costs. This one thing may actually keep you on a diet!



2. Retrains your stomach to be full on small amounts of food at meal times.



3. Retrains your eye to see what a serving size is.



4. Easy to digest, and this is what really makes you lose the weight fast. No blocked intestines anymore.



5. Retrains your taste buds to foods with less salts, sugars, and other fake flavorings in processed foods.



6. Wide varieties of foods to choose from allowing dieter to mix and match. Dieters donā??t suffer food cravings from missing out on their favorites like Turkey Noodle soup or

Chicken and rice dishes.



7. The baby food diet covers all the groups: vegetables, fruits, starches, proteins and desserts!

posted Sep 9th, 2009 3:07 pm


Dannielle

I am 25 years old I have Chrones Disease as well as an intolerance to gluten. My Dr. actually turned me onto baby food as a way to get the vitamins I need while easting something that is easy on my digestive system. I did not start eating baby food as a way to loose weight it just came off of me. I was 170 pounds when I started supplementing baby food for "adult" food. 2 months later I was just over 140 pounds. For breakfast I eat 1 jar of the fruit with a protein shake. Lunch 1 jar of fruit and 1/2 can of some kind of soup. For dinner I eat typically 1 jar of either the chicken and rice or salmon and a salad with some chicken on it. I do snack on an apple or orange if I get hungry throughout the day. This is an excellent way to implement nutrients into your diet and possibly loose weight if that's something you are looking to achieve.

posted Aug 20th, 2009 8:15 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account