| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 119 reviews

Baby Food Diet

Hollywood's newest weight loss diet comes in tiny little jars.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Update: Jennifer Aniston & Reese Witherspoon on Baby Food Diet

The latest fad to hit body-crazed Hollywood is the Baby Food Diet. Yep, you guessed it, noshing on jars of mashed sweet potatoes and gloppy bananas is the newest trend that makes you question if Hollywood is suffering a need to regress and feel younger (much younger!) or if there is something nutritiously beneficial to spooning down jars of the glassed stuff? You'll hear about Jennifer Aniston, Reese Witherspoon and even some of the Desperate Housewives hitting a jar of baby food to ease cravings.

  • Baby food is free of additives, pure and full of vitamins
  • Portions are small enough to control cravings and avoid the temptation to overeat
  • Many selections are gluten-free for those on a gluten-free diet
  • Organic varieties available
  • Broad variety of flavors

  • Small portions could lead to a binge later on
  • Taste is bland -Since very little chewing is involved, satiety might not be achieved

There are no specific guidelines that have been created yet for The Baby Food Diet . In time, your local bookstore will carry a guide on how to lose weight by subsisting on baby food. For now, the requirements are:

The dieter eats either all baby food or eats one adult meal and baby food for the rest of the day. Since babies' digestive systems are so young and innocent, most baby food that you'll find at the grocery store is free of added fats, fillers and other additives. Organic baby food is also lining the shelves so you can be sure that the mushy stuff you're eating does not contain genetically-modified ingredients, growth hormones, or antibiotics.


Since The Baby Food is more of a trend right now rather than a specific guideline, no exercise recommendations have been put forth. But as reality and science has shown us, the more you expend and the less you consume, you will shed the pounds.


The Baby Food Diet is likely to inspire some good chuckles and grimaces as its popularity grows. From a nutritional perspective, the diet is clearly packed with veggies and fruits and thereby full of vitamins and minerals; and it does have the portion control element going for it too. As for its long-term ability to keep off any lost pounds? That still remains to be seen.

Common Misspellings

Baby-food, babyfood

Related Diets: Celebrity Juice Diet, Hollywood Miracle Diet, VF Smoothie

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 11, 218 total comments)


Iya I may sound silly but this really looks amazing for a diet and anyone tell me how I go about doing it and what I have to do I don't want to mess it and lose out on what everyone is saying
Thanks xx

posted Jan 16th, 2011 12:15 am


I like this kind of diet

posted Jan 15th, 2011 11:40 am

Cindy all I can say at some of the haters on this website..even the ones who recommend the nutriiont websites. First of all this diet will work for short term any kind of diet will when you restrict your calorie intake. Also, have you ever known anyone or read about having a gastric bypass? The only foods the patients are allowed to eat are baby foods or smashed peas and other vegetables. I have been on a soup diet. which I love. I just eat alot of soups and one regular meal a day. It has worked for me because I love soup and the broth in the soup feels me up. I drink lots of apple juice or any other kind of juice and some tea. I just cut out all sodas. I am starting this baby food thing tomorrow because I recently got off of my diet and want to jump start it again. and the soup diet I made up for myself the way I go about it but it works for me. I have lost 68 pounds since April to the end of September and I do exercise but not extreme. I mainly just play on the wii fit with my nephew. sorry I am in a rush so I didn't go back and check the spelling!!

posted Jan 5th, 2011 7:51 pm


I'm on this diet currently and I'm enjoying it!

posted Dec 28th, 2010 11:29 pm


I looooooove this diet! I have literally 5 or 6 for the day and I'm hardly ever hungry ... only few headaches (due to my period). And I do eat somewhat regularly throughout the day.

posted Dec 28th, 2010 11:17 pm


I weigh 112 bs at 14 and im 5ft5ish. Im FAt compared to my friends so i Am going totry this and it should easy becuz i love babby food:)

posted Nov 16th, 2010 3:02 pm


I read about this in one of my baby magazines. You eat 14-15 jars of food for breakfast lunch and snacks. Then a healthy (adult) dinner. I lost 8 lbs in one week! Not that hard to do, and it cleanses you which is good for ya!!

posted Nov 16th, 2010 1:31 am


I would like some advice from woman that have done this diet. Mostly positive..but a little negative. I would like to loose these last 15 pounds from my daughter..then another 30. Anyone that has done this diet please give me some feed back with your opinion. Thank you

posted Nov 2nd, 2010 1:34 pm

alexis b

Do babies drink wine? does apple juice and wine have the same caloric intake? Just wondering, I am kidding about babies drinking wine!!! grape is a grape right?

posted Oct 28th, 2010 4:04 am


baby food is filled with calories for growing children, they are not designed to be consumed by adults as well as high amounts of sugar, that turn into fat!!

posted Oct 27th, 2010 11:57 pm

alexis b

I have now been on the baby food diet for 5 days. Lost 4 pounds. It has been very easy. The yogurts are very good. I believe the dinners in the jar that have chicken or some meat in them really fill you up. I do have some toddler dinners on hand which I have also used. The toddler biscuits are a must for if you really are not satisfied. They are only 30 calories each and are pretty big. Also I have the toddler granola bars when I get the night time munchies. They are 70 calories each.

posted Oct 27th, 2010 8:02 pm


Im going to start this diet first thing tomorrow-i have found this page every useful (apart from all the haters and their negativity) i mean if its better than filling your body with processed and sugary foods-and if its good enough for babies-then why not go for it?! especially with the price of fresh foods now days, not everyone can afford to buy all the fresh produce-and baby food is rather cheap! so i suggest to those haters -maybe try it first before you start digging at people just becasue they want to make an effort to loose weight? lets face it, most diets are really restrictive and hard to stick to so people just give up-this seems to be easy to stick to so will encourage people-especially once they start loosing the weight they will be more inclined to excersize to help it- good on them i say! the best part for me is i love baby food! i always have-i even crave it sometimes (especially the pumpkin one nom nom) so thanks to everyone for their feedback-its been really helpful-i have a wedding in 4 months so wish me luck!

posted Oct 25th, 2010 4:23 am


WOW! I didn't realize that this was an actual diet! I have been eating baby food off and on since 2005 when I was diagnosed with breast cancer. Because I chose to do the homeopathic way for breast cancer treatment the doctor told me that I don't get enough potassium which is a cell re generator and to try at least 1 jar of baby food a day. I average about 6 jars a week but I plan on going on a straight baby food regimen for 1 month starting in november. Really interesting info on this site. Thanx.

~Nina Anne~

posted Oct 17th, 2010 2:00 am


Eating only baby food is not only extremely hard to do, it also is not giving you the nutrient your body needs to be healthy. I think the main thing that Jennifer Aniston, Reese Witherspoon, etc have going for them is genetics.

posted Oct 12th, 2010 12:59 pm


I'm 5 ft 5 and weigh 130lbs I want to lost just a few pounds, nothing drastic, will this diet work for me?

posted Oct 6th, 2010 9:23 am


Its those messy diapers that get you. The baby food just goes right through you.

posted Sep 30th, 2010 10:20 am


im going to try starting tomm. :)
im excited to see if this will work!

posted Sep 29th, 2010 2:50 pm


I swear by this, omg this diet is the best thing that has ever happened to me!

posted Sep 8th, 2010 4:59 am


This is my second day doing this diet and it's a GREAT IDEA!! I'm not even craving solids! I've got 3 people from work onto this as well and we have a code name for it: BFD! (baby food diet) and I rip the labels off the BF (baby food) so no-one knows what it is.

I chew a lot of gum during the day as well. It's supposed to send false signals to your brain to make you think you're eating so you don't feel hungry but I eat a lot of BF thoughout the day, about 12 - 14 cans.

I'm loving the BFD and im suprised i actually have quite a bit of energy considering I'm not eating anything else.

I can't wait to weigh myself after one week, im hoping to lose 3 kgs and will let yous know :o) Good luck everyone!!

posted Sep 8th, 2010 2:26 am


I'm going to give this a try!!

I love baby desserts & cereal!

My plan: replace breakfast lunch & snacks with baby & toddler foods.

Breakfast: baby cearl, yougurt, or baby fruits
Lunch: toddler baby foods like Gerber Graduates toddler dinners or such foods
Snacks: baby food, or toddler snacks like puffs, or other Toddler snacks
Dinner: healthy adult meal with family
Lots of water!!
Goal: portion & calorie control with added nutrition.

I have migraines & preservatives & artificial ingredients often trigger my migraines - I think this easy to digest, healthy, alternative to low-cal & low-carb diet food will be extremely heful!

posted Aug 20th, 2010 12:26 am


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account