Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

88%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 122 reviews

Baby Food Diet

Hollywood's newest weight loss diet comes in tiny little jars.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Update: Jennifer Aniston & Reese Witherspoon on Baby Food Diet

The latest fad to hit body-crazed Hollywood is the Baby Food Diet. Yep, you guessed it, noshing on jars of mashed sweet potatoes and gloppy bananas is the newest trend that makes you question if Hollywood is suffering a need to regress and feel younger (much younger!) or if there is something nutritiously beneficial to spooning down jars of the glassed stuff? You'll hear about Jennifer Aniston, Reese Witherspoon and even some of the Desperate Housewives hitting a jar of baby food to ease cravings.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven fat burner as Sletrokor for better results

PRO
  • Baby food is free of additives, pure and full of vitamins
  • Portions are small enough to control cravings and avoid the temptation to overeat
  • Many selections are gluten-free for those on a gluten-free diet
  • Organic varieties available
  • Broad variety of flavors

CON
  • Small portions could lead to a binge later on
  • Taste is bland -Since very little chewing is involved, satiety might not be achieved
DIET and NUTRITION

There are no specific guidelines that have been created yet for The Baby Food Diet . In time, your local bookstore will carry a guide on how to lose weight by subsisting on baby food. For now, the requirements are:

The dieter eats either all baby food or eats one adult meal and baby food for the rest of the day. Since babies' digestive systems are so young and innocent, most baby food that you'll find at the grocery store is free of added fats, fillers and other additives. Organic baby food is also lining the shelves so you can be sure that the mushy stuff you're eating does not contain genetically-modified ingredients, growth hormones, or antibiotics.

EXERCISE

Since The Baby Food is more of a trend right now rather than a specific guideline, no exercise recommendations have been put forth. But as reality and science has shown us, the more you expend and the less you consume, you will shed the pounds.

CONCLUSION

The Baby Food Diet is likely to inspire some good chuckles and grimaces as its popularity grows. From a nutritional perspective, the diet is clearly packed with veggies and fruits and thereby full of vitamins and minerals; and it does have the portion control element going for it too. As for its long-term ability to keep off any lost pounds? That still remains to be seen.

Common Misspellings

Baby-food, babyfood



> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 12, 221 total comments)

Suzi

I recently got an infection in my face which stopped me chewing so I turned to babyfood, Ive been eating it for about a week and a noticeably (if only slightly) smaller! I never knew people ate it through choice as a diet but after discovering it accidentally I will be using it more often! I recommend Ella's Kitchen for tasty organic filling meals.

posted May 12th, 2011 9:39 am


fadsareweak

just another fad made popular by the celebrities. anniston eats 14 jars a day (approx 1000-1400 calories) and works out almost THREE hours daily! of course they lost weight fast.
change your lifestyle and you wouldnt look the way you do. enjoy eating 500 calories of baby food a day, lose 30lbs, then go back to your old habits and old weight. heck you might even gain a few more pounds the next month.
in the mean time im going to enjoy a steak after i work out.

posted May 5th, 2011 10:50 am


Rosie

after reading reviews and comments i will definitely give this diet a try to begin the weightloss n then continue with excercise, i really hope it works for me as it has for others...

posted May 1st, 2011 3:39 pm


Gloria

This goes to @me who said "Baby food jars are awesome to eat. These types of foods are what everyone needs to get back to - the natural basics from Earth itself."

If you want to get back to the natural basics - just eat the whole forms of the food. Eat an apple, a pear, some carrots, green beans, sweet potatoes. FAR more nutritive value in that than a processed jar of baby food.

As for your kids, stick to those real basics too. I did this for my daughter - making my own baby food. You'd be shocked by how easy it is, and maybe moreso at how affordable it is. (Think pennies per meal vs. $1/jar/meal.

posted Apr 28th, 2011 5:29 pm


me

+

Baby food jars are awesome to eat. These types of foods are what everyone needs to get back to - the natural basics from Earth itself. It deletes all the processed man made junk. No added fats or salts. There are also many types that have added spices so they don't all taste bland! Many of the 8 to 12 month old jar meals are actually really good (ex. Heinz Beef Stroganoff and Grandma's Country Chicken - they satisfy my salt craving and the sweet fruit jars satisfy sweet craving). The jars are readily available and often much easier than preparing all the food youself, especially when on the go. Try it for most of your diet, your body and heart will thank you. :)

posted Apr 28th, 2011 4:05 pm


pennie

?

can you just eat the baby food puddings or do you have to mix them??? baby food diet

posted Apr 27th, 2011 9:20 am


addy

is this good for any ages?

posted Apr 18th, 2011 1:28 pm


wendy

I have been on the Baby Food diet for about 7 days because I got a stomach virus - and........ lost 8 pounds. I have a carnation instant breakfast for b-fast then 2 jars of baby food (stage 2; 120 calories = 240) then cereal for dinner - any kind. I'm hungry sometimes, but not starving. I'm gonna stick w/ it. It's working for me. :)

posted Mar 26th, 2011 2:00 pm


carlyalexandra

I have studied human kinetics and this diet is good but beware of three things:


1) keep it for short-term use or use it at times when you want to jumpstart weightloss or breach weight-loss plateau. If not you will experience number 2


2) beware of weight cycling. What most people do not realise is that diets are not just for a short amount of time until you reach the desired weight loss goal. If you do any diet and lose the 20 pounds you wanted to lose and then stop dieting, you will gain it right back.


3) Do not cut carbs. carbs are your body's main source of glucose. if you do not provide enough glucose through your diet, your body will break down body PROTEIN to synthesize glucose for itself. In short term it will seem as if you are loosing weight but this is only loss of muscle mass. This also can be prevented by keeping this diet short term if you are also reducing carbohydrate intake.





I know that jennifer aniston uses this short term before award shows in combination with daily workout for three hours each day in the final run up to the event night. Thats a lot of work- don't set yourself up for dissapointment by thinking you will get those kinds of results without hitting the gym.





Goodluck!

posted Mar 20th, 2011 11:50 pm


kat

+

Hi, this is day 4 for me and I have already lost five pounds. I don't work out but I'm in college so i do a lot of walking on campus. I start my day with two jars at 7am and have one to two more every two hours after. I eat a regular dinner at around 6pm. I only like the bananas and the sweet potato and those i have to kind of combine to eat. But wish everyone the best.

posted Mar 17th, 2011 1:26 pm


Tammy

+

I have been on this diet for 3 weeks and i have lost 14 pounds I am NEVER hungry, I even snack on the Gerber graduates lil chrunchies they are like cheese puffs, trust me when I say I have tried EVER diet out there and have spent thousands of dollars on diet pills and gym's. and to be a little blunt...I use the bathroom everyday #2. I also take a womans day vitamin. good luck !

posted Mar 10th, 2011 1:58 pm


Meagan

Hi again! Okay I am on day 6...almost a whole week and no cheating yet lol. I am not going to lie it has been rough everytime I pass fast food it gets harder. I have been sticking to my plan and have lost 2 pounds so far. I have also stocked my cabinet with every fruit baby food they make. Today i branched out and tried beechnut microwavable turkey and rice very filling try those for a bigger meal. Good Luck!

posted Mar 8th, 2011 5:52 pm


JW

+

I remember way back in the hay days I did a diet with baby food and it worked. The only problem is when you weened off the diet not to go back to eating unhealthy food.

I will try this for a couple of weeks to see if I see any weight loss.

posted Mar 7th, 2011 6:12 pm


Petra

Hey ,i think it is a good idea
i will try it tomorrow, hope to loose weight
i wil give it a hole month lol lol
lets see what happent ok.

posted Mar 6th, 2011 8:55 pm


Meagan

Today was Day 1: Yikes!!! I have read many many sites about this diet and I have to say... I decided to go with my main meal being dinner. Since I have hypothyroidism I have gained a lot of weight this is a healthy way to shed the pounds and I def think this going to be a success. Here are some tips from my findings:

1. eat one container for breakfast
2. have a handful of nuts of a hard boiled egg only proteins NO CARBS
3. eat another container for lunch
4. have another protein keep them small
5. have a healthy dinner, i had grilled chicken baked potato tablespoon of rice low carb foods
6. and most important sip lots of water and herbal teas.

I feel great and it really curbs your appetite. It's hard at first but it gets easier every day. Good luck to all! Keep the Faith!

posted Mar 3rd, 2011 11:47 pm


Sparkle

I just started the baby food diet today which consists of a healthy breakast sincce thats the most important meal of the day,1 jar of chicken-rice(babyfood) for lunch,banana(babyfood) for afternoon snack and another chicken-rice(babyfood) for dinner, i started working out this morning as well. I must say that my appetite is curved and i will continue this for weightloss. Hope to see a great outcome

posted Mar 1st, 2011 10:39 pm


cyndel

what baby food do you not eat when on the baby food dite?

posted Feb 24th, 2011 4:42 pm


Kirstin

Just a question, would this diet work well on a longer term with extra's like protein shakes and Dietary fiber pills?

posted Feb 13th, 2011 8:48 pm


april

+

This diet is easy to follow, bc Im never hungry. Just trying maintain my weight and working out seriously to burn body fat.

posted Jan 30th, 2011 8:30 pm



Manda Kay

i was reading all the comments and i think i seriously am going to conceder trying this diet looks as if people lost lots of weight on it

posted Jan 28th, 2011 11:17 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




Related Diets: Celebrity Juice Diet, Hollywood Miracle Diet, VF Smoothie

Whats better than
Baby Food Diet?