Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

87%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 111 reviews

Baby Food Diet

Hollywood's newest weight loss diet comes in tiny little jars.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Update: Jennifer Aniston & Reese Witherspoon on Baby Food Diet

The latest fad to hit body-crazed Hollywood is the Baby Food Diet. Yep, you guessed it, noshing on jars of mashed sweet potatoes and gloppy bananas is the newest trend that makes you question if Hollywood is suffering a need to regress and feel younger (much younger!) or if there is something nutritiously beneficial to spooning down jars of the glassed stuff? You'll hear about Jennifer Aniston, Reese Witherspoon and even some of the Desperate Housewives hitting a jar of baby food to ease cravings.

PRO
  • Baby food is free of additives, pure and full of vitamins
  • Portions are small enough to control cravings and avoid the temptation to overeat
  • Many selections are gluten-free for those on a gluten-free diet
  • Organic varieties available
  • Broad variety of flavors

CON
  • Small portions could lead to a binge later on
  • Taste is bland -Since very little chewing is involved, satiety might not be achieved
DIET and NUTRITION

There are no specific guidelines that have been created yet for The Baby Food Diet . In time, your local bookstore will carry a guide on how to lose weight by subsisting on baby food. For now, the requirements are:

The dieter eats either all baby food or eats one adult meal and baby food for the rest of the day. Since babies' digestive systems are so young and innocent, most baby food that you'll find at the grocery store is free of added fats, fillers and other additives. Organic baby food is also lining the shelves so you can be sure that the mushy stuff you're eating does not contain genetically-modified ingredients, growth hormones, or antibiotics.

EXERCISE

Since The Baby Food is more of a trend right now rather than a specific guideline, no exercise recommendations have been put forth. But as reality and science has shown us, the more you expend and the less you consume, you will shed the pounds.

CONCLUSION

The Baby Food Diet is likely to inspire some good chuckles and grimaces as its popularity grows. From a nutritional perspective, the diet is clearly packed with veggies and fruits and thereby full of vitamins and minerals; and it does have the portion control element going for it too. As for its long-term ability to keep off any lost pounds? That still remains to be seen.

Common Misspellings

Baby-food, babyfood


Related Diets: Celebrity Juice Diet, Hollywood Miracle Diet, VF Smoothie


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 11, 214 total comments)

Amanda

I am starting this diet tomorrow, I am 5'9" and weigh 190lbs. My goal weight is 155lbs, i will post updates on the progress. :)

posted Jul 5th, 2011 10:56 pm


bigben

just started today got off to good start bin the gym had a rusk and a heinz dinner which tasted good but even better with a tiny bit of pepper seems to be easier than i thought

posted Jul 4th, 2011 9:21 am



Boss Bev Billions

@ cindy keep up the good work, how long did it take u to lose 68 lbs that great

posted Jun 25th, 2011 10:23 am


Anonymous

bodhi - did you really lose 15 pounds in a week? This is something I want to try if you did.

posted Jun 20th, 2011 2:19 pm


Vixen

I did this long before I even knew about a "baby food diet" years ago because it is my job to stay slim and fit. I opted for this because I actually love the taste, and grew up stealing jars from the pantry as afternoon snacks as a grade schooler. What I realized as an adult is that the jars are packed full of clean foods and has very little additives as it's meant for young children... so it's an awesome guilt-free snack. What I did- I ate about 4 3rd foods Gerber jars (of lasagna, chicken noodle, vegetable beef... any entree jar) a day, and all the "real" fruit I wanted to eat (except bananas- too much sugar). I generally devoured oranges, apples, strawberries, and blueberries. As for liquids, I drank 10 glasses of water a day and if you're a coffee drinker, black coffee is okay. I also drank green tea- but avoided drinking fruit juice. I also took a multivitamin daily. I am 5'6 and at my heaviest, I am 117lbs. I have a thin bone structure (I'm Asian) so I easily look flabby, but never really chunky. I did this diet as a health cleanse and also to tone up easier for 3 months, and lost 15 lbs. easily. In fact, even after I went back to normal food, I kept losing weight for another month or so before stabilizing. I also exercised about 3x a week doing simple hour-long hikes up my nearby mountain and from my dance rehearsals for about an hour 2x a week. Nothing extreme on the exercise, but since I was eating so clean, my muscle definition came out quickly and I toned my body in less than a month. The only complaint I have about this diet is that it's hard to socialize on the diet. You can't really have "lunch" with your friends for a while.

posted Jun 18th, 2011 3:53 pm


Laydee

I only started today.... need to lose 10kg. Which liquids can one take, along with water?

posted Jun 6th, 2011 3:47 am


Tara

HeyMelanie..how many jars do u eat everyday? how many calories??

im sgarting tomorrow, may I ask what ur weight and height is?? and how any kg do u want to loose?

posted Jun 3rd, 2011 7:30 pm


melanie ryan

on day 3 of the diet want to loose a stone in weight.

so far I am surviving I am making some of my baby food

posted Jun 3rd, 2011 6:47 am


Tara

Anyone wants to start with me from tomorrow? I live in Norway..i think they taste different..the ones they sell here are all really yummy...but one jar is like 160kcal!!!!

posted Jun 2nd, 2011 7:06 pm


nicole

how much should u eat a day and can u have outher snacks I have been reading a lot of these comments and think I would really like to try it but need 2 ask a few quetions first like,how long should u do it 4 n can u still eat normal foods with this diet n how much babyfood should u eat a day !!! Babyfood diet

posted May 29th, 2011 5:05 pm


Hayley jay

Baby food diet question Can u add salt to meals and still loose weight ? May be a daft question but i want to do it right and, oh man , these flavours are bland !!!

posted May 29th, 2011 9:23 am


bekki

I have tried every diet going, spent money on hypnotherpy which failed too!!.......I need to try something im getting married next year.......I want to feel beautiful in my dress........All i can do is give it a try, I will post back within a month!!!

posted May 27th, 2011 7:44 pm


bodhi

I have been on this diet for 7days now and have lost 15pounds... The key is the exercise and making sure to portion that one meal a day! I have never been so happy with the results of a diet before... Granted when u use the toilet it just isn't the same but I only like the fruit flavors.... Over all and absolutely amazing diet and goodluck to those that try it! But u have to be very religious to it. My schedule was 2 in the morning then 1-2 every 2-3 hrs... Normal dinner very portioned with tuna, or lean chicken breast grilled... Rice and veggies!! And almond milk was a sub for milk at 90 calories a glass (vanilla was my chosen flavor) and make sure to workout for an hour after dinner but make sure to do 1-2 hrs during the day!!! Goodluck to all :)

posted May 23rd, 2011 12:35 am


Suzi

I recently got an infection in my face which stopped me chewing so I turned to babyfood, Ive been eating it for about a week and a noticeably (if only slightly) smaller! I never knew people ate it through choice as a diet but after discovering it accidentally I will be using it more often! I recommend Ella's Kitchen for tasty organic filling meals.

posted May 12th, 2011 9:39 am


fadsareweak

just another fad made popular by the celebrities. anniston eats 14 jars a day (approx 1000-1400 calories) and works out almost THREE hours daily! of course they lost weight fast.
change your lifestyle and you wouldnt look the way you do. enjoy eating 500 calories of baby food a day, lose 30lbs, then go back to your old habits and old weight. heck you might even gain a few more pounds the next month.
in the mean time im going to enjoy a steak after i work out.

posted May 5th, 2011 10:50 am


Rosie

after reading reviews and comments i will definitely give this diet a try to begin the weightloss n then continue with excercise, i really hope it works for me as it has for others...

posted May 1st, 2011 3:39 pm


Gloria

This goes to @me who said "Baby food jars are awesome to eat. These types of foods are what everyone needs to get back to - the natural basics from Earth itself."

If you want to get back to the natural basics - just eat the whole forms of the food. Eat an apple, a pear, some carrots, green beans, sweet potatoes. FAR more nutritive value in that than a processed jar of baby food.

As for your kids, stick to those real basics too. I did this for my daughter - making my own baby food. You'd be shocked by how easy it is, and maybe moreso at how affordable it is. (Think pennies per meal vs. $1/jar/meal.

posted Apr 28th, 2011 5:29 pm


me

Baby food jars are awesome to eat. These types of foods are what everyone needs to get back to - the natural basics from Earth itself. It deletes all the processed man made junk. No added fats or salts. There are also many types that have added spices so they don't all taste bland! Many of the 8 to 12 month old jar meals are actually really good (ex. Heinz Beef Stroganoff and Grandma's Country Chicken - they satisfy my salt craving and the sweet fruit jars satisfy sweet craving). The jars are readily available and often much easier than preparing all the food youself, especially when on the go. Try it for most of your diet, your body and heart will thank you. :)

posted Apr 28th, 2011 4:05 pm


pennie

can you just eat the baby food puddings or do you have to mix them??? baby food diet

posted Apr 27th, 2011 9:20 am


addy

is this good for any ages?

posted Apr 18th, 2011 1:28 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account