Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 122 reviews
Baby Food Diet

Baby Food Diet Review: Does it Work?

Hollywood's newest weight loss diet comes in tiny little jars.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Baby Food Diet is a fad diet where one eats baby food to help keep one’s weight maintained. It’s not specifically made for weight loss however, and the rules on what one needs to follow are not well explained.

One to two meals or even a snack are to be substituted with jars of baby food, which have around 20 to 100 calories per jar depending on the brand and kind of food. Finding information about this diet is difficult as there are a few variations. Our experts have rated countless diets and have confirmed that the most effective solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It offers a meal replacement and diet pill that have combined fat loss effects. Both are made free of stimulants, artificial ingredients, binders, fillers, or unwanted additives. More information about the 18Shake Diet can be read about in the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Baby FoodDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

Since the foods one will be eating will be baby food, the kinds ofingredients found depend on the specific brand. There are many kinds of baby food, and this can include vegetable based or fruit based foods. Typically these foods are free of preservatives or any additives they’re typically natural whole foods which have been mushed to be made easy to eat. Click the link here to see a top 10 list of the highest ranked diets for weight loss.

The kinds of foods and standards one website recommends are:

         • Some meats such as turkey, beef, and chicken.

         • Pureed vegetables and fruits.

         • Up to 14 jars a day to replace 2 meals.

Typically one can eat many jars of baby food since they have much less calories, protein, and fiber. There also can be issues with not getting adequate nutrition, as Web MD mentions:

“Replacing meals with baby food could result in nutritional imbalances and getting very few calories”

They also discuss whether or not it will be satisfying as a full meal:

“may find your stomach grumbling after a “meal” on this diet”

This is also not a long term solution for weight loss. It can be potentially unhealthy and unsafe for a person to continue eating these kinds of foods. This is why this diet has been described as a fad diet and it isn’t intended to be used for a long time.

Web MD also adds this:

“just like a baby, it won’t be long before you outgrow this diet and start to gain weight”

Continuing this diet can be difficult as well as the variety of foods is limited, and it can become boring to have to eat the same kinds of foods. The texture is also an issue, as pureed foods aren’t very satisfying to have to keep eating. For a comprehensive list of the 10 best diet plans click the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Baby Food Diet Quality of Ingredients

The overall quality of the ingredients you choose depends on the specific brands. Some baby food brands actually contain added sugars, preservatives, and potential weight increasing ingredients.

Some labels of baby foods included ingredients such as:

         • Sugar (sucrose)

         • Mono and diglycerides

         • Corn Syrup

         • Artificial flavors.

Overall, this diet has been ranked poorly according to Web MD who adds:

“It would be fat better to look into another eating plan that you can stick with and not quickly grow out of”

Not all baby food is considered healthy either. The nutritional needs of a baby are far different than an adult, so this can make for deficiencies and issues. Babies receive much less calories and their vitamins and minerals are rationed out differently through the day. Adults need much more in order to sustain themselves, this is why there is a difference between adult and baby food.

No support or guidance is offered either, the diet has been said to been used by the actress Jennifer Aniston, but no proof into what kinds of effects this may have on health are offered anywhere.

The Price and Quality of Baby Food Diet

The cost of having to purchase baby food can become expensive. As Web MD mentions:

“Costs may add up quickly too, depending on how many jars a day you will be eating”

For example, a 12 pack of single servingyogurt smoothie featured on Walmart sells for $20.41. A 12 count of 4 oz. each baby food also sells for $11.85 on the same site. Considering one has to eat around 14 jars a day, this can be incredibly costly. One can also make their own baby food if they puree and mash their own ingredients, but the ratio of ingredients can depend on the brand of baby food one is trying to copy.

The portion sizes are small as well; 4 ounces would not be considered a snack for most people. The comprehensive top 10 list has the highest rated diet plans available now.

Business of Baby Food Diet

There are many different brands for baby food and determining the overall quality depends on the specific nutrition facts label. The creator of the diet is Tracy Anderson, a fitness trainer for many celebrities. However, she has since stopped promoting this diet for unknown reasons. 

There are many websites which explain the Baby Food Diet, and each one has their own take. There’s not one specific source for this diet. The only information which is universal is that one should replace meals with a few jars of baby food of one’s choosing. There are no additional tips or suggestions made by websites which promote this diet.

This is why many who have tried to learn more about this plan have found it confusing. There are often questions about how to start, or what considerations should be made.

Some suggest eating 14 servings and replacing two meals a day for as long as one needs to. Though none mention it’s a weight loss diet, it’s intended for maintenance of weight. Without an official guide it can be difficult to understand the limitations and standards needed to follow this diet.  Click the link here for a comprehensive top 10 list of diet plans.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Baby Food Diet

Here are some reviews from users who have tried the Baby Food Diet:

“this is really bad!... As soon as you break from the diet your body will pack the pounds and try to store as much as it can”

“didn’t work in the slightest… was on it for about 2 days and I ended up being sick everywhere”

“This baby food just goes right through you”

“Please seek other means of weight loss, this is a terrible diet”

There were many complaints against this diet, and people were uncertain about a lot of things. Since information on the diet is limited without an official guide, many found it impossible to start. Those that made sure to eat many jars of baby food said that it was difficult to continue, and that it left them unsatisfied.

Side effects such as indigestion, diarrhea, and frequent bathroom usage were also listed.  Some found it impossible to continue this diet without feeling fatigued. Overall, there were many major criticisms. The link cited here has a list of the highest rated top 10 diet plans.

People who tried this diet were also concerned over their health, as the amounts of vitamins and minerals aren’t the same in baby food as they would be in a standard meal.

Conclusion - Does Baby Food Diet Work?

The Baby Food Diet has no official guide, and information about what’srequired is limited. By replacing meals with baby foods the intention is to help keep one’s weight stable. While there are fewer calories in baby food, it’s also expensive and does not have the same nutritional density as adult foods have. The majority of users have also had criticisms saying it wasn’t satisfying, appetizing, or at all possible to continue long term. Some had issues with side effects such as digestive issues and fatigue. There’s also been concern from medical sites such as Web MD has confirmed it’s just another fad diet. No science has proven this diet to be effective and safe, and it seems highly unlikely this diet would be safe or effective.

verall weight loss benefits is the 18Shake Diet.It combines a meal replacement shake and a diet pill made to suppress appetite, boost mood, burn calories, and provide many other weight loss benefits. Many customers have left positive testimonials showcasing their own weight loss benefits. Both the meal replacement and diet pill have only natural ingredients free of stimulants, binders, fillers, artificial flavors, artificial colors, or any cheap unwanted additives.

18Shake is also fullybacked by a 30 day return policy. One can make a return with no questions asked within the full 30 days. To discover more information about the 18Shake Diet follow the link provided here.

How Does Baby Food Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Baby Food Diet
  • 44 /100

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 12, 221 total comments)


hi could someone tell me how many jars or baby food should i eat in one day and is it the small or big jars to eat??please help!!

posted Jan 19th, 2012 10:56 pm


i have been reading all your post's mmmm very interesting. i must say i say the bigger than lady gaga show last night and found it funny, then interesting as i have been trying to loose weight for ages. i went on the special k diet and lost a few pounds then got bored. the baby food diet seems to be working with some so i will be trying it out defo, i have & weeks to loose 1 stone, fingers crossed for me, i hope to reach my goal. i wish all those that are doing or are going to attempt the babyfood diet all the best xx

posted Jan 16th, 2012 10:39 am


This diet has been taken out of context. Tracey Andreson prescribed it to Jennifer Aniston as an emergecy diet when she needed to loose weight fast for an upcoming movie. Even she (Anderson) is against starving to lose weight.

So unless you are some hollywood actress or model who relies on her body to make money, you don't need to follow this diet. Just eat well, exercise, and you'll never have to worry about dieting.

posted Jan 13th, 2012 12:19 am



I also saw this today on bigger Than lady GaGa, I've been trying to loose weight since the new year with my own kind of plan, which has been all about portion control. i think I'm doing ok but not as good as I'd of liked. So i thought I'd give this a go, years ago I use to east baby puddings as I have a bit of a sweet tooth ( before I had children myself, i now have 3 boys my eldest is now 13 and my youngest 5 ) so this may help. I think I'm going to do it by having and adult evening meal but the rest of the day on baby food, It's got to be worth a try, so fingers crossed xx

posted Jan 12th, 2012 4:04 pm



i just seen this diet on "bigger than lady gaga" how many jars are required a day?! i want/NEED to lose weight fast x

posted Jan 12th, 2012 9:27 am



Will I have saggy Skin since the weight loss is so fast? I heard about this diet by my step mother. We both talk about how we need to lose weight. She is going to start this diet this week. I really want to start this diet, but i have some worries. I worry about losing weight so dramatically that I will have saggy skin or something?

posted Jan 9th, 2012 1:05 am


i am starting this tomorrow...wish me luck. i have tried eating healthy and exercise and all the diets out there..none worked for me..i am so sick of being like this and dont know what else to try...my whole family is over weight and i refuse to become this...i am now 194lbs my goal is 135lbs hope it helps kick start my new life.

posted Dec 19th, 2011 9:34 pm



I've been on this diet since Sunday (today is day 4) and I've lost 9.6lbs. I've been eating approximately 1100 calories per day (all baby food) and drinking a ton of water. I was kind of hungry the first day but I am know satisfied after a baby food meal. I take vitamins every morning and have 2 cups of green tea a day (morning and night). My energy level has actually increased and I've been falling asleep much faster.

I was expecting a maximum weight loss of 15lbs for the month so I'm pretty shocked right now. I know a lot of it is water weight but what a start. I'm not delusional so I expect to see very minimal weight loss in the next few days/weeks and to hit a plateau. I know that the weight won't return because I used have very healthy eating habits and workout regularly. I went through a dark time the past 3 years and I'm proud to say I fought through it and am now back on track. I used to eat baby food to maintain my weight so I thought doing this will help me shed all the pounds I gained binge eating because I was depressed.

I wanted to post this to give hope to all those who are on this diet or even thinking about it. It's not about starvation. It's all about portion control and convenience. I rarely have time to cook a meal so fast food is the easy way out. With baby food, I know that I'm getting the right nutrients and it actually tastes good. My body already gets full on less. I have 20lbs left to go and I plan on doing this diet until I reach my GW.

This diet will not work if you don't have the right mindset. If I were to start eating the way I used to once the weight came off, of course I'd gain it all back. You have to make the decision to make a change in your life and to ban (or limit) a lot of food that you really like.

I'm so sick of hearing people preach about the "right" way to lose weight. To each his/her own. If eating baby food is the best way for you to shed your weight, do your thing. Just make sure your body is getting what it needs. I will be doing this diet for a while longer so if anybody needs support, someone to talk/vent to or advice, feel free to post back and I'd love an open dialogue.

posted Dec 14th, 2011 8:44 pm


Well, this is obviously a popular diet method. However, like with anything else I think you need to be smart and do some research. Figure out the calories you need, as well as protein,good fats and carbs. I think supplementing baby food as a snack or using it in recipes is a great idea, however you still need the above items for a healthy diet. My thought for the diet would be to incorporate baby food for my veggies. I don't get enough, but that's not my main issue...it's just me and I can't seem to eat veggies fast enough before they go bad in the fridge because they are only good for 2-3 days. So, I figure I can add squash, sweet potatoes, green beans, etc. to help with my veggie intake. The fruits are also great for adding to homemade protein bars, or overnight oats. A full diet of baby food is not going to give your body everything it needs...but a few jars a day in addition to other healthy foods I think is a great idea...and having a few jars in your purse or where you can grab quickly is great if you are hungry and are trying to avoid a vending machine run. Baby food bananas are my absolute favorite...so sweet and yummy. I just added a jar to my oatmeal pancakes! Good luck to all!

posted Dec 7th, 2011 4:28 am


I'm 145 lbs currently and my goal weight is 115. Think I'm gonna start this tomorrow. My friend's doing it, she has 2 baby fruit purees for breakfast and another 2 for dinner, then a healthy lunch, she doesn't really count calories. I'll do it for a week and see how it goes :)

posted Dec 4th, 2011 1:55 pm


My best friend has been on the baby food since the end of the summer and at 5'8.5 she has gone from 136 lbs to 117 over a four-month period. She's back to eating normally now, and because she lost the weight slowly she hasn't gained anything back. She lost the first 10 lbs or so pretty quickly by eating:

-Porridge/instant oatmeal packets or baby yogurt for breakfast
-Baby food meals for lunch (like that baby spaghetti bolognaise - stuff you can chew)
-Baby biscotti biscuits/rusks to snack on
-Small microwaveable baby meal for dinner

She got from about 125 to 120 by eating porridge for breakfast, a normal healthy lunch, and a baby meal for dinner. Now, she is eating porridge for breakfast, a big but healthy lunch (eg. sushi trays, or teriyaki noodles) and then for dinner she'll have baked beans or a baby portion of tomato pasta. She still snacks on baby biscuits even though she's not properly on the diet anymore, it's kind of cute. But yeah she looks great and hasn't gained any weight back because your stomach shrinks on this diet (it teaches you portion control) and it's harder to start eating larger portions again. I think it also cleans out your digestive system so you don't bloat so easily.

From what I've seen this works, so I wouldn't mind trying it. I think it's also harder to gain back the weight afterwards than you think - the hard part is getting it off! It might take a while but you have to be patient, stress is really bad when it comes to weight loss and the longer it takes generally the longer it will stay off.

posted Dec 2nd, 2011 12:01 am



This is my second day. I have one tub for breakfast, one for morning tea and for lunch I have a tub, handful of nuts and a raw salad. (I rip the labels off at work) for dinner 1-2 tubs. I don't feel hungry during the day at night I do but i noticed a difference after the first day so it's my motivation to stick to it.

posted Oct 20th, 2011 7:25 pm


I am considering going on baby food diet as im kinda lazy in the sense of excersizing and due to my job im working late nights then sleeping. the baby food diet seems good and am willing to try it to lose just a few lbs, its mainly on my belly..... i ont know how to start or what to do plus im a fussy eater..... i have tried baby foods before such as spag bol and liked it but wont eat "adult" spag bol......then there is the complication of what jars to buy? how many? what stage am i? etc etc etc........ but alas!!!!

I have found a baby food meal planner online on the hipp website..... this is what i have been looking for in terms of what and when etc.......
I have looked at all the meal plans for each month baby stage... looks good ....somewhere to start.
hope this helps others.....

posted Oct 13th, 2011 9:46 am



first day of baby food diet, only ate one mixed fruit 80 cal jar and drank a 10 cal vitamin water.. feeling very weak going to do some exercises

posted Oct 11th, 2011 6:15 pm



i started this diet today...having a 1st meal which is breakfast porridge and not bad at all.... i likeeee

posted Oct 10th, 2011 4:24 am



ohh i like this diet but some one whi lost about 8 pounds in a week can you pls wrte the full day meal plan pls so i knw were m doing wrong if i am....n i cnt waitttt to start on mon after the weekend..x

posted Oct 7th, 2011 10:51 am


I just had my first jar of peas last night. I must say after I doctored on it, it wasn't bad. I'll continue this for awhile because I've been a vegetarian since 02/11 and its so hard to find different meals. My son is a football player who eats fries, chicken, meatloaf, chicken alfredo etc. and then I have to cook something else for myself. Its hard!!! So right now, baby food will be my dinner. I'm sure to get the nutrients that I'm missing from not eating meat.

posted Sep 28th, 2011 12:40 pm



This makes me soooo sad! People need to stop being stupid about their diets. I mean seriously whole healthy foods, move around, and incorporate a green smoothie into ur daily diet. HYDRATE! fruit and veggies are ur friends :-)
Your bodies are going to give up on y'all. People you were all born with brains... Use them. And I get it, it's frustrating to lose weight and maintain it but this isn't the solution! Hollywood is about extremes, attention and silliness! I don't think you should follow the dramatic ones.

posted Sep 23rd, 2011 3:51 pm



On the baby food diet, what size of jar should you buy? what size of jar 4 oz not sure - is t gerber and any kind

posted Sep 11th, 2011 9:13 pm



DAY 3- 128.5 lbs
No exercise yesterday as I was busy on the run. I did however squeeze in a half hour walk with the dog. Ate delicious Basa filet for dinner with mixed veggies covered in a tomato sauce. I fit in a perfect 1200 calories yesterday. Still feel great.

posted Sep 7th, 2011 3:19 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account


BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Update: Jennifer Aniston & Reese Witherspoon on Baby Food Diet

The latest fad to hit body-crazed Hollywood is the Baby Food Diet. Yep, you guessed it, noshing on jars of mashed sweet potatoes and gloppy bananas is the newest trend that makes you question if Hollywood is suffering a need to regress and feel younger (much younger!) or if there is something nutritiously beneficial to spooning down jars of the glassed stuff? You'll hear about Jennifer Aniston, Reese Witherspoon and even some of the Desperate Housewives hitting a jar of baby food to ease cravings.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

  • Baby food is free of additives, pure and full of vitamins
  • Portions are small enough to control cravings and avoid the temptation to overeat
  • Many selections are gluten-free for those on a gluten-free diet
  • Organic varieties available
  • Broad variety of flavors

  • Small portions could lead to a binge later on
  • Taste is bland -Since very little chewing is involved, satiety might not be achieved

There are no specific guidelines that have been created yet for The Baby Food Diet . In time, your local bookstore will carry a guide on how to lose weight by subsisting on baby food. For now, the requirements are:

The dieter eats either all baby food or eats one adult meal and baby food for the rest of the day. Since babies' digestive systems are so young and innocent, most baby food that you'll find at the grocery store is free of added fats, fillers and other additives. Organic baby food is also lining the shelves so you can be sure that the mushy stuff you're eating does not contain genetically-modified ingredients, growth hormones, or antibiotics.


Since The Baby Food is more of a trend right now rather than a specific guideline, no exercise recommendations have been put forth. But as reality and science has shown us, the more you expend and the less you consume, you will shed the pounds.


The Baby Food Diet is likely to inspire some good chuckles and grimaces as its popularity grows. From a nutritional perspective, the diet is clearly packed with veggies and fruits and thereby full of vitamins and minerals; and it does have the portion control element going for it too. As for its long-term ability to keep off any lost pounds? That still remains to be seen.

Common Misspellings

Baby-food, babyfood

Related Diets: Celebrity Juice Diet, Hollywood Miracle Diet, VF Smoothie

Whats better than
Baby Food Diet?