Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

87%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 112 reviews

Baby Food Diet

Hollywood's newest weight loss diet comes in tiny little jars.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Update: Jennifer Aniston & Reese Witherspoon on Baby Food Diet

The latest fad to hit body-crazed Hollywood is the Baby Food Diet. Yep, you guessed it, noshing on jars of mashed sweet potatoes and gloppy bananas is the newest trend that makes you question if Hollywood is suffering a need to regress and feel younger (much younger!) or if there is something nutritiously beneficial to spooning down jars of the glassed stuff? You'll hear about Jennifer Aniston, Reese Witherspoon and even some of the Desperate Housewives hitting a jar of baby food to ease cravings.

PRO
  • Baby food is free of additives, pure and full of vitamins
  • Portions are small enough to control cravings and avoid the temptation to overeat
  • Many selections are gluten-free for those on a gluten-free diet
  • Organic varieties available
  • Broad variety of flavors

CON
  • Small portions could lead to a binge later on
  • Taste is bland -Since very little chewing is involved, satiety might not be achieved
DIET and NUTRITION

There are no specific guidelines that have been created yet for The Baby Food Diet . In time, your local bookstore will carry a guide on how to lose weight by subsisting on baby food. For now, the requirements are:

The dieter eats either all baby food or eats one adult meal and baby food for the rest of the day. Since babies' digestive systems are so young and innocent, most baby food that you'll find at the grocery store is free of added fats, fillers and other additives. Organic baby food is also lining the shelves so you can be sure that the mushy stuff you're eating does not contain genetically-modified ingredients, growth hormones, or antibiotics.

EXERCISE

Since The Baby Food is more of a trend right now rather than a specific guideline, no exercise recommendations have been put forth. But as reality and science has shown us, the more you expend and the less you consume, you will shed the pounds.

CONCLUSION

The Baby Food Diet is likely to inspire some good chuckles and grimaces as its popularity grows. From a nutritional perspective, the diet is clearly packed with veggies and fruits and thereby full of vitamins and minerals; and it does have the portion control element going for it too. As for its long-term ability to keep off any lost pounds? That still remains to be seen.

Common Misspellings

Baby-food, babyfood


Related Diets: Celebrity Juice Diet, Hollywood Miracle Diet, VF Smoothie


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 11, 215 total comments)

Ann

i am starting this tomorrow...wish me luck. i have tried eating healthy and exercise and all the diets out there..none worked for me..i am so sick of being like this and dont know what else to try...my whole family is over weight and i refuse to become this...i am now 194lbs my goal is 135lbs hope it helps kick start my new life.

posted Dec 19th, 2011 9:34 pm


Ailish

I've been on this diet since Sunday (today is day 4) and I've lost 9.6lbs. I've been eating approximately 1100 calories per day (all baby food) and drinking a ton of water. I was kind of hungry the first day but I am know satisfied after a baby food meal. I take vitamins every morning and have 2 cups of green tea a day (morning and night). My energy level has actually increased and I've been falling asleep much faster.

I was expecting a maximum weight loss of 15lbs for the month so I'm pretty shocked right now. I know a lot of it is water weight but what a start. I'm not delusional so I expect to see very minimal weight loss in the next few days/weeks and to hit a plateau. I know that the weight won't return because I used have very healthy eating habits and workout regularly. I went through a dark time the past 3 years and I'm proud to say I fought through it and am now back on track. I used to eat baby food to maintain my weight so I thought doing this will help me shed all the pounds I gained binge eating because I was depressed.

I wanted to post this to give hope to all those who are on this diet or even thinking about it. It's not about starvation. It's all about portion control and convenience. I rarely have time to cook a meal so fast food is the easy way out. With baby food, I know that I'm getting the right nutrients and it actually tastes good. My body already gets full on less. I have 20lbs left to go and I plan on doing this diet until I reach my GW.

This diet will not work if you don't have the right mindset. If I were to start eating the way I used to once the weight came off, of course I'd gain it all back. You have to make the decision to make a change in your life and to ban (or limit) a lot of food that you really like.

I'm so sick of hearing people preach about the "right" way to lose weight. To each his/her own. If eating baby food is the best way for you to shed your weight, do your thing. Just make sure your body is getting what it needs. I will be doing this diet for a while longer so if anybody needs support, someone to talk/vent to or advice, feel free to post back and I'd love an open dialogue.

posted Dec 14th, 2011 8:44 pm


Heather

Well, this is obviously a popular diet method. However, like with anything else I think you need to be smart and do some research. Figure out the calories you need, as well as protein,good fats and carbs. I think supplementing baby food as a snack or using it in recipes is a great idea, however you still need the above items for a healthy diet. My thought for the diet would be to incorporate baby food for my veggies. I don't get enough, but that's not my main issue...it's just me and I can't seem to eat veggies fast enough before they go bad in the fridge because they are only good for 2-3 days. So, I figure I can add squash, sweet potatoes, green beans, etc. to help with my veggie intake. The fruits are also great for adding to homemade protein bars, or overnight oats. A full diet of baby food is not going to give your body everything it needs...but a few jars a day in addition to other healthy foods I think is a great idea...and having a few jars in your purse or where you can grab quickly is great if you are hungry and are trying to avoid a vending machine run. Baby food bananas are my absolute favorite...so sweet and yummy. I just added a jar to my oatmeal pancakes! Good luck to all!

posted Dec 7th, 2011 4:28 am


Elly

I'm 145 lbs currently and my goal weight is 115. Think I'm gonna start this tomorrow. My friend's doing it, she has 2 baby fruit purees for breakfast and another 2 for dinner, then a healthy lunch, she doesn't really count calories. I'll do it for a week and see how it goes :)

posted Dec 4th, 2011 1:55 pm


gabby

My best friend has been on the baby food since the end of the summer and at 5'8.5 she has gone from 136 lbs to 117 over a four-month period. She's back to eating normally now, and because she lost the weight slowly she hasn't gained anything back. She lost the first 10 lbs or so pretty quickly by eating:

-Porridge/instant oatmeal packets or baby yogurt for breakfast
-Baby food meals for lunch (like that baby spaghetti bolognaise - stuff you can chew)
-Baby biscotti biscuits/rusks to snack on
-Small microwaveable baby meal for dinner

She got from about 125 to 120 by eating porridge for breakfast, a normal healthy lunch, and a baby meal for dinner. Now, she is eating porridge for breakfast, a big but healthy lunch (eg. sushi trays, or teriyaki noodles) and then for dinner she'll have baked beans or a baby portion of tomato pasta. She still snacks on baby biscuits even though she's not properly on the diet anymore, it's kind of cute. But yeah she looks great and hasn't gained any weight back because your stomach shrinks on this diet (it teaches you portion control) and it's harder to start eating larger portions again. I think it also cleans out your digestive system so you don't bloat so easily.

From what I've seen this works, so I wouldn't mind trying it. I think it's also harder to gain back the weight afterwards than you think - the hard part is getting it off! It might take a while but you have to be patient, stress is really bad when it comes to weight loss and the longer it takes generally the longer it will stay off.

posted Dec 2nd, 2011 12:01 am


Sophie

This is my second day. I have one tub for breakfast, one for morning tea and for lunch I have a tub, handful of nuts and a raw salad. (I rip the labels off at work) for dinner 1-2 tubs. I don't feel hungry during the day at night I do but i noticed a difference after the first day so it's my motivation to stick to it.

posted Oct 20th, 2011 7:25 pm


Stephen

I am considering going on baby food diet as im kinda lazy in the sense of excersizing and due to my job im working late nights then sleeping. the baby food diet seems good and am willing to try it to lose just a few lbs, its mainly on my belly..... i ont know how to start or what to do plus im a fussy eater..... i have tried baby foods before such as spag bol and liked it but wont eat "adult" spag bol......then there is the complication of what jars to buy? how many? what stage am i? etc etc etc........ but alas!!!!

I have found a baby food meal planner online on the hipp website..... this is what i have been looking for in terms of what and when etc.......
I have looked at all the meal plans for each month baby stage... looks good ....somewhere to start.
hope this helps others.....

posted Oct 13th, 2011 9:46 am


rebecca

first day of baby food diet, only ate one mixed fruit 80 cal jar and drank a 10 cal vitamin water.. feeling very weak going to do some exercises

posted Oct 11th, 2011 6:15 pm


angel

i started this diet today...having a 1st meal which is breakfast porridge and not bad at all.... i likeeee

posted Oct 10th, 2011 4:24 am


angel

ohh i like this diet but some one whi lost about 8 pounds in a week can you pls wrte the full day meal plan pls so i knw were m doing wrong if i am....n i cnt waitttt to start on mon after the weekend..x

posted Oct 7th, 2011 10:51 am


NIchi

I just had my first jar of peas last night. I must say after I doctored on it, it wasn't bad. I'll continue this for awhile because I've been a vegetarian since 02/11 and its so hard to find different meals. My son is a football player who eats fries, chicken, meatloaf, chicken alfredo etc. and then I have to cook something else for myself. Its hard!!! So right now, baby food will be my dinner. I'm sure to get the nutrients that I'm missing from not eating meat.

posted Sep 28th, 2011 12:40 pm


Mar

This makes me soooo sad! People need to stop being stupid about their diets. I mean seriously whole healthy foods, move around, and incorporate a green smoothie into ur daily diet. HYDRATE! fruit and veggies are ur friends :-)
Your bodies are going to give up on y'all. People you were all born with brains... Use them. And I get it, it's frustrating to lose weight and maintain it but this isn't the solution! Hollywood is about extremes, attention and silliness! I don't think you should follow the dramatic ones.

posted Sep 23rd, 2011 3:51 pm


verna

On the baby food diet, what size of jar should you buy? what size of jar 4 oz not sure - is t gerber and any kind

posted Sep 11th, 2011 9:13 pm


chel5eylynne

DAY 3- 128.5 lbs
No exercise yesterday as I was busy on the run. I did however squeeze in a half hour walk with the dog. Ate delicious Basa filet for dinner with mixed veggies covered in a tomato sauce. I fit in a perfect 1200 calories yesterday. Still feel great.

posted Sep 7th, 2011 3:19 pm


chel5eylynne

DAY 2- 129.5 lbs
Lost the water weight, which always makes me feel good when I see the definition returning. I felt full all day yesterday and consumed just under 1200 calories.

Yesterday's Exercise: interval run (7 rounds of 400 meter sprints followed by walking for recovery) and prisoner lunges (3 sets of 20)

My solid meal will be grilled fish with steamed broccoli tonight.

Best wishes!
Chelsey

posted Sep 6th, 2011 10:06 am


chel5eylynne

DAY 1- 132 lbs
I'm starting this for a second time (got interrupted by a vacation, and frankly having fun enjoying summer is very important to me). I had a ton of success the first time and found it easy to do, but difficult to explain to family and friends who thought I was going a bit overboard and didn't need to lose any weight. You'll find that even slim people can lose a ton of weight on this diet if done correctly.

Fave baby foods: Butternut squash, chicken rice and veggie blends, spaghetti and tomato paste, fruit and veggie blends, blueberry banana, vegetables and beef.

In my opinion I'd rather drink salt water (unpleasant) than eat the carrots or peas baby mush. GAG.

One difficulty I had was the constipation that hits around day 5. I am overcoming this by sprinkling Benefibre on the food and ensuring my one "adult" meal each day contains a ton of fibrous vegetables.

It's also essential that you don't dip below 1200 calories as your body will enter starvation mode and refuse to part with the fat, which is counter productive. Planning is the key to ensuring you eat enough jars. I like to write a quick note about the calories consumed as the day goes along (40, 70, 60, 70, etc) so when dinner hits you know what you need to eat to hit 1200. Some days I just crave my scrambled eggs and choose breakfast as my real meal instead.

I will weigh in each day and let you know how I'm feeling. Each day will also include some sort of exercise which I will post in great detail.

Best wishes!
-Chelsey

posted Sep 5th, 2011 1:56 pm


CrystalCat55

I heard about the diet, and decided to give it a try. No harm no foul. Right? I am 5'7" start weight of 149lbs which includes the 8 lbs 'laying in the sunshine by the pool with a margarita' weight I've gained over the last two months of summer slacking. Over the course of one week, I lost 6 lbs. The ONLY exercise I did was mowing the half acre lawn (something I typically pay someone to do) and a handful of extra trips up and down the stairs (to retrieve my baby food snacks of course).

Jar total: Aprox 10 for me..
Cost total: aprox $10 a day
Hunger Meter: -0- I never felt hungry, but why would I when I'm essentially eating all day.

The variety available with this diet is quite nice. As a first time a little trick I thought up was to buy baby graham crackers because of all the reviews that screamed 'I just wanna CHEW!!' . After being on the diet for a hot second, I realizes anyone who whines about the lack of mouth movement, obviously didnt go on the diet for more than a jar of puree. Because there are soooo many different option in the baby food isle, and plenty of them (toddler meals, step 2, etc) allow for jowl movement.

In the mornings I opted for my usual coffee, and a 'buddies' peaches oatmeal (or apple/cinnamon). Heat for 20 seconds and it's rather delicious. Oh, and you can CHEW it. About an hour after I would enjoy a jar of puree fruit, be it pears, peaches, etc along with a yogurt. Typical lunch for me takes place aprx 2 hours later where I have 3 more jars (if you are keeping count I'm up to 6 baby delicacies) and it's only 11am. Jars of whatever for snacks anytime I got bored or hungry (which is when I tend to graze the most) and then by 4pm I was enjoying a Gerber ravioli bowl (who says you cant chew on the baby food diet again? LIES!) with a side of pureed mango/carrots/squash (also fairly delicious).. another jar snack around 5pm and a normal ADULT dinner with my family. By dinner time I noticed I've already tricked my stomach into portion control as I watch my husband chow down a plate of (insert random dinner here) all the while I'm full in under 10 bites. Not bad, not bad. Partially when he's holding his belly, "Oy I'm soo full" and I'm braiding my hair, "Hey Babe, want to watch a movie?"

This diet was simple and convenient. However expensive, so I would much recommend it to the person who doesnt have time/motivation to work out, for a quick fix on a couple extra lbs that need to be shed. The first 3 lbs I lost in just 2 days, and note I dont eat that bad to begin with. Something you do need for this fad diet, is WILL POWER. I have two kids and a husband who were eating all sorts of yummies around me. Matter of a fact, my jar count may have been lower if I didnt feel a need to snack on SOMETHING, ANYTHING, watching my family members chow down on their meals and snacks. So one thing to be sure of is not dropping below the 1200 calorie range. If you do find yourself eating less than 10 jars by dinner, make that dinner a GOOD one! Have I mentioned the super cool fact that you can chill, heat, or eat at room temp? Road trip? No problemo! This diet caters!

Long story short: One week of the Baby Food Diet, and you're sure to be a hit at whatever exciting function you have coming in your immediate schedule. You'll trick your tum-tum into yelping "I'm Full!" in time for you to put the fork down, and hopefully gain the courage to resists those ewwy-gooey brownies you had to bake for your son's 2nd grade class. (Ha! Who am I kidding, schools dont allow home baked goods anymore) More than a week and you're gonna go broke, unless of course you're Jennifer Aniston.

ENJOY!

posted Aug 14th, 2011 9:41 am


Jordy

When I had my wisdom teeth removed last spring I got a terrible infection, so all I could eat was baby food and yogurt for 2 and a half weeks. I lost 5 pounds :)

posted Aug 10th, 2011 9:13 pm



Jetta21

I would think one of the best things this diet offers is portion control. Do you find that is true? Also, since the food is more bland than, say, garlic fries, I would think it would be easier to stop when you are satisfied but not bloated-full. It might be a way to battle cravings - has anyone found that to be true?

posted Jul 29th, 2011 4:37 pm


stacey hyde

do you have any els to eat apart from baby food

posted Jul 14th, 2011 11:59 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account