Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 122 reviews
Baby Food Diet

Baby Food Diet Review: Does it Work?

Hollywood's newest weight loss diet comes in tiny little jars.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Baby Food Diet is a fad diet where one eats baby food to help keep one’s weight maintained. It’s not specifically made for weight loss however, and the rules on what one needs to follow are not well explained.

One to two meals or even a snack are to be substituted with jars of baby food, which have around 20 to 100 calories per jar depending on the brand and kind of food. Finding information about this diet is difficult as there are a few variations. Our experts have rated countless diets and have confirmed that the most effective solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It offers a meal replacement and diet pill that have combined fat loss effects. Both are made free of stimulants, artificial ingredients, binders, fillers, or unwanted additives. More information about the 18Shake Diet can be read about in the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Baby FoodDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

Since the foods one will be eating will be baby food, the kinds ofingredients found depend on the specific brand. There are many kinds of baby food, and this can include vegetable based or fruit based foods. Typically these foods are free of preservatives or any additives they’re typically natural whole foods which have been mushed to be made easy to eat. Click the link here to see a top 10 list of the highest ranked diets for weight loss.

The kinds of foods and standards one website recommends are:

         • Some meats such as turkey, beef, and chicken.

         • Pureed vegetables and fruits.

         • Up to 14 jars a day to replace 2 meals.

Typically one can eat many jars of baby food since they have much less calories, protein, and fiber. There also can be issues with not getting adequate nutrition, as Web MD mentions:

“Replacing meals with baby food could result in nutritional imbalances and getting very few calories”

They also discuss whether or not it will be satisfying as a full meal:

“may find your stomach grumbling after a “meal” on this diet”

This is also not a long term solution for weight loss. It can be potentially unhealthy and unsafe for a person to continue eating these kinds of foods. This is why this diet has been described as a fad diet and it isn’t intended to be used for a long time.

Web MD also adds this:

“just like a baby, it won’t be long before you outgrow this diet and start to gain weight”

Continuing this diet can be difficult as well as the variety of foods is limited, and it can become boring to have to eat the same kinds of foods. The texture is also an issue, as pureed foods aren’t very satisfying to have to keep eating. For a comprehensive list of the 10 best diet plans click the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Baby Food Diet Quality of Ingredients

The overall quality of the ingredients you choose depends on the specific brands. Some baby food brands actually contain added sugars, preservatives, and potential weight increasing ingredients.

Some labels of baby foods included ingredients such as:

         • Sugar (sucrose)

         • Mono and diglycerides

         • Corn Syrup

         • Artificial flavors.

Overall, this diet has been ranked poorly according to Web MD who adds:

“It would be fat better to look into another eating plan that you can stick with and not quickly grow out of”

Not all baby food is considered healthy either. The nutritional needs of a baby are far different than an adult, so this can make for deficiencies and issues. Babies receive much less calories and their vitamins and minerals are rationed out differently through the day. Adults need much more in order to sustain themselves, this is why there is a difference between adult and baby food.

No support or guidance is offered either, the diet has been said to been used by the actress Jennifer Aniston, but no proof into what kinds of effects this may have on health are offered anywhere.

The Price and Quality of Baby Food Diet

The cost of having to purchase baby food can become expensive. As Web MD mentions:

“Costs may add up quickly too, depending on how many jars a day you will be eating”

For example, a 12 pack of single servingyogurt smoothie featured on Walmart sells for $20.41. A 12 count of 4 oz. each baby food also sells for $11.85 on the same site. Considering one has to eat around 14 jars a day, this can be incredibly costly. One can also make their own baby food if they puree and mash their own ingredients, but the ratio of ingredients can depend on the brand of baby food one is trying to copy.

The portion sizes are small as well; 4 ounces would not be considered a snack for most people. The comprehensive top 10 list has the highest rated diet plans available now.

Business of Baby Food Diet

There are many different brands for baby food and determining the overall quality depends on the specific nutrition facts label. The creator of the diet is Tracy Anderson, a fitness trainer for many celebrities. However, she has since stopped promoting this diet for unknown reasons. 

There are many websites which explain the Baby Food Diet, and each one has their own take. There’s not one specific source for this diet. The only information which is universal is that one should replace meals with a few jars of baby food of one’s choosing. There are no additional tips or suggestions made by websites which promote this diet.

This is why many who have tried to learn more about this plan have found it confusing. There are often questions about how to start, or what considerations should be made.

Some suggest eating 14 servings and replacing two meals a day for as long as one needs to. Though none mention it’s a weight loss diet, it’s intended for maintenance of weight. Without an official guide it can be difficult to understand the limitations and standards needed to follow this diet.  Click the link here for a comprehensive top 10 list of diet plans.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Baby Food Diet

Here are some reviews from users who have tried the Baby Food Diet:

“this is really bad!... As soon as you break from the diet your body will pack the pounds and try to store as much as it can”

“didn’t work in the slightest… was on it for about 2 days and I ended up being sick everywhere”

“This baby food just goes right through you”

“Please seek other means of weight loss, this is a terrible diet”

There were many complaints against this diet, and people were uncertain about a lot of things. Since information on the diet is limited without an official guide, many found it impossible to start. Those that made sure to eat many jars of baby food said that it was difficult to continue, and that it left them unsatisfied.

Side effects such as indigestion, diarrhea, and frequent bathroom usage were also listed.  Some found it impossible to continue this diet without feeling fatigued. Overall, there were many major criticisms. The link cited here has a list of the highest rated top 10 diet plans.

People who tried this diet were also concerned over their health, as the amounts of vitamins and minerals aren’t the same in baby food as they would be in a standard meal.

Conclusion - Does Baby Food Diet Work?

The Baby Food Diet has no official guide, and information about what’srequired is limited. By replacing meals with baby foods the intention is to help keep one’s weight stable. While there are fewer calories in baby food, it’s also expensive and does not have the same nutritional density as adult foods have. The majority of users have also had criticisms saying it wasn’t satisfying, appetizing, or at all possible to continue long term. Some had issues with side effects such as digestive issues and fatigue. There’s also been concern from medical sites such as Web MD has confirmed it’s just another fad diet. No science has proven this diet to be effective and safe, and it seems highly unlikely this diet would be safe or effective.

verall weight loss benefits is the 18Shake Diet.It combines a meal replacement shake and a diet pill made to suppress appetite, boost mood, burn calories, and provide many other weight loss benefits. Many customers have left positive testimonials showcasing their own weight loss benefits. Both the meal replacement and diet pill have only natural ingredients free of stimulants, binders, fillers, artificial flavors, artificial colors, or any cheap unwanted additives.

18Shake is also fullybacked by a 30 day return policy. One can make a return with no questions asked within the full 30 days. To discover more information about the 18Shake Diet follow the link provided here.

How Does Baby Food Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Baby Food Diet
  • 44 /100

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 11 of 12, 221 total comments)



babyfood is disgusting, whole foods are so much better for you and more enjoyable.

posted Jan 24th, 2009 1:45 am



I've been following this diet for the past two weeks and have already dropped 4 pounds! I have slim-fast for breakfast, a jar of baby food as a snack, a slim-fast bar and a jar of baby food for lunch, and another jar of baby food as a snack. I eat WHATEVER I want for dinner, BUT I now put my dinner on a smaller plate to make the food look bigger. I'm even more motivated to lose weight now and have started exercising this past week too! My only problem is drinking water, but I'm working on that. :) Since I pretty much eat the baby food as snacks, I think it's going to be pretty easy to stick with it. I don't miss my chips or granola bars at all!

posted Jan 19th, 2009 1:34 pm



i liked this, i have health problems and can't stand very long to be able to cook so i would like to try this diet

posted Jan 2nd, 2009 11:49 am

mary walker


are you kiding me baby food. has no tast and i will not do a diet that controls me. I dont exercise like I should but i changed my eating habits and eat lean cuisine and have lost 40lbs in almost 3 months.

why eat mush when it just takes a little change. baby food ? uhhhh no.

posted Dec 26th, 2008 9:43 am



I'M SO HUNGRY SO HUNGRY SO VERY VERY HUNGRY. I want something for my lunch, something I can munch, I'm so very very hungry.

posted Dec 25th, 2008 7:44 am

jessica lopez


i thought it worked great
i lost 35 pounds
in one month.
you should really try
it works and im living proof!!

posted Dec 19th, 2008 5:19 pm



Okay... so I am the same one who wrote way back in september when i had first decided to try this diet and i thought i would check back in ... The diet is not sooo bad.. the first few days i was really hungry but i was eating 1 babyfood for breakfast, a salad and baby food for lunch, and one baby food for dinner, i cut out all junk food and sweets, after the first few days i didnt feel as hungry, my body did ajust, but after 3 weeks i had lost 15 lbs and i was feeling proud of myself but i also missed real food.. this diet takes ALOT of discipline.. well i was getting very bored and ready to say SCREW THIS... please remember my start weight was just a little over 180 lbs 184 to be exact and it did help but i have a looooooong way to go to get to my goal weight and this is not a good diet for long term... so now. i have switched it up some.. i do a baby food before i leave for work at 7, a slim fast shake at 9 30, a side salad or a soup at hand, sometimes a half of a chicken lunchmeat sandwich ... i just do something very light, then at last break at work i feel hungry again so i will have another baby food.. and then a very light dinner or a slim fast shake.. if i'm hungry i will snack on something light or fruity... or i will just have an extra baby food. and i'm still losing weight.. i feel much fuller.. and i'm eating real food for lunch.. its not full of fat but its still something solid so i dont feel like im having JUST babyfood.. and i will say having a shake or something in the morning really does help you feel fuller and more satisfied the rest of the day

posted Dec 10th, 2008 6:07 pm



I have been eating baby food for 3 days now and I thought I would see if other people did it on purpose! I have been sick for a month and out of desperation to help me my mom thought she would grab some baby food and see if I could keep it down. Not the best tasting stuff, but when you can't keep anything in you it is a great way to go. So far the baby food has been the only thing I can eat. I do add a pinch of salt (literally just a one little shake so it probably equals 1/8 tsp or less) and that helps the taste of the dinners. The fruits are really good, I prefer them cold. I am not sure I would recommend this as a life style change, but it works as a temporary fix if your body is out of whack with a virus. I could also see using it for lunches at work when you need something quick and nutritious. I know I don't always have alot of time for lunch so quick and easy is great! I am going to research some more and see if more people use this for IBS or SIBO.

posted Dec 4th, 2008 12:19 pm



I feel sorry for you girls. Diet should not be temporary fix to lose weight. You should make a lifetime change to eat healthy and exercise. Will you lose weight, yes of course due to severe calorie deficit. Eventually your body will stop losing weight and you'll put back on the pounds. No one in real life could be this disciplined to eat this way the rest of their lives. It's a shame that celebs bring such awful diets into popularity. You all need to eat veggies, fruits, lean meats, etc and lift weights and do some cardio. Eat, your body will thank you for it. I'm eating 2500 a day and more and I'm losing weight. but I also work out daily and strength train. I don't consider it a diet, I consider it a lifestyle. Please seek other means of weight loss, this is a terrible diet.

posted Nov 29th, 2008 10:10 am



I too, ran across some baby food in the aisle one day last week and thought, "apples and blueberries?", "in this little jar??", "for 40 cents???" - "that's a good deal, and I'm getting apples and blueberries all-in-one."
As an athlete, I eat the "oatmeal and apples", "apples, pears, and bananas", and "apples and blueberries", to supplement my diet, lose a few pounds, and stay in shape.
You get alot of vitamins and this is a great way to lose weight. I usually eat in the morning and at night, and eat a couple of normal meals throughout the day.
If you have any questions, email me

posted Nov 7th, 2008 10:34 am

Sam Robinson


i really like this diet. it was realy dealicios and i got alot of weight of myself 500lbs. what i really enjoyed was everybody laughing at me when i got the pot out. Cor this is a good diet.

posted Nov 6th, 2008 5:44 am

Sam Robinson


i really like this diet. it was realy dealicios and i got alot of weight of myself 500lbs. what i really enjoyed was everybody laughing at me when i got the pot out. Cor this is a good diet.

posted Nov 6th, 2008 5:44 am

felice kaplan


I'm starting tomorrow like every diet but no I purchased my baby food and a month from tomorrow I'll let you know how how I lost. What have I got to lose, hopefully alot of weight

posted Oct 13th, 2008 6:12 pm


This is so funny that i found this. Yesterday where i live we had really bad weather from hurricane ike.. lots of wind, and lots of places lost power, so just in case we lost ours i went to the grocery store. I have been struggling with my weight. i am carrying 180 lbs on my 5 foot frame and i am having such a hard time. while i was shopping i came across the baby food aisle and thought... hmmm that would be such a convenienct snack.. and i really dont mind the taste either... and i bought some.. then while im at work today i decided to see how many other ppl to this and google it to find that it is actually quite popular to my surprise.. im going to try to work it into my diet and see how it works..

posted Sep 15th, 2008 5:07 pm


I went on this diet 10 years ago. I lost 200 lbs. in 2 years. It was very hard for the first 4 months but after that my body got used to it. I ate 1 meat, 1veg, and 1 fruit for breakfast lunch and dinner. Sometimes I added spices to the babyfood and warmed it up as this added to the taste. It is a very simple diet for a person like me who does not have time to count calories or think about what I need to eat. A couple of jars fitted easily in my purse and I could eat whenever I got hungry. It is also easy on the digestive tract (I have IBS) and I found that when I wasn't so 'gassy' I wasn't as 'hungry'. I also found however that I needed to eat oatmeal for breakfast for its roughage as babyfood will not give you the roughage you need to eliminate properly. I recommend this diet for its nutritious value, but not for long periods of time.

posted Sep 8th, 2008 7:25 am

Julieanna Lenihan

I did this diet after I had my son. I stayed on it for 2 months and lost 32lbs. It really works. The first two days are hard but after that it's easy. It's healthy too. My mother swears by it.

posted Jun 30th, 2008 9:56 am


This diet has been around for a long time, and it may have been invented by a carnival side show "fat lady" whose show name was Dolly Dimples. She lost 443 lbs in 14 months eating only baby food.

posted Jun 23rd, 2008 10:06 am


i started this diet a very long time ago. you have to be disciplined. i ate 2 bottles during the day and at lunch. i would eat a early dinner of steamed fish. you need to remember that there is a lack of protein. i lost about 20 pounds.

posted Jun 21st, 2008 7:55 am


i am starting the babyfood diet this week i will be eating only babyfood during the day then a light dinner i will keep you up to date on how much i loose if you would like?

posted Jun 7th, 2008 10:27 pm


does anybody know how much yo can lose on this? if anyone has any information please contact me at bibwit@hotmail.com anything and everything is much appreciated. thank you.

posted Apr 8th, 2008 9:34 am


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account


BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Update: Jennifer Aniston & Reese Witherspoon on Baby Food Diet

The latest fad to hit body-crazed Hollywood is the Baby Food Diet. Yep, you guessed it, noshing on jars of mashed sweet potatoes and gloppy bananas is the newest trend that makes you question if Hollywood is suffering a need to regress and feel younger (much younger!) or if there is something nutritiously beneficial to spooning down jars of the glassed stuff? You'll hear about Jennifer Aniston, Reese Witherspoon and even some of the Desperate Housewives hitting a jar of baby food to ease cravings.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

  • Baby food is free of additives, pure and full of vitamins
  • Portions are small enough to control cravings and avoid the temptation to overeat
  • Many selections are gluten-free for those on a gluten-free diet
  • Organic varieties available
  • Broad variety of flavors

  • Small portions could lead to a binge later on
  • Taste is bland -Since very little chewing is involved, satiety might not be achieved

There are no specific guidelines that have been created yet for The Baby Food Diet . In time, your local bookstore will carry a guide on how to lose weight by subsisting on baby food. For now, the requirements are:

The dieter eats either all baby food or eats one adult meal and baby food for the rest of the day. Since babies' digestive systems are so young and innocent, most baby food that you'll find at the grocery store is free of added fats, fillers and other additives. Organic baby food is also lining the shelves so you can be sure that the mushy stuff you're eating does not contain genetically-modified ingredients, growth hormones, or antibiotics.


Since The Baby Food is more of a trend right now rather than a specific guideline, no exercise recommendations have been put forth. But as reality and science has shown us, the more you expend and the less you consume, you will shed the pounds.


The Baby Food Diet is likely to inspire some good chuckles and grimaces as its popularity grows. From a nutritional perspective, the diet is clearly packed with veggies and fruits and thereby full of vitamins and minerals; and it does have the portion control element going for it too. As for its long-term ability to keep off any lost pounds? That still remains to be seen.

Common Misspellings

Baby-food, babyfood

Related Diets: Celebrity Juice Diet, Hollywood Miracle Diet, VF Smoothie

Whats better than
Baby Food Diet?