Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 72 reviews

Adipex-P

The active ingredient in the prescription diet pill Phentermine.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Adipex Phentermine (Adipex P) diet pill is a prescription diet pill that is used to help people lose weight who are obese (have a Body Mass Index of 30 or higher) or have serious health risks due to their size. It is more commonly known by the brand name Phentermine. It works as an appetite suppressant. It is taken in conjunction with certain food requirements and an exercise program. Adipex P is only used for a few weeks (less than 12 weeks) since its effectiveness decreases with prolonged use.

The drug is taken one time each day either in the morning or 10 hours before bedtime, because of its known effects of interrupting sleep.

You should take Adipex P only and exactly how it was directed to you by your physician.

PRO
  • Prescription Phentermine has been approved by the FDA
  • Clinically shown to aid in weight loss in obese individuals
CON
  • Long-term use can cause irritability, skin problems or sleeping difficulties
  • Can become addictive
  • Various and numerous side effects are associated with Adipex
  • Be sure to read the lengthy disclaimer regarding health conditions that do not support taking Adipex P, such as high blood pressure, anxiety or heart disease
  • Side effects include raising blood pressure and heart rate
DIET and NUTRITION

While taking Adipex P, you are to follow a sound diet of balanced meals and snacks. You are also to avoid alcohol while you are taking this drug. The drug is most effective when it is accompanied by a healthy, balanced diet and regular exercise regimen.

EXERCISE

It is recommended to follow a regular exercise routine when taking Adipex P. Be sure to discuss with your physician first and get his or her approval. Given the stimulating effects of Adipex P and its effect of raising heart rate and elevating blood pressure, following an exercise plan that has been suggested by your doctor is highly recommended.

CONCLUSION

Adipex P is a prescription weight loss drug that may help in weight loss, but it also comes with a host of side effects and risks. Since it can only be used for a small amount of time, the individual is then responsible for learning how to eat sensibly once the prescribed amount of time for taking the drug is complete. Given its side effects, its drug interactions and its risk for addiction, Adipex P must be taken under the guidance and observation of a medical doctor.

Common Misspellings

addipecks, adipiex, addipicks, fentermine, fentirmine, phentrimine, phentermine


Related Diets: Fastin, Phentermine, Phentralene, Phentramine, Phentremine


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 6, 108 total comments)

Jen

Its been 9 days and 11 lbs off..Im ecstatic...My doctor has me on a 1200 calorie diet if Im lucky I can consume 800..Im never hungry and sometimes forget to eat..its not giving me the energy but just found out my intestines dont absorb b-12..so now I have to give myself b12 shots daily so I think it will help with the energy..I am working out an hour every other day..I want to lose at the least 35 more lbs.

posted Nov 11th, 2009 7:57 pm



Annette Sauls

ok so I have been on this pill for a week now. I have not weighed myself since the first time at the dr. I feel so much better though and can do more things, I exercise every other day, and drink lots of water. I use to drink up to like, 3 cokes a day, I have not had one since I have been taking this pill. All I drink is water, or flavored water. I need to weigh myself but have not. I really hope this pill is working, cuz I feel like a fat a** and I dont want to feel like that anymore!!!

posted Sep 10th, 2009 3:11 pm


Unknowing

I am on the diet pills also. the best thing for everyone thats on this pill is to make sure you drink alot of water and you will see the weight melt off you. good luck everyone. and everyone wants to know how to get this pills best to go to your doctor to get it. I have ordered it off the internet its not as good as what the Dr. writes you for it. best of luck everyone.

posted Aug 12th, 2009 3:37 am


Pam

I have been on this diet pills for about 9 mo. now. I love it. I tryed everything also. nothing worked for me. I ask my doctor to give it to me and he did, I needed something to get me out of bed in the mornings. I got really depressed after mom passed away. wanted to sleep all the time. but after I got on the diet pills I can get up, do my work. and I am happy most of the time. it works if you let it. drink alot of water with it and you will lost alot faster. and good luck everyone.

posted Aug 12th, 2009 3:31 am


Lisa

only been on it two days, I def have less desire for sweets, I feel a little jittery I think I am going to try cutting the pill in half for now on. only looking to loose 15 pounds so I hope it work!

posted Jul 16th, 2009 3:19 pm


John

I took 2, 2 month regimines of Adipex, a year apart after a lot of weight gain due to prescibed steriods after cancer therapy. I had blown up to 255, and am now steady at 170, a very healthy weight for me. It works, if you work with it! I've maintained my weight for 1.5 years now and don't see any reason that I'm going to gain it back. To the people that aren't excercising or taking the incentive to learn how to eat appropriately, YOU ARE GOING TO FAIL! That sucks, but as soon as you stop taking the pill, it's all going to come right back! PLEASE, for the people who say you don't have time to excercise and eat right....you do, you just don't want to make time! Your life and health should be your priority, this pill is a boost in the right direction, not a long term solution to your bad habits! Evaluate what made you gain the weight in the first place, if that doesn't change, a little pill is not the magic solution!

posted Jun 24th, 2009 10:42 am


E.Vessechia

I started taking adipex just 2 months ago. I don't have much time to exercise, I wish I did. I walk more that anything, which is still better than nothing. I have lost 29lbs. since Ive been taking it. I weighed 179 before both kids and 242 after. Huge gain. I was very unhappy. I love this pill. I could only imagine how much I would have lost if I'd been exercsing. I have one more month left to take it. I walk a lot and am a lot more active that I was before. I started exercising last week, so hopefully by the time I have to give it up, I will be under 200. I know you have to be off of it for 3 months, then you can go back on. If I gain any of the weight I lost once I have to stop, I will gladly get back on it. I hope I dont. I will continue to exercise and walk!

posted May 2nd, 2009 10:47 pm


ms. C

I have tried all sorts of diets but had no luck due to being hypoglycemic. Normally when I would start a diet my sugar would start acting up and I would have to eat. I craved sweets and diet cokes and would drink at least a 2 liter diet coke a day sometimes more. In the last 3 days the taste of diet cokes are not the same and I have not even drank 1/2 a 2-liter in 3 days. water,water and more water... I have been on adipex-p for 3 days now and i feel great. No more cravings for sweets it is fruit now. I have not had the first sugar attack yet. So I highly recommend this for anyone that has the same condition.
My doctor gave me a diet plan that he likes his patients to go by, 1200 calories a day, I don't even know if i eat that much or not because i don't feel hungry. He also said for me to walk for 40 minutes per day . Don't know exactly how much i have lost but i can see a difference. i started walking 1.5 miles the first day and have doubled that. I feel like getting out and doing things now. I started out at 207 pounds and my goal is 175. But 150 would be even nicer, and i think it can be done with this pill.

posted May 1st, 2009 4:23 pm


Jeanie

So I went for my 1st weigh in and after 1 month lost 11 lbs!
For Samantha: I like to have a few beers myself,but as I said before to be careful with one-too many...I just try and drink no more than 3-4. We are supposed to AVOID alcohol as it may increase side affects from this pill.

posted Apr 21st, 2009 8:43 am


wildman

32 Lbs in 1 month.
It does affect my temper negatively though.

posted Apr 19th, 2009 1:44 pm


ann

My DR. gave me adapix and I lost30lb in 3months.I know to some peolpe that not much but to me it's great.When your over wight it's like a big deal.So yes adapix works its the real thing.

posted Apr 16th, 2009 2:13 pm


samantha

Today is day one for me on Adipex. I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews about being jittery. I FEEL GREAT. No jitters at all. I felt the first symptom about 45 minutes after taking it this a.m. and that was thurst!! It's only been half a day and I have drank about 8 bottles of water!! I have one question though, has anyone had any bad side effects from drinking alcohol on it because I drink alot of beers on the weekends. What's anyones advise for me. But so far so good. I love it already

posted Apr 16th, 2009 1:04 pm


SaBriNa

I Started Taking Adipex On Saturday...Starting at 163Lbs. Now its Monday and im down to 158 i worked out Last Night And Planing on doing it the rest of the week!! So Hope it Works!!

posted Apr 13th, 2009 10:47 am


Jeanie

After my 2nd child,I weighed 173.It's been 3 weeks since I starting taking Adipex.I do like it and I know that I have lost some weight.I will know exactly how much when I go for my check-up in 1 more week.I havent exercised or even been able to eat well-balanced meals,but I do what I can and the weight has still been coming off.I have even missed a few doses.I have had some headaches,but not too bad and I will warn you NOT to drink too much alcohol when taking Adipex.I think maybe 1-2 drinks and no more at a time.I drank about 6-7 beers one night and when I woke up about 5am the next morning,I had to literally pull myself up to go and use the bathroom,then as I was walking down the hall,I mustve just fell back and passed out because when I woke,I was just laying in the hall floor not knowing how I got there and I had broke out in a coldsweat.I felt my face and it was soaking wet.I have NEVER passed out in my life before.So when I tried to stand up again,I could only do it for a few seconds before I started feeling faint again and I had to lay down to feel better.I finally went back to sleep and woke up feeling normal again.SO PLEASE AVOID drinking alcohol when taking this pill,,,that was very scary.On the other hand I love how fast and effortless this is working!

posted Apr 11th, 2009 12:11 am


Babyfat

I took Adipex the 1st time in May 08 I took it only M-F and lost about 11lbs. I quit getting it because my insurance isn't in network with the Doctor who prescribed it and the office visits required every month just weren't in my full-time college student budget...Well ended up getting a job that allowed me to afford the Dr's visit and I started the pills 3/23/09 so I'm 2 weeks into my pills and I've gone from 207 to 195 already. I have no time to exercise with still taking classes and work, but I feel great! People around me are starting to notice a difference and co-workers have made comments about how energetic and cheerful I have been. I had been thin through my teenage years and have been suffering around 200lbs since after the birth of my son...this pill is definitely giving me hope! Now if I can only find time to exercise it would be interesting to see how much I'd lose. One question though...does anyone else have the side effect that you just can't shut up you just keep talking and/or typing and it's like the words come out of your mouth before you can even think about what your saying? That and the dry mouth are the only complaints I have.

posted Apr 8th, 2009 11:18 pm


Nicole M.

PLZ TELL ME HOW I CAN GET THIS PILL!! I LIVE IN CANADA.

THX!

posted Mar 26th, 2009 2:40 pm


heath

I can not believe how much weight I have lost. I've tried everything and nothing worked. Thank God for Adipex.

posted Mar 26th, 2009 12:33 pm


sally

A friend of mine had that pill before, and we both tried it for about 15 days each.. the results wasn't that great, but my cousin had tried it and it was amazing for her... is it possible that the pill was not the real thing?

posted Mar 10th, 2009 12:22 am


nicole ramos

I love this diet pill!! SOMETHING FINALLY WORKS!! I need to find out how to get them again.I had no side effects other than a dry mouth, but who does'nt need to drink more water anyway, right?

posted Mar 7th, 2009 2:25 am


JKIRB

i just started taking adipex 2 days ago. day 1 was rough, i got really sick. but now its good. i do get hungry thru the day but i eat a little something and im instantly full. Im also following the Adipex Prescription Plus lifestyle eating program and thats really helping. I have alot more energy than i did before taking it... i could not sleep the first night on it but now it seems to be ok. i have lost 4 lbs since taking it. i think most is water weight im taking off from drinking so much water b/c of dry mouth. works though

posted Mar 3rd, 2009 3:26 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account