Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

73%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 15 reviews

Acid Alkaline Diet

Balance your body's pH for better health.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Acid-Alkaline Diet - it's not the prettiest sounding diet to roll off your tongue. And what is it, anyway?

Almost all the foods we eat either release an acid or an alkaline base (bicarbonate) into our blood. As humans began to invent modern conveniences, we changed eating habits from our so-called natural ways in our early existence, concentrating more on foods such as grains, fish, meat, dairy, and salt, which all produce acid. Proponents of The Acid-Alkaline Diet say that when we load up on excess amounts of protein, sugar, caffeine and other highly-processed foods, our pH levels are thrown off track.

Our blood is slightly alkaline naturally, with a normal pH level of between 7.35 and 7.45. The theory behind the Acid-Alkaline Diet is that our diet should reflect this pH level. Proponents believe a diet high in acid-producing foods disrupts this balance and promotes the loss of essential minerals such as potassium, magnesium, calcium, and sodium. This imbalance is believed to make people more prone to illness.

Not necessarily so for some celebrities who've adopted the diet. Victoria Beckham credits the alkaline diet with helping her maintain her sexy slender figure. Other star being connected to the diet include Gwyneth Paltrow, Jennifer Aniston and Kirsten Dunst.

PRO
  • Avoid chronic and common illnesses like the cold and flu
  • Alleviate a lack of energy
  • Reduce anxiety
  • Tends to be a less processed approach to eating
  • Vegetarian-friendly
CON
  • There are no extensive clinical trials supporting the alkaline diet and its effectiveness
DIET and NUTRITION

You'll want to eat about 70-80% alkaline foods. High to moderate alkaline foods include: broccoli sprouts, cucumbers, kale, wheat grass, parsley, pumpkin seeds, buckwheat, avocado, almonds, lima beans, soy beans, cayenne, sea salt and red chili peppers. For the remainder of your diet, foods with low acidity include: cow's milk, wild fish, black beans, chickpeas, flaxseed, pecans, cantaloupe, dates and nectarines.

The Acid-Alkaline Diet is similar in part to the Paleo Diet because of its restriction of processed foods. The removal of these items from your diet alone will let you see marked improvement in wellness, weight, energy, and even skin appearance.

EXERCISE

Since The Acid-Alkaline Diet isn't one unified diet, but a general theory, there isn't an exercise program, per se. But the book mentioned below talks about the benefits of exercise.

CONCLUSION

Since the Acid-Alkaline Diet lacks scientific backing, it's hard to fully endorse the program. That's not to say it doesn't have benefits, even if they haven't been proven scientifically. But, consult your doctor before trying the diet.

Common Misspellings

alkiline acid diet, acidic alkaline diet, acid alkaline deit, acrid alkaline diet, acid akaline diet


Related Diets: Eat Right for Your Type, Blood Type diet, pH Balance Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 28 total comments)

Teri

Why my PH for nomal levels on this Alkaline is diffecult, but Atkins with more protein works better for PH I'm having a difficult time with keeping my body's PH 7.3 It tends to dip in around 6.0. Now when I have more protein diet, my PH goes up higher where it should be. So if I eat what you suggest, I have difficult time. When Atkins diet the PH is past 7.8? why?

posted Nov 18th, 2013 7:52 pm


jasbirathwa

please give me detail Alkaline water human body minimum required of ph in water & alkaline water better then ro water.

posted Jul 13th, 2012 12:30 pm


Dottie Gingras

I have just started Alakline my body, I have been feeling better. I have a long ways to go so thumbs- up. Dottie

posted May 22nd, 2012 4:57 pm


kaitb

I've seen this diet not targeting the blood ph, rather the ph of the digestive tract. I guess the idea of having an alkaline ph in your digestive tract is that beneficial bacteria will be able to survive better and malignant will not. I haven't read Dr (or whatever) Young's books, but I'm wondering if the focus on the blood ph is kind of mistaken.

posted Jan 3rd, 2012 2:35 am


Brad

@Larry: blood's ph does change. however, it's not like it can go 1 degree up or down.

now, this is a good enough reason for you to know that because both acidosis and alkalosis are deadly, having the slightest acidic blood for a long period of time can harm. why? many reasons. i give you 1, you do the research if it's not good enough for you: %85 of the ions used to keep your slightly acidic blood neutral is borrowed from your bones. hence, calcium deficiency and arthritis becomes likely. Satisfied?

posted Aug 30th, 2011 12:05 am


Larry

If there are proper scientific trials, state where they are!
Here is the problem!
Advocates keep stating the pHof the bloodm which the critics have studies to show it never changes. When does your blood ever ache, hurt or not feel good?
It's our tissues that become alkaline or acidic!
Blood is like a garden hose where the amount of water in it never changes but it can still deliver lots of water to your lawn.

posted Aug 22nd, 2011 8:27 am


Ann

I read Dr. Youngs book and it made sense. I tried the diet and lost weight fast and felt better right away. Reading The Ph Miracle changed my life.

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 9:59 pm


Josh

addendum. I don't know the reliability of this source, the "National Council on Health Fraud" (which is not governmental. it's a non-profit), but here's there comment on Young, as well as references to discussions by Quackwatch.

http://www.ncahf.org/digest05/05-14.html

"Dr." Robert O. Young lacks legitimate credentials. A recent e-mail response to a query addressed to the Web address of Robert O. Young, co-author of The Ph Miracle, indicated that he does not have a graduate degree from a school accredited by a recognized accrediting agency. According to the sender, Young's credentials include: "M.S. Nutrition" (1993); "D.Sc. Science" (1995); "Ph.D., Nutrition" (1997); and "N.D. (Naturopathic Doctor" (1999). All were issued by the American Holistic College of Nutrition in Birmingham Alabama, which is a nonaccredited correspondence school. Young claims that health depends primarily on proper balance between an alkaline and acid environment that can be optimized by eating certain foods. These claims are false. [Mirkin G. Acid/Alkaline Theory of Disease Is Nonsense. Quackwatch, Feb 6, 2003] Young's Web site states that he "has been widely recognized as one of the top research scientists in the world," and his book states that he "has gained national recognition for his research into diabetes, cancer, leukemia, and AIDS." However, neither the e-mail message nor a Medline search for "Young RO" identifies any articles authored by him that were published in a recognized scientific journal.

In addition to writing, Young offers educational retreats that include a private blood cell analysis and "nutritional consultation" at his 45-acre estate in Valley Center, California. In 1996, under a plea bargain, Young pleaded guilty to a misdemeanor charge of attempted practice of medicine without a license and was promised that the charge would be dismissed if he stayed out of trouble for 18 months. [Herbalist in Alpine pleads guilty to reduced charge. Deseret News (Salt Lake City), Feb 5, 1996] Young claimed that he had looked at blood samples from two women and simply gave them nutritional advice. The blood test he advocates has no scientific validity. [Barrett S. Live blood cell analysis: Another gimmick to sell you something, Quackwatch, Feb 23, 2005]

posted Feb 15th, 2011 2:59 pm


Josh

Joe (May 4th, 2010),

I found no scientific articles by any of these authors that pertain to the subject matter. Maybe someone can give a google scholar search to find what I've missed.

Of course it's great to eat vegetables.
(Also, thank you Julie (Nov 2nd, 2009))

posted Feb 15th, 2011 2:18 pm


Tommy L

PLEASE - cite your sources for studies, observations etc. that are pro/con. Attestations that "There are so many scientific research papers that support this diet . . ." do no good unless properly cited.




posted Jan 26th, 2011 12:21 am


Jenna

Anyone notice that all the people who give this "diet" a thumbs down haven't actually tried it? They've only done research/read about it. And the people who give it a thumbs up have tried it and feel significantly better...interesting.

posted Jan 19th, 2011 4:49 am


Shirley Cuban

As a 73yo I can tell you that the blood type diet made a huge difference for good health. However, I started to experience "nerve inflammation" (very painful). Will test the acid/alkaline diet. I have been eating oatmeal daily (lots of it) and will change to buckwheat. cannot tolerate fruit and notice an immediate reaction after eating.

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 6:22 pm


deb

All spins off of Dr Atkins diet that everyone wanted to blast. All he preached was stay off of carbs for the fist pahse . then he reintroduced them slowly to see how many your bod could handle. He never said to eat a a He was the innovator!!!

posted Dec 23rd, 2010 12:45 am


Zev

Research can be biased, remember Chromium? It has it's uses, then became a big fad until a scientific study published that stated too much can kill you, fad stopped. That study was feeding a lab mouse 600 X it's weight in chromium and it died. Hmm... The diet is very healthy, however it takes a lifestyle change to make any diet completely effective. Oh....and Yes I have my Masters in Nutritional Sciences and you don't need that to know eating a diet rich in vegetables and fruits while going scarce on sugar and processed foods is good for you.

posted Jun 17th, 2010 6:16 pm


Kay

There IS in fact science behind low-acid eating. For a great summary of all the research, I recommend "Building Bone Vitality," by Amy Lanou, PhD. I read it for help with osteoporosis (too much protein creates acid, pulls calcium from bone), but the info on the scientific studies about acid/alkaline balance is excellent. And it emphasizes pH BALANCE more than eliminating food groups, though it does make me think more positively about vegetarian diets.

posted Jun 17th, 2010 9:44 am


Joe

You are dead wrong in writing that there is not scientific backing, there is actually a ton. Some done by Dr. Alex Guerrero and the original doctor is Dr. Neil Solomon of John's Hopkins University and now even Dr. Robert Young. There is so much evidence supporting this lifestyle it makes you wonder why anyone wouldn't eat this way.

posted May 4th, 2010 4:10 pm


Magcio

I am a trained dietitian and i have been searching for serious ivestigations on web pages like pubmed or serious science journals...there is nothing about this diet and besides, as someone says before...the body has in control his blood pH, when it changes a little bit, your body is able to control it, and nothing is wrong or disbalanced in you, but when the pH changes drastically it turns into a body state known as acidosis or alkalosis (the alkalosis can be also dangerous for the body) and you have to receive medical treatment for this.

posted Mar 12th, 2010 6:33 pm


Michele Paige

The point is to never eat bad carbs ever again as they are just plain bad for your body. Therefore, you won't gain the weight back! That's the problem with most yo you dieters. They get thin, then go back to the bad food that made them fat to begin with! No matter how you look at it, it's a choice to change your lifestyle.

posted Mar 3rd, 2010 3:01 pm


Ross

There are so many scientific research papers that support this diet - people who say 'There's no research' haven't even looked.

Do a simple google scholar search on alkaline minerals and you'll see what I mean - hundreds of articles to show that eating and supplementing with alkalising substances promotes bone health, digestion, athletic performance and helps fight degenerative disease.

Ross

posted Jan 20th, 2010 6:38 pm


Jonathan Levin

Works extremely well. Its a "cleansing" diet and has a strong focus on health.

I tired the diet and lost about a pound a day.

posted Dec 14th, 2009 8:20 am



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account