Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Michael Ventrella: Biggest Loser Winner

Biggest Loser Winner – Michael Ventrella

Keep up with Michael Ventrella’s journey in Biggest Loser season nine. Each week DietsInReview.com will update each contestant’s weight loss, as well as accomplishments, videos, and more.

Learn more about Michael Ventrella now!

View Michael Ventrella's Biggest Loser 9 Journey Slideshow


Age 30

Hometown Chicago, IL

Occupation Deejay

Team Color White

Teammate Maria Ventrella, mother

Starting Weight 526

Week 18 Weight 299

Total Loss -227

Family Single

Videos and Interviews

Factoids

  • Set record for most weight loss lost in week one by any contestant in history (-34 pounds) – Week 1
  • Set goal to lose 100 pounds by week six, to beat Rudy’s season 8 record. – Week 2
  • Set record for reaching 100 pound weight loss in week 7, beating Rudy’s record. – Week 7

Mini Bio

Michael grew up spending time with his father’s band, and from that became inspired by music and has been working as a mobile deejay since age 11. The exposure to large groups and crowds helped him to feel comfortable as the center of attention. At an early age, Michael began struggling with his weight. In recent years he has tried everything possible to lose weight, including dangerous over-the-counter and prescription pills, fad diet plans, expensive nutritionists, starvation and, at his most desperate attempts, inducing bulimia. Michael’s primary goals are to pursue a career in advertising and public relations, and to eventually meet the love of his life to start a family.

Factoids

  • Becomes the heaviest contestant in the show’s history

Other Spellings Mike, Micheal, Ventrela, Vetrella


Shop the Official Biggest Loser Store

DietsInReview.com is your Biggest Loser 9 resource. Sign-up now for the Biggest Loser Newsletter and each Wednesday you’ll get the most up to date information on contestants and trainers, plus Biggest Loser recipes, interviews, giveaways and more!

December 15th, 2009

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 16 total comments)

marylou

I have been a B L fan for 4 seasons.. Mike did a great job letting go of his insecurities of shopping.. he is hansome guy.. But,,,,,where are his photos. I see Ali all over the place. I would love love to see more interviews until the next season begins...

posted Jun 6th, 2010 7:56 pm


Lisa

Mike,
I saw you today on Live with Regis and Kelly and was so proud to see you did what you set out to accomplish. You are truly an inspiration and would love to see if you would like to chat. I left my email and I would love to meet you and learn a few things from your experience.
Lisa B

posted May 26th, 2010 3:07 pm


Mike

I went to high school with you Mike, and I was there the day you walked off the football team. I am glad to see you are doing well and gaining your life back! You are in inspiration to a lot of people Mike, including me... Thank you....

posted May 25th, 2010 12:56 pm


rachel

I agree, Michael, you are a total hottie! You are so inspiring and sweet, any woman would be lucky to date you! Keep up the good work!

posted May 21st, 2010 11:16 pm


Pam

I am watching this now and want to know what happened to Mike's hanging stomach ? Barely anything there. Did he get it removed while he was home ? WTF ? Thats not fair if he did...did you see him run the marathon ? Nothing there...HHHmmmmm...

posted May 18th, 2010 9:44 pm


Mint

What?!? His weight should be carried to week 17 diets in review! Why 14 when its almost week 18?!? freaks

posted May 12th, 2010 2:39 pm


Patreca

Hey Michael. You are doing so awesome don't give up now. This is the first season I have watched and I have been rooting for you the whole time. I look up to you so much in my weight struggles. I had been avoiding the scale for a long time and finally found the courage to see where I am. I know you can do it. Love you so much Mike! So SO proud of you!

posted May 12th, 2010 9:20 am


Erinn

Mike, please read this! I started at 430, I am now 260... and for a girl, 160 pounds is HUGE. I still have 110 to go, but it's you and me man.... you can do it. Much love.

posted May 11th, 2010 11:53 pm


dani

Hey Mike! I hope you read this. I know I still don't know who won yet and it doesn't matter. You are so awesome to me. I do understand what you mean when you say you don't see the finsh line but let me tell you, you are the reason I have lost 75lbs. You are my hero. I really hope you can see how much you mean to people like me. I hope you the best in your life. God bless you and your family.

posted May 11th, 2010 9:38 pm


april

Of all of this seasons contestants Mike has the most to be proud of! He gives everyone who has a long way to go inspiration.... We are proud of you Mike!

posted May 11th, 2010 9:31 pm


taina

I think Mike is HOT and getting hotter with his weight loss and confidence.

posted May 11th, 2010 8:29 pm


Christine

Michael is socially inept. I think he's a selfish jerk, especially the way he split the teams - "It's all about me." ptooey Get some class.

posted Apr 13th, 2010 11:19 pm


Tracy

I am also a fan of Michael's-- he is so good looking and getting hotter as the weeks go by! I am enjoying watching his transformation this season and look forward to seeing him win BL!

posted Apr 7th, 2010 10:52 pm


Jamie

Omg I have sucha crush on him...he's like a teddy bear! So cute and such an emotional story...he's really inspiring! Go Michael!

posted Mar 31st, 2010 1:05 am


Rebecca

You are such an inspiration. I relate in so many ways to your story. I am Single, Overweight, Italian and grew up on the south side of Chicago. This is the first time I have seen the show and I am amazed. Good Luck Michael!!

posted Feb 7th, 2010 7:27 pm


Christina

i think he is soooo cute...i love him..i would marry him..lol..soo cute..muah!

posted Feb 6th, 2010 9:37 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account