Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Contestants Playing Dirty in Biggest Loser Season 10 Episode 8

OMG! Seriously? I can’t even start at the beginning as I am just freaking blown away at how Frado and Brendan have run this season like the Boston Marathon! Those guys have single-handedly bullied and game played their way to the top and the rest of the contestants are being picked off one by one. Who ever said the mafia was gone?

So, I know I just jumped way ahead and for those of you who haven’t watched the show yet you are like, “Shay, what could be that bad?” Well for starters this episode started with Alison telling everyone they were ending black and blue, but for one week they would be paired up and two people would be eliminated. This sets everyone in a panic state of course.

There is a temptation/challenge to decide who will gain the power of picking the pairs. A few people decided to play the game and some were content with their fate being sealed by their own accomplishments. Brendan and Aaron were really going for it when Brendan pulls a fast one and uses his manipulation tools to tell Aaron to quit and he will honor his wishes. So Aaron concedes and Brendan wins the power to pick. Brendan, for the first time that I have noticed, actually honors someone else’s wishes (besides his alliance) and pairs Aaron with Jesse. He of course pairs himself and Frado with big number people and puts all the girls together. He pairs Ada with Jessica and all I could think of was when Ada was sitting in the Lion’s den… ahem… the black team’s room and they convinced her to vote their way. I bet she regrets that move now.

The trainers get their last chance beating (workout) in and Bob and Jillian work on Aaron’s and Lisa‘s mental game. At the weigh-in drama rises as Bob and Jillian find out that Lisa has been cooking for Elizabeth, and then when Lisa is once again unhappy with her loss.

I pretty much thought an all-out brawl was about to begin between Frado and Aaron and the rest of the contestants. You think watching the hour-long weigh-in is painful? The truth is, tensions are high at weigh-ins. There are a million HOT lights beaming down on you, your “fate” rests in the scale and not to mention you’re standing there for hours! The yellow line holds down Aaron/Jesse and Elizabeth/Lisa. As Lisa mentioned, she and Elizabeth are “place holders” for Frado’s alliance. What that means is the boys don’t see them as a threat and the boys know they cannot beat them so they don’t mind having them around to fill the space as they send every other person who could possibly beat them home. Aaron and Jesse go home and that seals it for me – Everyone I was cheering for is gone. Dang it. All I can say from here on out is Mark, watch your back.

Sign-up for the Biggest Loser Newsletter, sponsored by the Biggest Loser Resort, and visit Shay Sorrells online.

View Frado Dinten's Biggest Loser 10 Journey Slideshow

View Brendan Donovan's Biggest Loser 10 Journey Slideshow

View Jesse Atkins' Biggest Loser 10 Journey  Slideshow

View Aaron Thompkins' Biggest Loser 10 Journey  Slideshow

November 10th, 2010

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 28 total comments)

steve

I think you take this way too seriously...so what if they are playing the game...that's what it is. get over it and go get a hobby other than criticizing others who are doing something good for themselves.
shouldn't you be supportive of fellow biggest loser CONTESTANTS (yes, it is a game)

posted Nov 17th, 2010 1:03 am


Mary Beth

TOTALLY agree with you Shay! All my favorite people have been sent home as well! I just hope Brendan and Frado don't make it to the finals! Or if America gets to vote I hope one of them is not picked in the finals. It's sad that the people that consistently lose the least amount of weight get to stay on the ranch for another week!

posted Nov 15th, 2010 1:51 am


Lindsey

I'm going crazy as well. What happened to the people who lose the least amount of weight going home? I've only watched a few seasons, but this one might make me so crazy I don't come back for BL11!

posted Nov 12th, 2010 10:53 pm



jdtantoes

At the end of the day...this is a 'Reality Show'. They create the drama...and you see what they think will get the best ratings. Bottom line! You do what you gotta do to stay at the ranch for as long as you can.

posted Nov 12th, 2010 4:26 am


Lisa

I totally agree with you. I dvr'd the show and just watched it and just like all the other weeks this season, I can't stomach watching Brendan sitting there lying to everyone's face so I fast forward to the weigh in and elmination. There's game play and then there's sticking a knife in people's backs and wiggling it a little to make sure it hits an artery.

posted Nov 12th, 2010 1:42 am


twintalk

As for Lisa and her 60/40 I believe that's her motherly instinct to be with her children, so I don't find fault with her. Brendon and Frado are more about winning (so sad) that they even turned on Ada who was surpose to be in an alliance with them. Ada and Jessica showed them though didn't they? I worry about the example Brendan is setting for his students. Glad he isn't teaching my children manipulation 101. But...... I'm sure they are ALL nice people at home with nice families. When you dangle 250,000 bucks in front of people it is like dangling a carrott in front of a donkey. They lose all common sense and possibly some friends along the way. Also, when their families watch the show what will they think of how their relatives acted. Granted, we actually see VERY little of what really goes on at the ranch as NBC will make sure it gets good ratings no matter what. We all need to rememmber that. I'd like to see a biggest loser mens addition and a biggest loser womans addition. That would be interesting especially if they could get everyone as close as possible starting around the same weight.

posted Nov 11th, 2010 9:59 pm


BLFan

Frado and Brendan can game play all they want to win the grand prize. In my eyes, the ultimate grand prize is keeping the weight off. I think they are too focused on the game play and I wouldn't be a bit surprised if they put weight back on after the finale.

posted Nov 11th, 2010 7:36 pm


Carrie

I agree, Brendan, just do NOT like him one single bit! Highly disappointed in him as a player and as a person. He is way to cocky for his own good. Eventually Brendan and Frado will turn on eachother. Unfortunately I think Brendan would do it in a heart beat without a second thought. He is a selfish game player I think. Would LOVE to see him fall below the yellow line and be sent HOME......Victory day! YAY! LOL...I just hope he is NOT in the final 4. I would be so disappointed!!! I liked him in the beginning but his true colors showed pretty early in the game. I am not trying to be mean just stating facts! Sure you can argue its game play, its money to be won, yada, yada, yada but most people there are there to change their life and not hurt other people like Frado did to Jesse when Jesse clearly NEEDED to be there more than a "Place Holder" did. Disappointing! :(

posted Nov 11th, 2010 6:58 pm


Kerry Williams

I agree with this recap. I am done watching this season...I watch Allison on "Days" for my drama and Biggest Loser to watch people lose weight- too frustrated to care any more - will watch finale and will give BL one more try next season but ENOUGH DRAMA!

posted Nov 11th, 2010 6:06 pm



nbflat2

I AGREE with EVERYTHING! I actually feel horrible for any of the contestants that are just there to lose the weight and not play the game. I feel like if they say out loud that they are not "playing the game" then they will get eaten up, no pun intended, and kicked off.... SAD DAY!

posted Nov 11th, 2010 12:41 am


jenna

Its a game, people! Brendan and Frado are trying to lose weight and are also trying to win some big money...can you blame them??? I think the drama is great this season and I love the show.

posted Nov 10th, 2010 8:29 pm


stacy

game playing--way worse than any other season--i am huge fan ,,been motivated to exercise & diet since jan cuz of BL ..but i am really sick of this season..i just wath cuz love bob & jilian

posted Nov 10th, 2010 7:38 pm


Kendra

First off, I'm so proud of Aaron and Jesse. They looked AMAZING. I was FURIOUS though. I hate Game Play. And you know, I have a difficult time with the playing of girls against boys. Boys usually lose more weight and faster than girls. Right?!? I get the impression that Jillian doesn't agree with that statement.

posted Nov 10th, 2010 7:21 pm


VALERIE TOWERS

i agree 100% this is soooooooooooo NOT my fav season !!!

posted Nov 10th, 2010 7:02 pm



harrdone

I don't like the game playing either but honestly... it's a TV show and it's all about the ratings. Now that the numbers are even and everyone knows that the guys are game playing, the girls should dish it right back. When Frado or Brendan fall below the yellow line, vote them out! Push them back! Stay focused on your weight loss and do everything that you can to beat them out. It can be done...

posted Nov 10th, 2010 7:02 pm


Lindy

I agree with you 100%, Shay! Brendan and Frado are obviously in it for the wrong reasons. And it is making this season totally un-inspiring.

They can say whatever they want about editing... The truth is evident. (Especially evidenced in the NEGATIVITY of their own comments on Facebook every day!)

posted Nov 10th, 2010 6:46 pm


deb stillman

I so agree with Shay. I have not liked Brendan from the beginning. He doesnt care about anything but the money. Jesse Thank you for telling us all how you were told the money was not worth the loss of a friend. How that knife must have hurt so bad...I understand they want the prize but not at the expense at everyone else. I only wish we could vote weekly I know they would be gone

posted Nov 10th, 2010 6:43 pm


Karen

I agree why would I want to watch a show every week that leaves me mad and upset? I've decided to keep up with it through you and watch the final weigh in when I see great results from amazing people. Not Brendan and Frado - IMO they are losers but not the biggest loser - Karma boys Karma

posted Nov 10th, 2010 6:42 pm


Cecilia

I agreed with your blog 100%!!!! How dare Brendon ask Aaron to back down from the challenge and how dare Frado tell Aaron to mind his own business at the weigh in. Those guys are bullies and are going to throw their authority as far as they can. I loved that Jillian came undone with Lisa and Elizabeth. If Lisa is 60-40 and has been 50-50 since being on the show, she should have gone home last night!!!! She has an opportunity that most of us would dream of and she's not even taking it seriously.

posted Nov 10th, 2010 6:32 pm



JimmyC

I totally agree with shay - Brendan and Frado are ruining the show for me

posted Nov 10th, 2010 6:28 pm


Becca

ARGH! Where do I begin! There are SO many people out there who want to be at the Ranch to lose the weight (including myself) and not to play the game. Get over yourselves people really? Your there for money? What happened to this being about saving peoples lives?!?!?!?!?

posted Nov 10th, 2010 6:25 pm



Margaret14

I'm so sad Jesse got eliminated! I hope he and Aaron keep up their good work.

posted Nov 10th, 2010 6:24 pm


Julie

Love you, Shay! Your season was my favorite ever! This season is lame and super unmotivating. I watch BL to be motivated to help me lose the 90 lbs of excess weight. When people game play and act like a-holes, I am less motivated than before. BL needs to get rid of the $250K prize. Losing weight would be enough of a prize for anyone willing to join the show for the right reasons.

Love always wins.

posted Nov 10th, 2010 6:23 pm


Brandi

Say it Shay! That level of game play is a complete turnoff and I hope the disaster that is Brendan and Frado crumbles soon.

posted Nov 10th, 2010 6:21 pm


ciara

ugh. i totally hated the game play last night, but you knew they were gonna do it. eventually, those guys are gonna have to battle it out with each other, and they won't always have those double digit weight losses either. people eventually plateau. i loved aaron cos he wasn't about the game play, he wanted to be there for himself & his family. the only person i can see rooting for now is ada. patrick just proved that he was not a good friend, too.

posted Nov 10th, 2010 6:21 pm



pamusc93

I'm really unhappy with this season. No one is really losing weight and it's all about the drama. I watch this show to be inspired not to watch catfights.

I'll give BL11 a go but if it is a repeat of this season, I'll stop watching.

posted Nov 10th, 2010 6:20 pm



colorado tink

CRAZYNESS IS RIGHT... WOW.....

posted Nov 10th, 2010 6:12 pm


Sue

I totally agree with you. I was not happy with the way the whole show went. In past seasons when someone expressed that they wanted to go home, they were sent home, because people were offended that their heads weren't in the game. That's what fair play is about. What's going on now is just plain dirty!

posted Nov 10th, 2010 6:11 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account