Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

The FIRM Express Promises to Get You Thin in 30 Days

Thin in 30 days? Maybe. Doing it in three 20 minute workouts a week? Prove it.

I’m always wary of workout programs that offer more results with less effort. Turns out, in this case, less effort doesn’t mean less exercise, just less of a time commitment, which I can get behind.

The FIRM has been a trusted name in exercise and fitness for years, with workouts designed to empower women to work towards their best bodies and achieve total body fitness in the comfort of their very own home.

The FIRM has introduced a new workout series called The FIRM Express, which takes their successful fitness philosophy and condenses it down into three times weekly 20 minute workouts that promise to get you “thin in 30″ days. Like all of the workouts by The FIRM, this program combines effective cardio exercises with weight training to get results faster and help you burn more fat than traditional cardio or weight lifting alone.

This 12 DVD program includes 12 workouts you will use through four different cycles that are specifically sequenced to optimize weight loss. The FIRM Express boasts that you can burn up to nine times more fat with this program than traditional workouts.

This may sound too good to be true, as The FIRM Express falls far below the recommended minimum of 30 minutes of cardiovascular exercise 4-5 times a week. However, duration is never the main issue with exercise, it’s intensity, and if you stick it out, I promise you, the intensity is there.

The FIRM Express Program Overview

Each of the 4 cycles lasts a week, and consists of one sculpting DVD for muscular strength, endurance and to build muscle tone, one cardio DVD to blast fat and calories, and one combo sculpt and cardio DVD for a good dose of both.

There are a few extras included with the program, including a 4-Day Kickstart Plan to get you “thinner by Monday” (assuming you start on Friday, of course) with anti-bloating tips, more simplistic but still yummy meals, and a 4 day fitness journal, and a bonus DVD titled Kickstart Your Metabolism with Pump It Up! and Shortcut to Flat Abs workouts which are even more condensed workouts than the Express DVDs, for when you are really short on time.

For a more detailed breakdown of each The FIRM Express cycle and DVD, check out our review here.

The FIRM Express Fat-Burning Meal Plan

The FIRM Express comes with a small pamphlet that includes the FIRM Express Fat-Burning Meal Plan, which comes with breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack recipes you can choose from. Calorie ranges for your total daily intake are given based on your starting weight, but no guidance is given on choosing meals and snacks outside of the meal plan, so if you are, you know, a real person that goes out with friends of family or needs to grab something on the run, you are on your own.

Can the FIRM Express Deliver?

While the workouts are intense and quick, a pretty good combination when it comes to exercise, there were a few drawbacks to the program.

A lot of the Express workouts are hard to keep up with, especially the cardio and sculpt combination DVDs, which move so quickly, change so rapidly and the movements are so complicated that you’ll spend most of you time trying to get the hang of it, just to have the instructor move onto something else. Since you only do each DVD once, which seems silly for the price tag of 3 payments of $29.99, you won’t even have a second chance to take a stab at the choreography, so my advice is to just keep moving, even if what you are doing looks nothing like what is happening on the screen.

You will also need dumbbells in a range of 8-15 pounds for certain workouts, which adds to the already pricey program.

I was a bit skeptical of a program that promises extreme results with just three 20 minute workouts a week, but if you follow the program and stick to the meal plan, you will definitely be thin-NER in 30.

To try The FIRM Express Thin in 30 program, click here!

Giveaway Ended 8/31/11. Winner: Erin

***GIVEAWAY: You could win The Firm Express from DietsInReview.com.***

1) Leave a comment below telling us how you optimize your workouts when pressed for time.

2) One winner will be drawn on August 31, 2011 and notified via the email address provided in the contact form.

 

August 1st, 2011

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 94 total comments)

mildred

I am 45, i started to follow 2 of the "firm's" video. It really works for me, i lost 4lbs in less than two weeks. Maybe i should have lost more than this if I religiously and regularly do this. I've been looking for the vol4 and vol6 copy in record bars here but couldn't find. Wish I can win them here.

posted Apr 13th, 2013 10:17 am


lola

I am on my 5th week with the program and I am not loosing the wt I was wanting to loose. I am not sure if it is my age (37), if I am not eating enough because I know I am watching what I put in my mouth. The program has you multiply your wt by 10 and the number calculated is the number of calories you can eat, and you are not to go below 1400 or 2000 if you weight less than 140 or over 200lbs. I started off at 207lbs but found I could not eat 2000 worth of food esp. healthy food. I recently gained 50lbs in nursing school (in a year and a half-scary!!!) and I am trying to loose this school wt. five weeks and only 7lbs lost. I am glad I have lost some wt but I feel I should have lost at least 10-15lbs. I am frustrated but will continure the program, I am trying to bulid myself up to p90x and I might have to add two of tony hortons dvds a week for faster results. uggggggg!

posted Dec 18th, 2011 1:40 am



Niurka Garcia

I need all the help I can get. I needed to lost about 60 pounds and this would be God sent.

posted Aug 31st, 2011 1:01 pm


Niurka

When I am pressed for time a do a 20-30 dance dvd cause it helps me have energy for the rest of the day...

posted Aug 30th, 2011 9:45 pm



Beth A

Optimizing my workouts simply means DOING them for me at this point.

posted Aug 30th, 2011 4:14 pm


ana

I want to win the express firm, I am 22 years I have 2 children and not work only my husband works and I have no money to buy hopefully have the opportunity. my daughter is 5 years and she called me fat ; (I'd LOVE to win this.

posted Aug 29th, 2011 7:15 pm


Josylie

Between the housework, kids and homeschooling the closet thing I get to a work out is hurdling over the baby gate to save my 19 month old daredevil son from launching himself off the couch and asking my 4 year old daughter why she was chanting "jump, jump, jump!". I barely have time to take a shower most days until my hubby gets home. And even then it's only a 15 min shower. But I also wouldn't trade one minute of it for anything in the world. :)

posted Aug 28th, 2011 3:38 am


Natalia Baage-Lord

I walk wherever I can, even if it's in place. Moving is moving. :)

posted Aug 27th, 2011 2:47 pm


Michelle

I don't currently have a workout routine, but have some exercises that I do on an exercise ball when I can. Otherwise, I try to walk up stairs more and park further away from an entrance to exercise more on busy days. I would love to try this program to loose about 20 lbs.

posted Aug 27th, 2011 10:52 am


amanda

I am a newbie to the weightloss scene in the past year and a half. my highest was 450 and im currently around 260. id like a chance for the firm express for the muscle toning I seem to be missing since ive hit a stand still for 2 months now. im always pressed for time so optimizing is essential for me. on breaks during mh college classes a friend and I go behind the building and do stretchs and lunges for lunch break with a swift 20 min walk its our main part of optimizing our work out routines and starting our motablism back up in the middle of the day.

posted Aug 27th, 2011 10:28 am


A Williams

When pressed for time, I optimize my workout by completing half the workout in the morning and the other half in the evening.

posted Aug 27th, 2011 6:03 am


Forgetmenot15

I try to optimize my workout between school

posted Aug 25th, 2011 8:52 am


brooke

I have wanted this DVD set since I saw it a couple of months ago. While I don't currently have a workout routine I do my best to keep moving all day and try to turn cleaning into exercise. Mowing the lawn is also a good way to get some in. I would love to win this set and finally have a weekly routine I can fit in with the busy schedule of being a mom, working and earning a degree!

posted Aug 24th, 2011 3:08 pm


Andrea

I was flipping through the channels last night when I saw an infomercial for the Firm Express, and I literally couldn't tear my eyes away. The results it promised seemed so hard to believe, but yet the people featured were real women who followed the program and they really did lose 15+ lbs in 30 days. As for me I am also a real woman with two little girls so the whole idea of seeing those results in only 20 minutes/3 days a week really appeals to me. In the past when I've been pressed for time, I've optimized my workouts either by exercising only when the baby was asleep. I'd like to lose about 15-20 pounds and just feel fit and healthy again.

posted Aug 23rd, 2011 12:41 am



Tamara Piette Allen

I would love to win the firm express, I have been walking 5-7 miles per day and going to the gym on days that do not permit walking; I take my 3 year old with me in the stroller on these walks so when it's cool, raining, or snowing I do not go. The gym is expensive, plus have to pay for daycare besides. My weight is like a yo-yo, I do so well and then it seems to do nothing! When all that hard work is put in and the weight loss is at a standstill it is honestly depressing. I am also a full time student, a single mother of 3 beautiful girls, their sole provider, and w/ homework, housework, etc to do, when the time I put in (usually 2 hours) to try to lose the weight doesn't work I lose the motivation. I really need something that will fit in with my hectic schedule and also allow me to be home with my kiddos. I believe the FIRM express would be the answer to my prayers and would help me to accomplish my goals a little easier than without it. Pick Me to win it!!!! =)

posted Aug 22nd, 2011 3:15 pm


Susan

I walk every morning at 4:30 (that's AM) and just feel like I need more bang for my buck. I'm not getting results. If I can sleep another 30 minutes, work out twice as hard in 1/3 the time, why wouldn't I want to do that? Sign me up to win The Firm Express!!!

posted Aug 21st, 2011 7:38 am


Sudha

When I'm pressed for time (which I always am being a physician)I use my jump rope. I carry it in my bag wherever I go and when I get a few minutes here and there, I take it out and jump for how ever many minutes I can. I'm shocked that this way, I AT LEAST get in 40-60min a day...and don't even realize it!

posted Aug 20th, 2011 3:47 pm


Beth

When I'm short on time high intensity intervals are my go to cardio workout. For strength workouts, supersets are the most effective use of my time.

posted Aug 18th, 2011 2:18 pm


MzLessalee

I've had success in the past with Firm products and have bought them as gifts for friends. This new program seems to bring together all of their exercise experience to one program that is fast and easy. The trend now is intensity and it appears this program brings it.

posted Aug 17th, 2011 7:50 am


Raquel Calles

After having a baby, it was chaotic! I had to get used to being a mother, wife and student all in one. I gained 40 lbs which they tell you that you‚??ll lose after the baby but I sure didn‚??t! I couldn‚??t look at old pictures because I felt like I‚??d failed my body but then one day after taking a shower I looked in the mirror saw the bulges and I thought to myself, today‚??s the day. That afternoon after class and when my fianc√© was home I put the books down, I gave him the baby bottles and I took off on a run. I smiled a bit brighter as the wind gushed through my hair, it was such a great feeling so now that my son is about to be a year old I make it my mission to drop the books and give him and my fianc√© a kiss and take a run, because even though time wasn‚??t my friend after having my baby, I‚??ve learned how to make it so that it‚??s not my enemy. If I won the Firm Express Get Thin in 30, I would be really appreciative and thankful. As a college student and mother we are always short on money. I always look at the Firm Express website wishing I was its owner. I would like to be able to have a shorter workout and works when there‚??s gloomy weather, when my son or fianc√© are sick, and especially around finals. With the Firm Express I‚??d be able to stay home and leave my little one in his bouncer while I do this great routine in half the time it takes to go run.

posted Aug 15th, 2011 9:31 am


Jessica

When I'm pressed for time (which is always) I tend to pick-up the pace when walking to and from work instead of taking the subway/bus. Then at work I go to talk with my colleagues whenever possible instead of sending an email, it makes me feel a little better to be getting up and walking around throughout the day rather than just sitting for 8 hours. When I'm able to escape for lunch, I take a walk around the area as well. When using my car, I park away from the entrance (most days). During all of this I try to be conscious that I need to lose weight!

posted Aug 13th, 2011 8:51 am


Amy

ive been trying to lose weight from sometime now, since im 16 you would think it would be easy for me, but weighing 220lbs isnt so easy. i work at subway, so for lunch i eat a 6in sub, when i take out the trash i try to walk to the further trash can, when we go to the mall or something i will tell my mom to pull all the way to the back, ofcourse i regret telling here that coming out of the mall but i feel like its a better choice, i try to stay away from mcdonalds and wendys, but if i do go, my sister trys to help me, by getting a yogart parfi, and some nuggets, ya know? when i try to workout i feel discouraged, i hate it. but i want to be fit. not "skinny" but healthy. healthy where my doctor doesnt have the same talk with me everytime i go, and more weight is shown on the scale. but i not gonna say i dont want to win, because ofcourse i do. and if i did i promised my mom, i would try harder, and she said if i got this, and i lost 15lbs with it, she would buy me a workout outfit, and take me to a healthy dinner.

posted Aug 9th, 2011 11:21 pm


Kim

When I'm pressed for time, I squeeze in exercise by parking farther when running errands or running along with my children when are out playing. I look to turn daily activities into an opportunity to move my body more!

posted Aug 8th, 2011 5:09 pm


Erin

When I'm pressed for time I workout while I clean and play with my kids. (I have 5 kids!!) I'll do squats while I fold laundry and pick up toys, I do calf raises while I do dishes and make extra trips up the stairs when I don't need to.

posted Aug 5th, 2011 11:24 pm


neneelynn

I many times when I am in a pinch i use my bands . I carry them with me so that if I have a few moments in the Restroom or on break at work I can do some toning which is always a plus when you are working out , plus when I incorporated this a couple of week ago my weigh loss this week was 3 pounds.

posted Aug 5th, 2011 6:26 pm


Jeanne

I did the original Firm workouts back in the 90's and they really did work. I lost weight and my body was so toned and strong. I would love to try the Firm Express, because it's so hard to dedicate an hour everyday to get in shape.

posted Aug 5th, 2011 2:01 pm


Becky

I LOVE the FIRM workouts! I try and do at least a 20 minute workout every day, but I don't feel that's always enough. It may sound crazy, but I keep a 5-lb. dumbbell in my bathroom to do biceps curls while blow drying my hair. I'll also throw in some squats, lunges, or side leg lifts. If no one's around, I'll do glute lifts while climbing the stairs. Hey, as a busy, working mom you do what you gotta do! I/ve been thinking about purchasing these DVDs but the price scares me. Your drawing is the day after my birthday, so who knows?

posted Aug 4th, 2011 2:42 pm


Hilary

I optimize my workouts by trying to get 10 minute increments in throughout the day. I'll start with some small weight training in the morning and then try to get cardio in later in the day.

posted Aug 4th, 2011 8:52 am



Vanessa Tackett

Im 26 years old I weigh at my highest 300lbs and i recently bought the calorie explosion because i couldnt afford the Firm express.. I have been overweight for years and got tired of it about a month ago and been trying to get healthy so winning this would be a blessing to me considering my low money and high need to get in shape.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 7:48 pm


Vanessa Tackett

Id love to Win this im 300 lbs and im trying to shed 150lbs, i recently bought the calorie explosion bc i could afford the firm express so to win this would truly be a blessing and great addition to my new lifestyle to a healthier me I am also a member of the Firm Club , the username is babygurl1985

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 7:37 pm


Aimee

I optimize by using one of my short-er workouts, maybe 20 or 30 minutes and trying my hardest so I can maximize the time. Would love to win this Firm set!

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 7:24 pm


Jen

When I'm short on time I look for a 30 minute FIRM workout. Doesn't really matter which one. The sculpting ball workout is a favorite.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 6:59 pm


Judy Teske

I love the firm. Hi def sculpt is my favorite. When I am pressed for time I squeeze cardio In for 20 minutes, that's better than nothing! I always think of cheating myself if I choose not to do anything!

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 6:54 pm


Jayne Stanfill

I have used the Firm in the past and they do work. Right now, to save time, I have been doing the Jillian Michaels 30 day shred. Would love to try Firm Express!

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 6:37 pm


Sand

I try to fit into as much cardio as I can to get my heart pumping when I'm short for time.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 6:23 pm


Carol

What do you mean that you only do each workout once? I've had the system since June and I've done each workout multiple times. In fact, I just finished the Cardio+Sculpt workouts from Cycle 1 AND Cycle 4.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 6:21 pm


Amanda

I do TheFirm! I love their workouts and I love how effective they are in a short period of time. It is my go-to workout!

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 6:14 pm


Erin

I love to do HiiT Training when I am pressed for time!

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 6:05 pm


Alesha bell

I love the fact that is a complete workout and the only one you will ever want to use after trying it. Awesome !

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 5:30 pm



Mayte

I have been working out with the firm since i was 15 and absolutely love them but now that i'm a mom i have to fit in my workouts around my kids. I dance with them as much as possible. And when they were little i used to workout with them in my arms, it was fun and they loved it. Now i'm working on getting off the rest of my second childs baby weight but it's hard with so little time on my hands and would absolutely love to try the firms new workout system. My children also like to workout with me since they've been doing it practically since they were born.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 5:02 pm


vickie

I would love to have free dvds cuz i cannt afford them. it will help me out to relax and not to worry about it. thanks for caring.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 4:45 pm


Jen

I would LOVE to win this! I have other FIRM systems and love them! When I'm pressed for time, taking a quick 20-30 minute jog gets my heart rate up and ables me to burn 500-600 calories.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 4:41 pm


Veronica

I am going to be 40 this month, and this would be a great birthday present for me! I am really pressed for time being a mom, full time college student, and work. I really need to get back into shape and this package would be the jump start that I need. I have other Firm dvd's and love them all, just don't always have the time to do a full 45-60 min. workout.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 4:36 pm


Melissa

I usually pick upbeat music and play it really loud. That helps to motivate me to move more and try harder when pressed for time and trying to get a quick workout in. Big fan of the Firm too. :)

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 4:19 pm


Sara

I bought 2 firms by accident 4 years ago. I decided to keep one for myself. I am now addicted to my 20 minute workouts each day. I even take my weights and dvd's when I travel, never missing a workout. I would love to try more firm workouts, and would love to win this set.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 4:12 pm


Zoey

When I am pressed for time I try to add little extra bits of exercise into my day. For example I will do walking lunges while I am playing with my toddler. This program sounds great!

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 4:03 pm


Mesha K

I have used SO many different workout tapes! Slim in 6, Hip Hop Abs, Insanity, Yoga Booty Ballet, Circle Pilates. I could go on and on. But I have never heard of any that showed these kind of results in only 20 minutes a day! I would love to give this one a try! Everything that I have read about the Firm has been awesome! Can't wait to try it!!!

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 3:56 pm


Robyn

When I am short on time I pick a workout that will be intense and get my heart rate elevated doing either a FIT workout for 20-30 min or Fartleks for 30 min if it's a "run day" for me. Another thing I do is try to squeeze a workout into my lunch hour using 30 minutes to workout and the other 30 as travel/clean up time. My moto is "No Excuses!" so no matter what I can find 30 minutes if I need to.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 3:51 pm


laquitta scott

i have quite a collection of firm dvds and the good thing about them is that u can do them at your fitness level. When pressed for time i use some of the options on the firm's dvds that have them or use another dvd that less than 30 minutes. i think this would be a great set to own.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 3:35 pm


Jillian S

I love the fact that there are 20 minute workouts available!!! I could modify and do an extra one if I have more time! And if I don't (typically), it is so quick and easy to get a good HIIT workout in! I would love to get the whole set!!!

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 3:29 pm


Tarrah Smith

I do "The Firm Calorie Explosion" when I'm pressed for time, which are 12 minute workouts. They are no joke! You will feel as If you worked out for an hour when done! It's mostly cardio with weights.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 3:21 pm



Kim Wilson

I'm always in a time crunch! Busy working and homeschooling two boys and we own a business. I love to pop in a firm video! I love that you can stack the videos if you have more time. I love the FIRM and would be blessed to have this set!!!!

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 3:20 pm



Kim DiBiase Belknap

I am expecting my 2nd child at the end of the August, and I'm already trying to figure out how I'm going to lose the baby weight while caring for two young children. The FIRM Express would fit the bill perfectly! 20 minute workouts 3 days a week! Can't get better than that.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 3:16 pm


Gabrielle

I have been wanting this for a while now but haven't had time to buy it, lol. I try to be active with my kids when I come off my full time job. I really want to exercise more for myself and show my daughters this is a part of healthy living.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 3:16 pm


Christie

I have many FIRM workouts, but most of them are long. I have a commute of over an hour one-way each day, so shorter workouts that are just as effective as longer ones would be awesome!

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 3:16 pm



Lora Schrock

To optimize my workout, I've used the shorter version of different FIRM workouts that is usually included on the DVD. Another trick I use is to hold small weights--even as small as 1 lbs.--when I do the cardio portions.

But the main things the FIRM has taught me is to do engage more than one main muscle group at a time for a total workout. For example, doing a front lunge while also doing a bicep curl. Or my fav, the Tricep Tummy Toner--alternating crunches with overhead tricep curls.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 3:13 pm


Amber

When pressed for time I try to just keep moving. Marching in place while washing my hands, pacing while waiting for an appointment, I also try to get in at least a 10 min express something ANYTHING. Every little bit helps. And I love all my Firm videos would love to win this.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 3:13 pm


tina m.

i try to get my workouts in while the kids are in school or after they go to bed! also just started getting them to dance with me...so that helps too!!

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 3:11 pm


Sarah G.

I optimize my workouts when pressed for time by doing short bursts of activities here and there -- weight training moves for a few minutes here, walking, etc. for a few minutes there.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 3:05 pm


Colleen

I have the Firm wave and love it. I have three kids at home and a full time job. I don't have time to go to the gym and have to work out when I can. I would love to win the Firm Express. The other videos are great and the express would be a terrific set to add to the collection.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 3:03 pm


Whitney

After having a baby 15 months ago I realized to get back in shape was going to be intense. Had a lot to lose. I bought a jogging stroller and went to work. I push/jog with him 5 miles every morning - great total body workout within an hour or so.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 3:00 pm


Brei

The FIRM workouts are how I make the most of my workout time. Results are never far behind with the FIRM! I also love going for a run with my baby and 3 year old in a stroller.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 2:58 pm


Heather M

Cant wait to try it :)

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 2:58 pm


Heather

I want to try it so bad :)

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 2:58 pm


Angela

It's great when you combine two workouts together. I have used The FIRM for years and love these new workouts!

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 2:58 pm


Lori

Love it love it love it. Many of us has strayed and tried other workouts and instructors, but we always come back to the Firm because we know it works.... You can make these workouts as easy or as hard as you want and everyone can do the workouts...... Thx again for all your hard work...

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 2:55 pm


Kelly

If I can't fit in a full workout, I will do a short version of the highest intensity workout video I have. I always include the warmup and can improvise my own cooldown.

It's also really easy to walk out my door and go for a quick walk, run or bike ride. I can devote as much or as little time as I have.

Additionally, I try to volunteer to help with anything that involves lifting or other active work at my job. A desk job is killer on my metabolism. So if there's a chance to do something active, I always volunteer to help!

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 2:52 pm


Candice

I am a huge fan of The Firm workouts. To really get it in when crunched for time I push as hard as I can in the time I have. Burpees, sprints, jacks, jump squats and lunges, planks and pushups. Go through the cycle a few times and I know I got a decent workout when I am crunched for time. :)

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 2:51 pm


Shane Blamer

I LOVE The Firm! Been sweatin with them for years, and as a runner I depend on them to keep my muscles balanced and strengthen key leg muscles to make me powerful during trail races. It's the BEST cross-training out there EVEN with the Biggest Looser craze. I'll stick with the girls that keep me strong and motivated!

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 2:50 pm


Stef

I look at my dog, think of him being stuck inside while I'm at work or out of the house for whatever reason, and remember how much it means to him to be out seeing the world. That motivates me to take him for a walk until we're both exhausted!

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 2:48 pm


Lane

I love the firm and would love to have the firm express. I like to try and change things up and this may be just what I need!

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 2:47 pm



Ruth Rousseau

I'd love to try The Firm Express because I'm a fan of quick circuit workouts (cardio + sculpting) when I'm crunched for time.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 2:47 pm


LANA

It's hard to get workouts in with 4 children. I try to do stretches when I am waiting in the car, I do squats when I brush my teeth, tricep dips when my kids are in the bath, pushups and jumping jacks before bed. When I have time I do a video.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 2:47 pm


Lindsay

When I don't have much time to spare I do a Firm video that offers the express workouts.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 2:45 pm



Lacy Jones

I love The Firm!! I've been Firming since 2002, with a short break 2008-2009 due to pregnancy and recovering from heart failure. I am cleared to work out again and I've been working out with the Firm. I have a 2 year old and never seem to have time!! When she naps, I run to try and get in my Firm workout before she wakes up because I never know how long I get!! We also go on walks together to try and get some type of movement in daily. I would love to win the new Firm Express. I haven't been able to spare any extra money to buy new workouts and I would love to get a short but effective workout.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 2:44 pm


Jennifer Veazey

With 4 small kids under the age of 6 time is not something you get alot of. I am also attending college to complete a bachelor Degree in Education... So I try to get in extra walking when time allows! Parking further away to walk longer to my destination, playing with my kids outside or at the park, and when I do get some time, when we are camping, I ride my bike with the kids.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 2:41 pm


Belinda

When im pressed for time i usually walk the warehouse on my breaks at work. Then I will run around with my boys and walk up and down the hallway of my house.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 2:41 pm



Jackiedstep

When I'm short on time, I do something at home or close to home. I like to exercise to various home exercise DVD's, and I like to go running, either around my neighborhood or sometimes at the high school track close by. I'm so interested in this new FIRM set, it looks great!

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 2:41 pm


Adrienne Brown

I attempt to get up earlier in am to squeeze 20 minutes in then I walk my dog which can be a work-out in itself.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 2:40 pm


Rene

When I know I won't have time to fit in a work out around working hours, I make myself use my lunch hour.
My gym is next door and they always have 30 minute classes around noon. I have rented a locker to keep sneakers and clothes there at all times so I literally have ZERO excuses. I actually just came back from Zumba! I can always eat lunch at my desk but I can't Zumba at my desk!!

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 2:36 pm



Teresa Coney

I do quickie chick workouts while driving in my car, standing in line at the grocery store , and cooking dinner. You should check her out! Also I park far away at the grocery store and take the stairs instead of the elevator when possible. I would LOVE to win this set as I just had to cancel my gym membership to try and save money :( Good luck to all who enter!

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 12:19 pm


Kim Smith

My time is often limited with work and meetings so being able to devote 20 minutes three times a week is a plus for me. I often times try to get workouts in by parking further out and walking briskly and taking the stairs when available.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 10:00 am



yellowstarkiss

When pressed for time...I remeber to do stretches they are important especially to warm up the muscles. I do some jumping jacks, squats, pullups just the basics, but helpful when you lack time. Thanks.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 12:43 am



Allison

When short on time during the day...I try and get in 10min workouts...whether walking on break...or on the treadmill before and after work!! Thanks for the giveaway chance!

posted Aug 2nd, 2011 9:42 pm



Kim Campbell

I try and walk at work during my break. Two 15 minute breaks = 30 minutes of exercise!

posted Aug 2nd, 2011 9:07 pm


Lola

well when im pressed for time i usually do some burpee's this really gets my heart rate up then i do some planks and finish off with a down ward dog pose.

posted Aug 2nd, 2011 4:41 pm


CAMEROKL

I fit exercise in whenever I can. Take the stairs, park far away in the parking lot, alone on that elevator ride, do some squats. I never stand still at the gas pump. Do lunges down the grocery isle. Having this set of DVDs would be great, I have never tried the Firm and I still have 100 pounds to lose! Pick ME, Pick Me!

posted Aug 2nd, 2011 2:31 pm


Wendy

I love exercise DVDs but unfortunately don't have a short one so when I'm pressed for time I wind up having to do it earlier o stay up late....

posted Aug 2nd, 2011 2:07 pm


Barb

When pressed for time, I just tell myself that I only have to do 10 minutes, then invariably I will spend at least 30 minutes because the hardest part is getting started!

posted Aug 2nd, 2011 1:38 pm


Karen

When I'm short on time I do high intensity interval training. I get a good cardio workout with strength training in a short amount of time. I can get a full body, tough workout in as little as 15-20 minutes.

posted Aug 2nd, 2011 1:16 pm


nickie

When I walk I make sure hills are involved. Walking on flat does not help me, I also carrie 3 pd weights and do arm lifts/curls while moving. Try to tighten my tummy and butt the whole time while walking........oh did I mention while walking FAST. I figure I can cover everything this way.

posted Aug 2nd, 2011 1:13 pm



nanaof4

Exercise whilst babysitting the grandkids, we do lots of dancing and walking to and from school, powerwalk at work between departments and do chair excercises whilst at my computer. If they can get a menopausal, hypothyroid nana into shape in 30 days, well i would like to see that.

posted Aug 2nd, 2011 3:42 am


Lyndsay

I optimize my workouts by doing a quick warmup and stretch (can't skimp on these)...and then I do what I call cardio power moves that include a lot of jumping, moving pushups, explosive squats, punches...I try combine toning AND cardio...instead of crunches I do moves such as high knees that strenghten your core AND increase your heart rate...I have wrist weights to wear during kick boxing moves...and don't forget cool down and stretch too!

posted Aug 2nd, 2011 12:22 am


Kelli

I'd LOVE to win this. I, like most, used to be an athlete and then decided to start a family and well, bye bye athletes body. I realize it doesn't have to be that way but am squeezed for time just like everyone else with 3 little ones under 6. I'm looking for something that won't monopolize the day and can be done while seeing results and this sounds fun. I'd LOVE to win The Firm Express this year!! Thanks for the article..

posted Aug 1st, 2011 5:15 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account