Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Tara Stiles Yoga Anywhere DVD Interview and Free Giveaway

UPDATE: The winner, MIO, was selected 10/1/10.

Tara Stiles has been referred to as “the coolest yoga instructor ever” by Vanity Fair. She is the founder of the New York-based yoga studio Strala and personal yoga instructor to Deepak Chopra.

As the face and resident expert of the Women’s Health Yoga Channel, Tara promotes the ideology of “yoga for everyone‚” and incorporating it into your everyday routine, whether you’re at the office or sitting on the couch. Tara is also the Yoga Master for the Master the Shift program, a national health initiative sponsored by Nissan.

As if Stiles wasn’t busy enough, she just released her new DVD, Yoga Anywhere: The New York Sessions, and she has a book out today called, Slim, Calm and Sexy.

DietsInReview.com had the pleasure of speaking with Tara about Yoga Anywhere. At the end of the interview, you can enter a chance to win a free copy of Tara’s new Yoga Anywhere DVD. Read on to find out how.

Tell us about Yoga Anywhere: The New York Sessions.We took the philosophy that you can do yoga anywhere and went to different sites and landmarks around New York City to do yoga. We wanted to create yoga routines that were fun and light-hearted, but accessible enough so that they can be practiced at home.

What was your goal with creating Yoga Anywhere?

We really wanted to make a DVD that could be practiced by anyone and that can be practiced every day. The hour-long session in Yoga Anywhere is designed for the beginner or the advanced student who wants to practice yoga for a variety of reasons whether it is to reduce stress or lose weight.

We also wanted to make something really fun. Yoga can be very serious. And while yoga’s seriousness is not a bad thing, we wanted to show the light-hearted and silly side to practicing yoga. When doing the routines, don’t worry about being perfect. In fact, you’ll see me falling over in a few of the postures.

What advice do you have for the person who is interested in starting a yoga practice?

Yoga is so popular right now and it is easy to feel intimidated. You may have to shop around until you find a style of yoga that clicks with you. But, my advice to beginners is to keep an open mind. Yoga is never about the pose. Whether it’s walking through a yoga studio with your friend or picking up a yoga DVD to do at home, always remember to come back to your breath and listen to your body. And have faith that you will feel better after doing yoga.

Many people who practice yoga attest to the health benefits that come from it. In your opinion, what is the connection between yoga and leading a healthier life?

With yoga, you begin to pay more attention to yourself and that involves doing things to take better care of yourself.  In regards to diet, yoga develops the food and mind connection. After you do yoga, you feel good, so you’re more apt to treat your body well. Choosing foods that are healthy becomes an extension of your yoga practice.

In traditional fitness forms, like lifting weights or running, this connection is hard to find. Oftentimes after a gym workout, you reward yourself by eating something not-so healthy. But with yoga, healthy living is the reward.

Thanks Tara!

Win a copy of Tara’s Yoga Anywhere DVD! Simply leave a comment on this blog post and tell us why yoga can help you lead a healthier and more fun life. You will be automatically be eligible to win one copy of Tara Stiles’ Yoga Anywhere DVD, valued at $19.99.

DISCLAIMER: Drawing will be held Thursday 9/30/10, and the winner will be notified via the email address left in the comment form. DietsInReview.com is not responsible for lost or stolen packages, nor failed shipments due to user providing an incorrect address. DietsInReview.com may replace the prize with one of equal value if prize is not available; not redeemable for cash.

August 31st, 2010

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 41 total comments)

soo yen

I have benifted a lot from yoga practice especially my joints , shoulders and lower back. I no longer desire body massage after practicing Yoga

posted Nov 23rd, 2010 10:18 am


Jaclyn

Yoga helps me focus on the mind-body connection, which in turn, helps me focus more clearly on all areas of life. I love that it helps me to be more conscious of the healthy decisions I make, and fully present during the day.

posted Sep 26th, 2010 7:39 pm


Jennifer Reda

i love yoga! it provides invaluable stress relief to me

posted Sep 23rd, 2010 4:42 pm


Sherri

I have lower back problems but since I started doing Yoga, I have been feeling wonderful! I only have one dvd, however and it's getting kinda boring. I would love a new dvd!

posted Sep 14th, 2010 10:51 am


Margaret

I'm just getting back into doing yoga and love how it makes me feel when I'm done. I'm 63 and hope it will make me more supple.

posted Sep 14th, 2010 10:24 am


James Kildare

is an important alternative, really excellent information they provide on the blog.

James Kildare
Findrxonline

posted Sep 9th, 2010 5:59 pm


SheFit

For me, Yoga reduces my stress levels, which stress plays a vital role on the body and health status

posted Sep 8th, 2010 10:33 am


Tej

I love, love yoga, especially when it's creative and fun. I saw Tara's youtube yoga videos and it's looks like such great fun AND challenging. Would love a copy of her dvd. Thanks for the contest.

posted Sep 7th, 2010 1:37 pm


Melissa

I was hit in a car accident last year, head on. As a result ended up with four bulging discs. I used to run but since my accident have been very limited as to my physical activity. I have turned to yoga, and though I'm just a beginner, it helps me to strengthen my core, and hopefully get me back to where I was before the accident.

posted Sep 5th, 2010 11:13 am


Kam A

I am a mother of two young boys and yoga helps me to reconnect with myself and destress.

posted Sep 4th, 2010 2:31 pm



Kyle Dodd

Yoga really really really connects me to my body and it's needs in a way that I never feel anytime else. I feel like I was born without strong signals of tiredness, hunger, thirst...so yoga helps me tap into what I really need in a deeper way, and I need that - because I usually ignore all signals and push to accomplish too much.

posted Sep 3rd, 2010 10:26 pm


Karin

I'm currently working on my 200 hour RYT and will finish in December. I just taught my first class last night. It was a class offered to students, faculty, and staff at a University. I look forward to sharing my passion for yoga with others.

posted Sep 3rd, 2010 8:48 am


Katherine

I just started college and I'm already starting to feel the stress get to me. I think yoga will be the perfect thing to try out because in addition to helping me de-stress, I can also lose weight and live a healthier life.

posted Sep 2nd, 2010 12:39 pm


Connie

Just started yoga three months ago, at the threshold of my middle ages... All I can say is: yoga RULES.

posted Sep 2nd, 2010 11:17 am


Katy

I just love Tara's approach and her obvious passion and happiness over her practice- it radiates outward and makes her videos and site all the more enjoyable. She's made yoga even more fun for me.

posted Sep 1st, 2010 9:06 pm


periwinkling

a healthy body and beathy mind cannot exist without each other, and yoga helps with exactly that. only focusing on one of those things would mean missing the point. I have only practiced for a short while, but I already feel the difference in the confidence I have in my body and the awareness.

posted Sep 1st, 2010 4:50 pm


Tere

You can go to your yoga practice for many reasons. Either to be more flexible and strong, loose weight and to gain co-ordination and grace. Besides all these physical benefits your primary intention could be to attain relaxation and peace. It could even be to have a social connection to a yogi network either at a studio setting or online groups. But once you refine your yoga living, you realize that yoga is much more than that. It leads you to a state of awareness and mindfulness about who you are. It connects you to your body, mind, breath; and this connection leads you to a whole well being of transformation and new possibilities of existence.

posted Sep 1st, 2010 10:15 am


agnes mercado

I am newbie inyoga and I feel so at home with it. I am blessed to have met great teachers in my practice. I wanted to attend a class by Tara and living on the other coast was like an impossibility.. Recently I attended a class a few blocks from my apartment at the Standard Hotel. This is what yoga is for me in my life. It opens me more to the universe of possibilities.Tara is just so cool in person and her class is super fun. I watch her and aspire for grace in my practice specially when it is difficult and challenging. More power to you Ms.Tara Stiles and thanks for sharing your heart , your passion!

posted Aug 31st, 2010 8:06 pm


Alexandra Lopez

Although I'm new to yoga, I've found that regardless of how hard or complicated a pose might be, I do (as Tara says above) feel better after I've done it (or at least attempted it). Everyone is so caught up in trying to get by every day, be it through caring for children, working a 9 to 5, studying relentless to attain a degree, that we often forget to take time for ourselves. To do something for ourselves. Yoga is a way to reconnect, to check in with yourself and finding out what your body is able to do, if you just try.

I have just begun to learn about Tara Stiles and I personally follow her yoga progam through the Elle Make Better Yoga DVD. I think she's a great teacher.

Thanks for letting me share!

posted Aug 31st, 2010 6:04 pm


Lynn

i love yoga because it can accomplish so many things. It can be relaxing, energizing, empowering, and always enjoyable!

posted Aug 31st, 2010 6:01 pm


Sara

I use yoga so that I can feel limber and long.

posted Aug 31st, 2010 4:42 pm


Crystal

Yoga has helped me make it through life with a crazy set of roommates to life in a new city with a 3 year old and a job I do from home. Though my poses aren't perfect and I'm not as flexible or calm as I'd like, yoga takes the edge off and keeps me much more balanced. The feeling after just one session is incredible. I feel like I can go through my to-do list effortlessly.

posted Aug 31st, 2010 3:48 pm


Daniela

Doing yoga in the morning gives me energy and helps me to stay relaxed and think clearly throughout the day.

posted Aug 31st, 2010 3:46 pm


Gwen

I practice yoga about 5 to 6 times a week. However, the video I use no longer challenges me. I've searched for other dvds but what I find is usually too easy or too difficult. Where is the yoga for the intermediate? Furthermore, I am a dancer and yoga has greatly increased my flexibility but still, I am looking to achieve my absolute maximum range. Also, while I enjoy the workout and flexibility that yoga gives me, I struggle to acheive the body-mind connection in practice. I follow Tara Stiles on Twitter and I'd imagine her dvds may help me make that oh so important connection, as yoga, I understand, is more about the mind than the body. I could definitely use peace of mind, I'm a professional entertainer and so I'm always looking for the next job, which can be so exhausting on one's mind and heart. Finally, I also am interested in broadening my yoga reproitoire of poses. It seems all the yoga videos I own do the same poses in different orders. I KNOW there is more out there, someone give it to me!

posted Aug 31st, 2010 3:04 pm


Mio

Yoga makes me feel GREAT! I just started this summer by following some videos online, Tara's actually :), and I make healther food choices and feel revitalized when I complete a routine even if its a quick routine. It helps me feel centered and more connected with myself physically as well as spiritually.

posted Aug 31st, 2010 2:44 pm


Amanda

I would love to have this so I can get in shape for my wedding day!!

posted Aug 31st, 2010 2:42 pm



Cinthya Juandy

I was at first thinking that yoga was simply a kind of sport,to burn fat. And that's why I joined yoga class in my city which is associated with international yogalife network. Never heard yoga practised by youngsters like me,but it proved that I was wrong. After some sessions, I began to understand that yoga brings great calmness in soul, makes you hear the sound of nature, reminds you to love yourself(such as the way you sway your legs like baby!), body flexibility and better immune system, and all of those mentioned lead to healthier life, physically and mentally. Not yet mention tat u'll get good sleep at night after the session on that day..My instructor in every session always shares the usefulness of every pose (I don't know whether Tara also does the same,so I shud see Tara's DVD!But can't find it in stores here when it's released,with no credit card to purchase online, I ended up buying other yoga dvd..) , he also comes up with detox program and meditation session..so.. what I expect from yoga then, is healthy longevity. Thanks Tara to be so humble and spreading love n care on your way in expanding people's knowledge bout yoga. Namaskar..

posted Aug 31st, 2010 2:01 pm


Crystal

Yoga reminds me that the only person I have to worry about during my "exercise" time is me. After discovering Tara on youtube (awesome vids!), it was so freeing to see that yoga could and should be fun.

posted Aug 31st, 2010 12:47 pm


Natalie

I have been going thru such a difficult time in my life and have not found anything more lifesaving right now other than yoga! I am still a beginner and in the process of getting to know my body. But I truly believe nothing is going to get me thru life more peacefully and grounded! The physical, mental, emotional and even spirtual unity and connection that transpires thru your practice is unexpainable and it only gets better the longer you do it! I am looking forward to making it a center of my life as long as I live, in the long run it will make me a much better, healthier person:) Just getting to know TaraStiles on youtube I have fell in love with her videos and am really looking forward to winning her new DVD!!

posted Aug 31st, 2010 12:38 pm


CAROL

Yoga helps me be more mindful of what I'm putting in my body and also of my attitude. It's also helping me find alignment that helps with my surfing!

posted Aug 31st, 2010 11:48 am


Melanie

I've been doing Tara's YouTube videos for a little while now. I work at home and find that doing short bouts of yoga several times a day allows me to stay focussed on the work that I am doing. It also helps to keep me from getting too tight in the shoulders (I'm at the computer a lot). It's a great break in my day and I look forward to it!

posted Aug 31st, 2010 11:37 am


Jessica

I LOVE YOGA! It makes you feel great and look great too!:)

posted Aug 31st, 2010 11:24 am


Deepika Sharma

i am really looking forward to new DVD. Tara is my inspiration for yoga and dietinreview.com is the best website i found till date in promoting healthy living.. Congratz!! to u guys. XoXo

posted Aug 31st, 2010 10:37 am


Heather

doing yoga makes people more conscious as far as what they are doing and what they are putting into thier bodies, therefore leading a healtier lifestyle. Yoga is great for the mind & the spirit; makes me feel great!

posted Aug 31st, 2010 10:32 am


Kristin

I've been following Tara's YouTube videos and I'm finding that I like her as a yoga instructor and a person. She makes me feel that I really can make yoga a normal, everyday part of my life. :-)

posted Aug 31st, 2010 10:27 am


David

When I am practicing Yoga, I am getting in touch with my inner peace. I am connecting my body, mind and soul. It feels so blissful. Very soon, I am doing Yoga not only when I am doing Asana but it becomes my lifestyle.

Namaste

posted Aug 31st, 2010 10:27 am


Jessica

I love yoga! As a mother of two young children and also a full-time student I have found yoga as a great way to clear my mind and relieve stress. Even better it has helped tone and strengthen my entire body!

posted Aug 31st, 2010 10:18 am


Brittany

Yoga helps me to lead a healthier and more fun life because it creates a time of day where I can be calm and centered within the storm of every day life and chaos! It's a great way to help my muscles stretch out (especially while I'm training for the NYC ING Marathon!) and to give me the strength I need both mentally and physically. :0)

posted Aug 31st, 2010 10:10 am


Jennifer irons

Love yoga - I have a 1 year old and it's my sole "me" time and I cherish every second of it :) The more I can get in the better I am for everyone!!!

posted Aug 31st, 2010 10:02 am


Tiffany

At first, I was a little wary of the focus on fat-burning and the seeming co-opting of the spiritual tradition of yoga, but once I let that go I could appreciate how wonderful Tara is at helping you integrate yoga into your daily life-- even multiple times. She's your partner in yoga devotion, even if you're dedication is practiced differently.

posted Aug 31st, 2010 10:02 am


Leila

I first found Tara on youtube and she got me started doing yoga three times daily. I've noticed that I've been breathing deeper all day, sleeping better, and feeling very calm :)

posted Aug 31st, 2010 10:00 am



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account