Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

KFC’s New Double Down Chicken Sandwich is Frightening

kfc double down sandwich

UPDATE: The KFC Double Down Chicken Sandwich is set to debut on menus nationwide on April 12, 2010. The Original Recipe sandwich will boast 540 calories, 32g of fat and 1380mg of sodium; the Grilled sandwich will have 460 calories, 23g of fat and 1430mg of sodium.

It was one of the moments of television-watching where I thought maybe my eyes were playing a trick on me, but then I saw the commercial for KFC‘s new Double Down Chicken Sandwich and I realized this was no cruel joke.

This jaw-dropping concoction from the fast-food chicken chain points to why in this country we have our current obesity epidemic. This sandwich (if you can call it that) is two Original Recipe fried chicken filets stacked on top of each other with a slice of pepper jack cheese, a slice of Swiss cheese, two slices of bacon and the Colonel’s secret sauce. No bun. The fried chicken is the bun. Just a stack of saturated fat, sodium and calories.

With my gaping jaw still wide-open with dismay, I went to KFC’s website and found nothing on it. No photos, no press releases and perhaps fortunately, no nutrition information on this appalling and shameful creation.

KFC redeemed itself in recent months by adding new grilled chicken options to its regular menu of fried chicken, creamy coleslaw, and greasy biscuits, but it seems like with this new Double Down Chicken Sandwich, they have undone any progress they may have made with trying to healthy-up their menu.

When KFC decides to put the nutritional stats on their website, DietsInReview will be sure to share that data with you. But we are warning you now, it won’t be pretty.

View Most Unhealthy Fast Food Menu Items Slideshow

August 21st, 2009

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 21 total comments)

christian

delicous best thing i ever ate who cares about the fat you can work it off but the price is hefty

posted Dec 6th, 2010 4:36 pm


Dale

This is one of the best fast food choices available. Seriously, eating wheat, corn, sugar and starchy vegetables will stop your heart faster than eating fat, which incidentally, your body needs.

Fats aren't the problem, folks. Carbs are the problem.

posted Apr 29th, 2010 11:45 pm


Chicken Lover is Sad

Fried chicken is my favorite food second only to a fist thick del. The only thing worse than this in the easy access world of fried chicken is the dried out stuff you can get at the gas station 5 hours after lunch is over.

On the health crap, I don't care if something is a bit unhealthy as I exercise a bit of disipline and don't eat it all the time. Thought perhaps this would make for a lunch with half of it left for nuking a snack later that night. Whoops, guess again....puny little thing.

I can deal with the fat and and calories. It doesn't take as much effort to go for a run or even mow the lawn instead of hiring the neighbor to do it as people whine and complain that it does, (I can't because of my health. I have kids and don't have enough time. Stop making excuses for your inability to see what your feet used to look like.)

The sodium though. Was it really necessary to inject it with a salt mine? I guess the expression "season to taste" has sort of fallen by the wayside. Gimme a salt packet, if I want to raise my blood pressure, I'll do it myself.

Don't with the rant. Just sorta bummed. Six bucks and not a bit more food (or better taste) than in any other "regular" chicken sandwhich. Feel sorta insulted that KFC thought I wouldn't notice that I wasn't even getting the size chicken breast that they themselves usually use. Fool me once...blah blah. Go prey on the next fool, I won't fall for it (or your next gimmick out of spite alone) again.

posted Apr 23rd, 2010 4:19 pm


KFC Watchdog

For the record: The Double Down Sandwich was a huge disappointment. The form, the cost, the flavor. However, even though the previous comments didn't like it either, I must disagree about size and health concerns. The sandwich "sounds" large but was really very small. The smallest boneless chicken breasts I have ever seen -- much smaller than the chicken breasts in other fast food sandwiches. The bacon is small and thin. This item is so small (for $5.50 after tax) -- It is too small to be of any health consequence. The flavor was okay (mostly because of the cheese and the sauce) but it would have been a much better sandwich if they added a real bun, with tomato and lettuce instead of insulting us with a hollow gimmick. I think they will sell a few one-time sales to the curious (and some ad exec will make a fortune) but this will be a major flop for KFC unless they reduce the price and put in on the dollar menu -- the $1 chicken sandwich probably weighs more than this so called "huge sandwich" -- Ranking on scale of 1-5: Taste = 2, Value = 1, Gimmick to ripoff consumer = 5

posted Apr 15th, 2010 9:42 pm


Kyle

I just had this sandwich. Best 53g of protein I EVER HAD! Great for bulking up, post workout meal! Got everything you need carbs, protein, and even the sodium if you workout hard! Don't listen to these PETA vegetarians!

posted Apr 14th, 2010 9:23 pm


Sam Smith

Michael Phelps eats nearly 11K calories (includes a lot of junk food as well) and is a world class athlete! Get off your back and workout and eat whatever you want!

posted Apr 12th, 2010 7:12 pm


Colonel

Excellent sandwich and represents the four food groups - bacon, chicken, cheese, and mayonaise. I consider the deep fry a bonus. This is the Monte Cristo of fast food. I give it a "Da bears, da bulls" best rating. (As an added bonus KFC is obviously worried about population control).

posted Apr 12th, 2010 5:17 pm


C C

This thing is completely horrible, the chicken was about the size of a sausage patty from mcdonalds, and about the same thickness too.

posted Apr 12th, 2010 3:48 pm


Me

Don't be ignorant, folks! This is NOT gonna make u Atkins dieters skinny!

posted Apr 12th, 2010 2:18 pm


Christie

this is on the kfc website. I didn't see at first but was looking on the nuttition PDF and saw it. Then I saw the picture of it on their website! I do Atkins and this is like a dreamcome true! I cannot wit til Monday to try it.

posted Apr 9th, 2010 7:59 am


Adriana

I am on a low-carb diet. The article said there was a grilled chicken double down, and if that's the case, I'll go order one as soon as it comes out. Believe it or not, I've lost weight increasing my fat and calories and decreasing my carbs. My lipid profile is awesome, too. I get lots of veggies, nuts, seeds, and a good amount of protein from cheese and meat, so this sandwich (if the chicken isn't breaded) is right up my alley!

posted Apr 8th, 2010 10:41 pm


qwerty

THAT LOOKS SO GOOD! but i bet if you take one bite you will gain 50 pounds....

posted Apr 7th, 2010 1:19 am


No Punt Intended

Lol, this sandwich is hilarious! MAYBE if they were the grilled/baked chicken breasts, I could support this. I work out and I'm eating a baked chicken breast as we speak (no bun for those empty carbs) but noone who actually watches what they eat would touch this. Unless they watch what they eat just beacuse they can't see what's going on below their gut...

I like where tony pierson is goign with the bacon weave, why not weave a "wrap". People always think they're healthy lol.

posted Mar 11th, 2010 3:51 pm


tony pierson

This "sandwich" will have fields of wheat breathing a sigh of relief! How much do you want to bet the secret sauce has mayo....3 species (if you count the milk as cow)! I imagine you can get the combo meal with potato wedges, cole slaw, a butter biscuit, and a grande pepsi! And hopefully they still have those processed strawberry shortcake buckeys that we used to beg mom for when we were kids!

What's next? McDonalds weaving bacon into the shape of a bun, stuffed with sausage, holding a beef patty filled with alfredo sauce, dressed with 6 different types of cheese, with the whole concoction drenched in nacho cheese? (With a gravy milkshake and a diet coke...).

posted Sep 16th, 2009 9:42 pm


whoa

It's not a matter of caloriphobia; that's not food. Plain and simple. That's an abominable conglomeration of abused, chemically engineered chickens, processed and fried and topped with processed and chemically-engineered "cheese." Not to mention the bacon, once again a far cry from the bacon of anyone's hardy old grandfather. To say very little of the incredible cruelty and ethical lapses that produced the meat and cheese on this creation, this is not and should not be considered food.

posted Sep 16th, 2009 1:08 pm


Elizabeth

Exactly, I don't know what kind of workouts you do but I run 30 mile races and am at %19 body fat, really good for a female and I would never consume a thing like that. My heart wouldn't be able to even carry me through a workout if it was clogged up with that garbage. Not to mention the fat that would get into my muscles preventing them to work right. I would think people that work out would be a little more health conscious. It's not about looking good but feeling good and being healthy overall. This is exactly why prevention is more necessary in this country.

posted Sep 16th, 2009 10:54 am


KY

OMG...freaking unreal. Too Awesome to be true! 2 boneless fried chicken filets, with bacon, swiss and pepper jack cheese in the middle. I'm gonna bug my local KFC here in WV until the make and sell me one! Gotta have!! It's a Must!

posted Aug 25th, 2009 2:45 pm


Fog Horn Leghorn

Yah gotta be mindful of the conditions those chickens were livin in.
I say are you listening boy?
A real chicken hawk wouldn't eat those concentration camp victims
I say boy Now you listen up
Get out there and get your self some real free range chicken
Now thats what a real chicken hawk would do

posted Aug 23rd, 2009 11:02 pm


Exactly

FoodLover is right. KFC doesn't exactly cook their food in lard, and just because it's fried doesn't mean it's inherently unhealthy. To someone working out, this is a pretty good lunch. You still need some veggies with it (so skip the fries and get the green beans), but that is a lot of protein in one meal, with none of the empty carbs of an enriched flour bun.

calories mean nothing. get off your asses and workout, and eat what you want.

posted Aug 23rd, 2009 10:23 am


FoodLover

You calorophobes are such morons. My grandfather ate meals that would make that sandwich look like a vitamin supplement twice a day, and lived to the ripe old age of 87. He worked hard on a farm all day. It's not food that is causing the obesity of America- it's laziness. I'm gonna go to KFC and try one of these beauts right now.

posted Aug 21st, 2009 5:32 pm


Sean Amore

I'm horrified. This was pretty scary too. My, my, my . . .

posted Aug 21st, 2009 3:07 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account