Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

“Eat Smart, Move More, Weigh Less” Launches this September

Eat Smart Move More Weigh Less LogoThere’s a lot packed into the name of this program: Eat Smart, Move More, Weigh Less. But before you judge this weight loss program by its title, you should also know that it’s based on principals that have been thoroughly researched and proven to work.

Eat Smart, Move More, Weigh Less was created by a partnership of North Carolina State University, NC Cooperative Extension, East Carolina University Brody School of Medicine and the NC Division of Public Health. It’s part of a larger initiative in North Carolina that goes by the same name. It’s a 15-week course that teaches participants how to live more mindfully, both when it comes to eating and physical activities. Although there are a few Eat Smart, Move More, Weigh Less courses taught in North Carolina, the majority of classes are taught online and will be soon open to the general public. Interested participants can sign up now, and will receive a special discount for signing up before August 26th.

Each weekly online class is taught live by an instructor who is also available to answer questions. To get an idea of what the class is like, I participated in one of their weekly demo classes led by Jamie Pittman, a program coordinator. During the session, you can see a live video of the instructor, chat with classmates and interact in a number of other ways. There’s also an interactive white board that’s uses to lay out key points and ideas.

Jamie says that each class is focused around finding strategies to help people eat better and be more active. There’s nothing prescriptive about the diet or exercise recommendations, but rather, the courses explore how to change behavior. “Eat Smart, Move More, Weigh Less is not a diet, so there are no diet plans, specific foods, or exercises that a person would need to be a part of the program,” Jamie explains. ”This may be a drawback for someone who is looking for a regimented program.” For others, the flexibility of the eating plan makes Eat Smart, Move More, Weigh Less a success, where other diet plans failed for being to restrictive. Participants will learn about sensible portions, how to eat more whole grains, fruits and vegetables, and how to create a calorie deficit.

The program also provides users with plenty of support and helps them stay accountable for their progress. Participants are encouraged to keep a journal of both their daily meals and their physical activity. Each week, participants log their minutes of aerobic activity and strength training for the instructors to review. Participants are also encouraged to find a classmate to buddy with, to share experiences and tips with throughout the week.

Jamie emphasizes the fact that each lesson in the Eat Smart, Move More, Weigh Less curriculum is based on research, and was developed largely with public health programs in mind. “It’s not about making money for us,” she says.

Win a Free Eat Smart Move More Weigh Less 15-Week Session!

Eligibility: Post a comment below telling us what you find to be the biggest challenge when it comes to losing weight.

Drawing: Five winners will be drawn and announced 9/15/11, and awarded with a spot in a 15-week Eat Smart, Move More. Weight Less program, valued at $150. You will be able to enroll in any session of your choice before September 1, 2012.

*DISCLAIMER: Only residents of the U.S. are eligible to win. DietsInReview.com will draw one winner September 15, 2011 and will notify winner via the email used in the comment form. Winner has five business days to respond and claim prize or forfeit prize. DietsInReview.com may replace the prize with one of equal value if prize is not available. Prize value is $150.00; not redeemable for cash. Prize provided by Eat Smart, Move More, Weigh Less.

August 19th, 2011

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 20 total comments)

SANDRA

My biggest obstacle is being consistent and at 62 finding a program to lose on that is a reasonable plan.

posted Sep 6th, 2011 1:11 pm



Sorka

I think my biggest obstacle is establishing a routine. I spend so much time putting out fires as a homeschooling mom that I just can't get that routine going.. even though I know that once I do I see results!

posted Sep 6th, 2011 12:56 pm



Jaime Goodman Castillo

I think my biggest challenge is having to cook two meals at a time. I have to make dinner each night for my family and then a healthy dinner for me because I am watching my calories. I end up making something simple for myself because I do not want to go through the effort of another big meal. It would be great if I could learn to cook healthy meals for the entire family that we could all eat. I think it would help me not get bored with my personal menu and would help my family have a healthier lifestyle. I am the only one that needs to lose weight, however we all need to be healthy. I would love some help with this.

Jaime

posted Sep 6th, 2011 11:51 am



Angela Snipes

My biggest obstacle sometimes is just the free time I need to work out. With a toddler and a grandbaby in the house ... it can get hectic!

posted Sep 5th, 2011 8:02 pm



Nory White

I have so much trouble getting started and staying on track...I know what to do and can help others. I need this help.

posted Sep 5th, 2011 8:57 am


Savanah

I guess my biggest challenge lies in the fact that I use my poor time management as a crutch. If I get up 20 minutes earlier I know I can have enough time to prepare my meal for the day. I get lazy and want to just sleep in which in turn makes it hard to eat healthy with my on-the-go lifestyle. And when it comes to exercise I just don't feel like doing it. I'm getting better in that area but it'd help to have that extra accountability.

posted Sep 4th, 2011 11:52 pm



mrsvega919

I've been doing really well with the exercising part. I take part in a bootcamp class 5 times a week. My big problem is eating well, or better. In the 8 weeks I have been bootcamping, I haven't lost any weight. I feel better physically, and can see muscular changes, but nothing on the scale.

posted Sep 4th, 2011 10:05 pm


Michele

Portion control is my biggest weight loss issue.

posted Sep 4th, 2011 10:04 pm


Cassandra

My biggest challenge is my love for food! I know what I should eat but once I'm hungry it becomes nearly impossible to stay on track. I travel a lot for my job and that makes eating well really difficult as well. I would love to win a15 week session!

posted Sep 3rd, 2011 9:09 am


Sarah

My biggest hurdle is not mindlessly snacking when I"m not actually hungry, followed closely by temptations when eating out with friends.

posted Sep 3rd, 2011 12:49 am


Jen

My biggest challenge is myself. I know all of the things I need to do to lose the weight but I hold myself back. I got within 30 lbs of my goal and then I just allowed life to get in my way. I need to learn how to control my stress, my emotions and my food.

posted Sep 2nd, 2011 10:13 pm


Anastasia

My biggest challenge is planning for busy days without a lot of time to cook and knowing what to take when I'm on the road most of the time.

posted Sep 2nd, 2011 8:42 pm



Bonnie Pettit

my biggest challenge is that I am a newly diagnosed diabetic and I am trying to learn how to deal with that and I DO NOT like vegetables and I need to learn how to like them and cook them so that I will like them. I am very stubborn when it comes to that but I need so much help in that department and also getting motivated to move a little more!

posted Sep 2nd, 2011 6:52 pm



Shanda Ostwalt

My biggest challenge is cooking the right things and motivation to get up and exercise when im home. I cook for 2 others who want the nonhealthy foods like fried chicken and fried porkchops. I prefer baked or grilled meats and I enjoy plenty. Plus people always eating junk food like twinkies and honey buns around me.

posted Sep 2nd, 2011 6:07 pm


Kerri

My biggest challenge is finding balance- cutting back on the unhealthy foods while still making sure I'm getting enough food...working out but not living at the gym. I tend to go from one extreme to the other.

posted Sep 2nd, 2011 5:06 pm



Melisa Funer

The biggest challenge for me are the plateau's I hit. They seem to last forever. I keep eating the "right" foods and drink plenty of water, but the scale isn't moving. I've been on my journey for a year and a half...I've lost about 80lbs. My way doesn't seem to be working for me anymore.

posted Sep 2nd, 2011 5:03 pm


Mary

My biggest challenge when it comes to weight loss is fatigue and headaches. That derails me every time!

posted Sep 2nd, 2011 4:17 pm


Meghann

Biggest challenge when it comes to loosing weight...there are so many to choose from but being a full time working mom of two both in school it's finding "me" time and time to make healthy meals for my family. I have become a short order cook because we dont' get home until around 6pm and dont' have time to make full meals.

posted Sep 2nd, 2011 4:11 pm


Stacie

Myself....simply put. I'm responsible for my own progress or lack thereof. I already have a personal trainer I work with once a week, but I find myself only going to those sessions. Then there's food. I struggle with making better choices on a daily basis. It all boils down to me though.

posted Sep 2nd, 2011 4:10 pm


Crystal

My biggest challenge is having PCOS and pre-diabetes. Both of these conditions send a message to my brain telling it I'm hungry when I'm not. I will do my absolute best not to listen but there are times where it just nags and nags and I eat to silence it. It's hard to explain and it's hard for someone to understand who is not going through it.

posted Sep 2nd, 2011 4:06 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account