Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Idaho Mom Loses 100 Pounds and Manages Type 2 Diabetes

Joining us as guest blogger is Jill Knapp. Jill is from Idaho, where she lost 100 pounds after being diagnosed with gestational diabetes while pregnant. Today, she manages her diabetes with diet and exercise and without medication. Jill’s goal is to keep generating awareness about Type 2 diabetes and encouraging others to “Get Up and Get Moving.” I competed in the Mrs. Idaho pageant, made the top 5 and the reason I competed is to spread my message more.

Jill Knapp: Before/After Losing 100 Pounds

Jill Knapp: Before/After Losing 100 Pounds

Like many other pregnant mothers, I was diagnosed with gestational diabetes when I had my last child at age 37. I was suffering from fatigue and headaches after childbirth. My son was born very ill and I thought my own health symptoms were just the result of taking care of a sick newborn. My husband encouraged me to go see my doctor to find out what was causing the headaches. After taking a few tests, I was confirmed as a Type 2 diabetic.

Like anyone else hearing this new for the first time, I was in shock.  It took about 24 hours for me to establish an action plan as I did not want this for myself nor for my family. So I gradually began to exercise and eat six small meals a day. Over time, I lost 100 pounds and successfully brought my diabetes under control.

Today, I am a diabetes advocate, speaking publicly at health fairs, schools, youth groups and gyms sharing my journey and encouraging others to lead a healthier lifestyle. I also established my own website to educate others about Type 2 diabetes as I find great joy in motivating others to reach their health goals. I am a strong advocate of making lifestyle changes rather than following fad diets and I strongly encourage others to “Get Up and Get Moving.”

Guest Blog Series: Look for the following badge on your favorite health sites to see if they have been a featured guest blogger on DietsInReview.com. See other posts in the Guest Blog series.

Diets in Review - Weight Loss and Diet Blog

If you would like to apply to be featured as a guest blogger, please contact us.

June 27th, 2009

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 13 total comments)

karen walker

Inspiring,touching and loved this article

posted Nov 2nd, 2009 9:58 pm


Cathy

I liked this!

posted Sep 9th, 2009 2:00 pm


Bella

loved her blog and need to go now. Running to the Gym.

posted Sep 3rd, 2009 11:32 am


Lauren

Very Inspiring.

Regards,

Lauren

posted Aug 26th, 2009 8:33 pm


Abigail

She has been though so much to get wher she is at. Thanks for this post.

posted Aug 20th, 2009 9:41 pm


Bobbi Sanders

Pound per pound off. What an inspiration. OK, I am headed to the gym after reading this.

Thanks for the great message.

posted Aug 17th, 2009 5:48 pm


Carmen

Inspiring message. heard the whole podcast from her site. To end up doing a pageant must have been a wonderful feeling after losing all of that weight.

posted Aug 8th, 2009 1:01 pm


Ronda

I loved her blog and her story! Simply inspiring. I may just have to lose that much weight and make a pageant my goal! Loved the podcast that was ran from a site on her blog for woman over 40.

posted Aug 2nd, 2009 12:11 am


Tammy

My job is to help woman so I loved this message. It's nice to see that someone with diabetes or any illness for that matter takes it upon themselves to share with others how to change and grow from having it.

posted Jul 24th, 2009 10:19 pm


Vikas

Very inspirational Blog for the women suffering from overweigh and diabetes. Love to read more of such inspiring incidents.

Regards
Diet Consultant

posted Jul 22nd, 2009 2:00 am


Tonya

Wonderful message. I found her site to be full of wonderful inspiration and information.

posted Jul 20th, 2009 9:06 pm


Samatha

Loved that she did this without any pills or surgery. I am very inspired. Ready to lose some weight my self!

Great blogger!

posted Jul 14th, 2009 3:03 pm


Larin

Jill is such an amazing woman. I am proud she is my sister! Good job Jill, you are an inspiration to so many.

posted Jul 6th, 2009 11:19 am



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




2 Responses to “Idaho Mom Loses 100 Pounds and Manages Type 2 Diabetes”


Kathy
Jun 27th, 2009
2:02 pm

Love this post. She has a very strong message to share. Good for her for losing so much weight. She looks wonderful. She definitely has inspired me to get up and get moving.


Janice
Jun 28th, 2009
2:40 pm

Great work. sounds like shed to go through so much to get the results you got. Her site has so much helpful information on it. She looks amazing. I have diabetes and still have 35 pounds to go. I have had to use assistance with diet pills but I only take them twice a week now.