Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar’s Dr. Michael Snyder

Dr. Michael Snyder

With loyal and passionate followers and and concerned naysayers, the hCG diet is one of the most controversial diets on the market today. In order to offer the DietsInReview.com readers with a medical and scientific perspective, we interviewed Dr. Michael Snyder, a weight loss surgeon and the founder of FullBar, to share his medical opinion about the hCG diet.

What is hCG?

hCG is a naturally-occurring hormone. But just because it’s natural, doesn’t mean that it’s safe.

Increased amounts of hCG are part of a common physiological process, such as in the instance of pregnancy, but they are also markers of severe pathological problems as well, such as malignancies.

Does hCG work?

I have seen no indication that ingesting hCG increases your blood level of it. Your body, just like it would digest a piece of chicken, is going to digest hCG and break it down.

In addition, I have found no clinical indication that hCG increases metabolism. If this were the case, we might see pregnant women who are also anorexic, but in fact, we see just the opposite: Pregnant women gain weight.

The reason why hCG diets will work is because you are also eating only a 500-calorie or 1,200-calorie-a-day diet. Following a calorically-restricted diet is very worthwhile as an adjunct to weight loss, and anytime you have a person who consumes an unrestricted diet, alter their eating patterns to consume a calorically-regulated diet, you will see weight loss.

What are the risks involved with hCG?

hCG in and of itself is not injurious but I’m skeptical that intentionally increasing your levels of hCG is effective and safe.

There are individuals who are placed on oral hormone replacement treatment. Thyroid hormones are a great example. When you are taking medically-prescribed hormones, like thyroid, your doctor will carefully monitor the feedback loop of the hormones. This feedback response is something that you can measure.

With hCG, I see no such monitoring being done which makes me think that either it is being prescribed in a very casual and very dangerous way or that you’re simply not absorbing it. I haven’t found any clinical studies that show how hCG is being dosed and monitored when it’s prescribed, and if so, if it is in fact having any effects.

In addition, if something is that good, as hCG claims to be, you are likely then to find it all over in thousands of stores. My concern is that if you can only find it on the internet, then it has limited veracity.

Thanks so much Dr. Snyder!

After years of working with people who are seriously overweight at his nationally recognized Bariatric Center of Excellence, Dr. Snyder wanted to do more for the majority of people with weight issues who are not candidates for surgery or who would never consider surgery. He also wanted to be able to help people who had been disappointed by their previous weight-loss efforts. That’s when the idea of Fullbar was born. Dr. Snyder wanted to help people feel that same level of fullness in a non-surgical way. Learn more about FullBar and Dr. Michael Snyder by visiting the FullBar website.

Also Read:

June 17th, 2010

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 16 total comments)

Ben Gonzalez, MD

Unfortunately Dr. Snyder, though with good intentions, does not have true practical experience with the actual hCG Protocol. It is especially obvious in his last statements that "if hCG was really good then it would be found in thousands of stores." hCG is a medication that is not found in any store whatsoever and can only be properly prescribed by a physician. Dr Snyder falls into a trap that many other physicians fall into. The same trap I fell into when I first was exposed to the "hCG Diet" 5 years ago. I thought it was crap and was very vocal about my position. I based my comments on what I knew about very low calorie diets and the negative effects I saw patients have that bought over the counter hCG diets. It turns out over the counter, most internet hCG, and all homeopathic hCG has no actual hCG medication whatsoever in their products. So us physicians were getting feedback on the "HCG Diet" from patients who were not on hCG and their outcomes were similar to those who simply went on very low calorie diets: a starvation state. And that is bad overall. It is difficult to describe in a short comment forum the complexity of the actual hCG Protocol as a tool for weight management. My position now after research and much practical experience is that when followed by a physician, appropriate hCG medication is prescribed in the appropriate setting the actual hCG protocol can be very effective and very safe. What is interesting is that the FDA has approved a procedure like the gastric bypass which has an actual yearly death rate of over 200 people, yet does not approve hCG for weight loss even though it has been shown to be effective. Not one single death associated with hCG and not one single long term negative side effect documented.....in over 50 years of use. If anyone is interested in my full opinion I wrote a position paper on this subject that gives a better perspective. Ben Gonzalez, MD

posted Jan 27th, 2012 11:49 pm


jim Mitchell

Dear Doc,
I think maybe u 'n i have a little bit in common, I graduated Maggot cum Lousey w/a BA from the arts college...U're up a notch from that but nowhere near the Suma cum Laude that A.T.W. Simeons, M.D. earned in an English Med School. Oh! I doubt u know who he is.

posted Jun 7th, 2011 1:25 am


Jean

Seems to me this website exists as more of a money maker than an honest to goodness "dieters information site". And how ironic that some of the ads in the side bars are for homeopathic HCG. lol. HCG works and it works well. It was designed for obese people, not for someone who just wants to lose a quick 10. Thousands of obese people have lost weight on this program and so far I've not seen any indication or story about anyone who was seriously affected with health issues stemming from HCG itself. It does actually get into the bloodstream because it is either absorbed through the skin under the tongue if taken sublingually, or given via an injection. I think the people who made this website and the so called doctor snyder person both are gaining monetarily by contributing here. The folks out here posting these comments however have nothing to gain by posting their positive experiences. Kudos to everyone who has lost the weight and learned how to maintain a healthy diet and lifestyle!

posted Mar 26th, 2011 7:32 pm


Amanda

Are you serious?! You ask the FOUNDER of a weight loss fad to RATE A COMPETETOR?! Well I understand that severely restricting calorie intake will make you lose weight on your own, but ever since I started taking HCG drops subligly I actually have energy (for once!) and I am experiencing NO cravings (I have a mountain of girl scout cookies my daughter is selling in the kitchen and have not touched them) and I actually have to remind myself to eat because I am never hungry. I am usually so tired and sluggish, now I bustle around and clean. I have tried every weight loss fad there was (including gastric bypass 4 years ago, unfortunately I gained 30 lbs back when I lost my job in June) and this is the only one that has worked. The people that don't lose on this diet cheat and don't take it seriously. I highly recommend this diet to anyone.

posted Mar 9th, 2011 9:40 am


Tanga

Well doc. i have heard so many good reviews about this HCG Diet that i ordered me and my husband some yesterday and i plan to use it and loose the weight. You are the very firs person to have bad feedback but like someone said your just mad becouse it cuts into ur pocktebook.

posted Feb 25th, 2011 12:15 pm


Breal

C'mon people. Turn the TV off; put the chips and soda down; get off your fat duff and go walk around the block!!! I don't necessarily agree with the doc but I think our society is one of finding the "easy" way out. I have never seen a picture of a fat caveman. (LOL) Take the candy and crap out of your mouth and your kids mouths and go outside and play! And yes I also believe that the Thyroid and other "defects" that people experience are induced by habits. Maybe not yours but how about your parents, grandparents, etc. Do you want the same for your children? Teach yourself and your family new habits. Gastric Bypass is another quick fix (for some it may be necessary to save their life). If something works for you; great! But think of a different way to live life. I agree with one statement above in the article: "alter their eating patterns to consume a calorically-regulated diet, you will see weight loss" Makes sense, huh? Not just the amount... the quality and type of food makes a difference. Got a clue yet?

posted Jan 26th, 2011 4:52 am


claudia

I started the HCG diet 3 weeks ago and i have lost 17 pds. I m just worried that i migt developa blood clot. I do have a history of clots back in 6/09, and i was pregnant. Has anyone of you guys experienced any shortness of breath? Or maybe its just some anxiety i might be having, i do have a history of that and panic disorder. Well but so far this diet has helped me lose weight, i hadn't been able to lose more than 5 pds in the last 5 yrs.

posted Jan 25th, 2011 9:57 pm


annie

can somebody told me where can i order online the drops (originals) or where can i buy them here in san antonio texas thanks.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 1:32 am


mcab

A weight-loss surgeon clearly has an agenda. HCG has a bad rap because of all the snake-oil salesmen selling homeopathic "drops" that contain zero hcg. Pharmaceutical grade HCG works to metabolize abnormal fat reserves. 500 calories is not a sustainable diet in and of itself without the HCG to supplement the extra calories expended from metabolizing fat reserves (which is what fat is supposed to do--at least in hibernating bears :-).
The absence of facts does not mean the facts are absent. The hundreds of thousands of people who have benefitted from this diet over the last 50 years are proof enough to me (along with my own experience in having lost 35 lbs and never feeling better).
We may discover that HCG causes cancer in 20 years, but isn't that true of just about anything?
In the meantime, we have a solution that works and is not as radical as gastric bypass surgery.

posted Dec 21st, 2010 7:00 pm


paulette

HCG is also admisistered as a medically supervised weight loss program through doctor's offices and not just sold on the Internet. Also, there are dand=gers associated with gastric surgery. This is a biased interview.

posted Nov 8th, 2010 12:49 am


Andie

Yes Dr Snyder, I bet there's a HUGE market out there of obese people who can't qualify for or afford Gastric Bypass surgery. But you can nickel and dime 'em to death with your narrow view of dieting while hiding the HCG protocol from them. If I went on the "Biggest Loser" show, I would literally die from the extreme exercise those people do on that show. I have thyroid and adrenal issues that I am self-treating because I can't even get a doctor to properly treat me. I easily lost 23 pounds on my first round of HCG homeopathic drops in 23 days. I plan to use injections the next time around since they were Dr. Simeons original method. The doctors out there who are using the HCG are also using this diet as a cash cow for their practice. It should not cost $1000 to do this when I can do one cycle of this for under $50. The Optifast Diet I went on years ago under a doctor's care (and destroyed my metabolism in the process) cost thousands of dollars. At least admit the REAL reason you dislike the HCG Diet. It just cuts into your pocketbook while you deny overweight people a real shot at changing their lives without all the misery of your method.

posted Aug 20th, 2010 2:33 am


Dr. Duncan Simmons,MD

I bet you recommend your products. You obviously have not read Dr. Simeon's original article. The FDA you seem to place so much confidence in, is it by chance the same FDA that approved Vioxx, Cipro, Avandia.......
It is my professional opinion, as a Yale trained plastic surgeon that this is the safest method for weight loss. Would tell a morbidly obese pt to go run a marathon or climb a rock wall? Are you serious? You, as well as many other critics make comments about the 500 calorie per day diet, without any consideration to the 1500-2000 calories per day released from deep fat stores by the HcG. I lost 35# in 3 weeks, and have no idea what headaches, irritabilty or other side effects you are referring to. I feel better that I have in 30 years.

posted Aug 14th, 2010 1:45 pm


Dr. HCG

Wrong doc! Where your evidence? Daulbert standard, long term randomized evidence. You have non and neither do I. But I lost 60lbs in 60 days, I look great adn feel great. No more metformin, or cholestorol meds, knees don't hurt and I have kept it off for 4 years. You and others like you make money off dieters and you don't want them to know just how easy this is. SHAME ON YOU. Get a real job people don't have to break the bank to lose weight and you know it!!

posted Aug 4th, 2010 8:45 pm


Lety

What I find funny is that this is coming from a weight loss surgeon and creator of a supposed "FullBar" claiming to help you lose weight the "natural" way. This guy is raking in millions of dollars from the weight loss market. He's the last person on earth that would want a real cure to obesity. I'd like to see unbiased clinical studies on HCG but of course that will never happen because there is way too much money being profited from the weight loss industry.

I think HCG users can testify for themselves that HCG really does work. I was also a skeptic myself until I started doing more research. Based on my findings I decided to give the diet a try. I ordered my HCG injections and tested it with a pregnancy test. Indeed, the product is real HCG.

Today is day 7 and I'm nearly in shock with the results. There is no way that ANYONE can adhere to a 500 calorie diet and have the amount of energy that I have. I will admit that the hunger hasn't subsided but it's bearable. I'd rather feel a little hunger than stuff my face and feel like I'm going to explode. I've lost an average of 1.5 lbs daily; something I have never been able to achieve with exercise and diet alone.

Last year I starting prepping for the summer by taking indoor cycling, weight training, drinking protein shakes, adhering to a strict 1500 - 1600 calorie diet. I lost 20 lbs. in 4 months. I'm a full-time employee, full-time student and full-time mom. It is extremely difficult for me to find the time to exercise. I was literally burned out. Now, of course there are people that will reply to my comment and tell me you could do this and that. Yes, I very well could, but why would I do that when I can easily do the HCG, lose weight FAST, learn to permanently eat right and in turn I will never gain the weight back?

A huge motivation factor when dieting is fast results and the HCG diet gives you just that. Just the fact that the morning after your first day on the very low calorie diet (VLCD) you drop 2 lbs over night is incredible. Every morning you wake up and run to the scale to discover you lost another 1-2 lbs. Now, can any expert out there give me a REAL VALID reason as to why I am losing weight and feeling great while eating only 500 calories a day? This shall be interesting?

posted Jul 22nd, 2010 11:33 am


Superbuggg

John (above) said it all - button-on John!

Dr.Snyder seems not to have looked into this at all adequately! The whole point of what Dr.Simeons discovered is that hCG triggers the using-up of normally inaccessible 'stored' fat reserves, and does not erode muscle or metabolic fat.

The opening paragraph says 'one of the most controversial diets on the market'... well, there's nothing controversial about it whatsoever, and it's not really on the 'market' - it's too cheap!

posted Jun 29th, 2010 6:02 pm


John

Hi Doc,
I must say, I haven't seen any clinical trials either and I know why. It's cheap. It works. The pharmaceutical companies can't make a bunch of money on it.
The protocol honestly works like a charm, it improved the quality of my lifestyle like nothing ever. I lost 30 pounds that were right in my GUT. This was 4 years ago and I still haven't gained it back. I had lost it before but always gained it all back and then some, within only 2-3 months.
Going on a low calorie diet for a lot of people does not have them lose weight. The metabolism slows down to the degree that they lower their calories, no good.
I've started many of my friends on the HCG Diet and they all did amazing. I gotta say, it works! I wish some doctor would do an honest clinical, double blind test on this diet and put the nay sayers to rest!

I bought mine online also
John

posted Jun 18th, 2010 9:35 am



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account