Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Learning to Eat Better with My Body Tutor

MyBodyTutor.com Logo

I like to think of myself as a pretty healthy person, so when I started a two-week trial run with MyBodyTutor.com, I didn’t expect it to change how I eat very much. I hoped it would give me some personalized workout tips, and help keep me honest about how much sugar I eat. I was surprised to find out all the ways I could eat better every day, and by how very hands-on this online diet program really is.

My Body Tutor is a one-on-one nutrition and fitness counseling service that provides you with a totally personalized weight loss plan. When you sign up, you will be paired with a Body Tutor, a trained fitness and diet expert who will guide you along your weight loss journey. Before you start, you will have an initial call with your tutor to talk about your goals, fitness level and to help them get to know you.

Adam Gilbert, the founder of My Body Tutor, was—well—my body tutor. In our initial call, I proved to be a pretty atypical client, because my goal is to eat better but not necessarily lose weight. Adam was up for the challenge, explaining that we can all work to be a little healthier. He explained his eating philosophy: cut down on simple carbs, eat plenty of fruits and vegetables, and be sure to get protein with every meal. He also recommended eating some protein and complex carbs every three hours, either as a snack or light meal, to keep my energy and metabolism up.

Adam explained that no particular foods are forbidden, as long as you understand why you’re eating them. This life-style approach to weight loss allows you to eat the foods you love, just in moderation. The tutors ask their clients to examine why they eat unhealthy foods, to avoid stress eating or emotional eating. “One of the things I do with my program is really help people slowly but surely change the way they think and react to food,” said Adam, “and help them understand why they’re eating in the first place. If you do that, then you can absolutely keep weight off for the rest of your life.”

How It Works

My Body Tutor Daily FeedbackEach evening, I signed into MyBodyTutor.com, and logged my meals, exercise for the day, and my plans to exercise the next day. The following morning, I received feed back on every meal and work out. Adam made suggestions on how to eat better, and encouraged me to stay on track with my fitness. Tips like ordering sushi with brown rice instead of white and getting falafel with whole wheat pita quickly became incorporated into my meals. I also found that I was eating way less protein than I could be, something I only vaguely knew before signing up. The program not only helped me eat better, it also forced me to plan better, so that I could get in that serving of protein with each meal.

I sometimes felt annoyed by Adam’s suggestions, even when I knew he was right. I should be applauded for eating a big salad for lunch, right? When Adam pointed out it didn’t have any protein, the grade-monger in me raised its ugly head. I felt better when Adam explained that he doesn’t expect perfection out of his clients. “The goal is progress,” he said. “Knowing that it’s ok to mess up I think takes a lot of pressure off my clients.”

MyBodyTutor Screen ShoA Moment of Gratitude

Another important feature of My Body Tutor is that clients are asked to list three things they are grateful for each day. This might seem silly at first, but it’s a way to focus on things in your life other than weight loss and food. “When you’re focusing on change, sometimes all you focus on is what you’re not doing and that can lead to a lot of negative feelings,” said Adam. “I want my clients to feel good at the end of the day, not like they’re a failure. It’s important for them to focus on what’s good while they’re also transitioning.” Sharing things you’re grateful for also helps your tutor get to know aspects of your life that might not otherwise be apparent.

Conclusion

Although the program is obviously geared more towards people who want to lose weight than someone with goals like mine, My Body Tutor certainly helped me be more aware of what I ate and how often I exercised. The program makes clients accountable for their food choices and physical activity, and also provides emotional support. Clients receive a weekly phone call with their tutor, frequent motivational emails, and access to online tools that will track your progress. You can give your tutor a “crisis” call—or send an email—whenever you need advice on staying on track or handling a difficult situation. There’s also a Platinum membership that includes daily calls with your tutor.

My Body Tutor provides a weight loss service that’s that antithesis of a fad diet, teaching people how to eat better without being overly restrictive. “What really bothers me are people who go from one fad diet to the next, without ever sticking to it,” said Adam. “I’m really interested in people who lose weight and keep it all off. The only way to do that is to really change your thoughts, actions and behaviors.”

WINNER SELECTED 6/30/11: KAREN

Win 1 Month Free with My Body Tutor!

Eligibility: Post a comment below telling us why this would help you reach your health goals.

Drawing: One winner will be drawn and announced 6/30/11, and awarded with a month’s access to My Body Tutor, valued at $149.

 

*DISCLAIMER: Only residents of the U.S. are eligible to win. DietsInReview.com will draw one winner June 30, 2011 and will notify winner via the email used in the comment form. Winner has five business days to respond and claim prize or forfeit prize. DietsInReview.com may replace the prize with one of equal value if prize is not available. Prize value is $149.00; not redeemable for cash. Prize provided by My Body Tutor.

May 31st, 2011

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 17 total comments)

Marc C.

Dear Diets in Review,

I??m not sure how I came across this article but this service really resonates with me. (I think I may have overheard a co-worker talking about it.)

Anyway, anyone who isn't in great shape isn't because they're either not staying consistent with their diet and/or exercise or both.

It??s so easy to make excuses! They are always there! And they always make sense - that's what rationalizations do for us.

I wanted to thank you for writing this thoughtful and detailed review and bringing this co. to our attention.

If you want to succeed with anything in life, it??s important to be able to see through your own rationalizations but 99% of people can't do that.

It's why the most successful people in this world all have coaches too and MBT makes it very doable for the regular guy to have one as well.

So I just wanted to say thank you for letting us know about MyBodyTutor. Adam got in touch with me immediately and he really is so passionate about what he does, his philosophy and his system. It??s very inspiring.

My wife joined yesterday too and we??re both loving it. Thanks again for the great recommendation and giving me the push to take action.

Sincerely,

Marc

posted Jun 30th, 2011 10:48 am


Mer

Ahhh, how do I win this?!? I want to win so badly!!! I'm amazing at starting diets...but awful at actually following through with them.

This service would help me to actually follow through and then I'd finally get the results I want! What a great concept!

Pick me! Pick me! :)

posted Jun 29th, 2011 11:29 pm


Stephanie

I now see why MBT has such glowing reviews. MBT clearly understands weight loss because when it comes down to it - it's not that we don't know what to do.

I feel that for the most part, we all know what to do. It's just about actually doing it!

I also love how MBT doesn't try to over-complicate weight loss. As they say, weight loss is about 3 things: Eating right. Exercising. And doing those two things consistently.

The hard part is the consistency aspect of it. And they nail that on the head!

If it was so easy to stay consistent, I wouldn't have lost and gained and lost and gained weight dozens and dozens of times throughout my life.

MBT is a fantastic service - especially, after reading all of the case studies, testimonials and press they've received. It's a brilliant idea, and a service that is needed badly.

And one that I truly know I need. And one that I really hope to win! :)

posted Jun 29th, 2011 11:08 pm



Leah N

Wow what a great service! I would like to win this for myself because I am always reading about the newest way to keep my body healthy! I have been overweight most of my life. The reason I would like this is to keep myself accountable for my food and my exersise

posted Jun 29th, 2011 7:06 pm


Meredith

I think this service was created for me!!

Like so many of us, I'm really good at starting diets but awful at following through with them.

This service would be perfect for me because I'm really good at losing the first few pounds but then I always, always fall off track! Consistency is definitely my problem!

I read through the MyBodyTutor.com site and the enthusiasm and passion just radiates off the screen. Even if I don't win, I'm going to give it a shot.

I've been looking for something like this for a long time and I'm excited to even know such a company exists now. Thanks DIR for bringing this to light!

I think for the price they charge and for what I'll get as a client, it's a no-brainer anyway.

Although, I certainly wouldn't mind winning! :)

posted Jun 28th, 2011 3:28 pm



janiecorona

Food is often my weakness. I was thin as a child and I didn't like to eat. My mom solved that by hitting me if I didn't eat...so, I ate everything that was offered to me and I at it ALL, in order to avoid being hit. Now, I'm an adult. I am responsible for my own choices, but I still have difficulty in one area: PORTION CONTROL. I also never learned the difference between good and bad foods, as my parents bought what was cheap in price, not what was good in nutrition.

posted Jun 25th, 2011 6:40 pm


Mary

I an starting a new food and exercise program!!! This would be a great tool to help ms on mr weight Lisa and fitness journey!!!

posted Jun 25th, 2011 4:38 pm


Jordan

I am trying to lose fat while building muscle. I think this program would really help me to achieve this goal. It's hard to know what would be best to eat to put on healthy weight!

posted Jun 20th, 2011 4:25 pm


Karen

I'm a chef who is struggling with getting my weight under control. I know what is good and what is bad but I need that extra push and guidance to get everything in line. I do good one week and lose weight and then the next week I lose the motivation and gain it back. If I had this month of My Body Tutor, I believe the one on one help would be exactly what I need for that "kick in the butt"!

posted Jun 9th, 2011 11:07 am



Angela Snipes

I have such a problem with thinking I am eating healthy to only read something later that lets me know why I shouldn't have been eating that "health food" in the first place. It leaves me feeling defeated and without motivation. I always feel I am moving 2 steps forward and 10 steps back. Something like this might actually be able to help with that.

posted Jun 9th, 2011 11:03 am


Katrina Hooper

What a neat program I would love to try it out!!!!

posted Jun 7th, 2011 8:22 pm


2BFitN10

Getting started has always been the hardest part for me. 30 days of accountability, motivation, and education from a Body Tutor is just what I need to help get me on the right track to better health. I lost 20 pounds last year, got off track, gained it all back plus a few more. I'm finding it difficult this time around to get started with dieting and stick with it. Winning this would be great!

posted Jun 7th, 2011 6:29 pm


rachel

This would help me realize what foods are truly good for you or not, not just based solely on calories. As part of my weight loss plan i have the exercise in check but the diet is lacking something, i think this would really help.

posted Jun 7th, 2011 12:16 pm



Gena Stephens

I would benefit with this in so many ways. I have a ton of health problems and have lost over 25 lbs since January, with a struggle. I am very obese. I have created a weight loss group on fb to help encourage others and myself. I am also going to be in a weight loss challenge to help push me and need all the help that I can get.

posted Jun 5th, 2011 10:26 am


gloria

I so need the one on one,Dieting on your own is hard as it is add a few health problem and you are in over your head.My weight lost goal is 50 pound I am doing this slow and steady hoping that with the 30 day help I will be able to go the long hale !!

posted Jun 4th, 2011 4:19 am


Audra

What a great service! A one-on-one with a professional would be so helpful for me because I have finally found the determination and persistence needed to live a healthy life, but I have yet to find the correct formula that will help me lose the pounds that are evidence of the bad food choices I've always made.

posted Jun 4th, 2011 12:03 am


angie

One on one interaction with a nutritionist and fitness expert would be key in my goal of losing 100 lbs in a year. Even if its just for one month, I believe that I could learn enough in 30 days to really help me as far as knowing what and when to eat and about exercise and fitness.

posted Jun 3rd, 2011 4:40 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account