Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Yoplait Greek Yogurt Not the Healthiest Choice

One of the most buzzed about health foods of late is Greek yogurt. Everyone is eating it, or telling you to eat it. I jumped on the Greek yogurt band wagon more than a year ago and have no plans to jump. It’s pretty tasty, and the fact that it’s so good for you means my refrigerator is always stocked.

In the past six months I’ve noticed the Greek yogurt section at the grocery grow from two rows of the plain Fage brand to several shelves and rows of multiple brands. I’ll disclaim that my personal favorite is Chobani.

Recently, yogurt dominator Yoplait showed up on the Greek yogurt shelves. So I wondered if this could be a true contender amongst the Fages, Oikos and Chobanis, or if it would just be a popular name trying to squeeze in and take part in this booming niche market. I used to have a hard-core Yoplait habit, until I realized that it was basically candy with all of the sugar added to it. Thus, my switch to Greek.

So I compared the Chobani Greek, vanilla flavor, with the Yoplait Greek, honey vanilla flavor, and found that I’m sticking with the former.

Nutrition Facts

Each brand comes in a six ounce container. Here’s a side-by-side comparison of their nutrition facts, in which Chobani is the better choice.

Chobani / Yoplait

Calories: 120 / 130
Fat: 0 / 0
Sodium: 65mg / 95mg
Sugar: 13g / 18g
Protein: 16g / 12g

Ingredients

Then if we look at the ingredient labels, we see there is still a clear winner.

Chobani contains only eight ingredients, five of which are live active cultures. The number of ingredients on the label are just as important to me as what those ingredients are. Additionally, Chobani contains nonfat milk, sugar and natural vanilla flavor.

Yoplait contains 10 ingredients, including nonfat milk, milk protein concentrate, sugar, Kosher gelatin, lemon juice concentrate, locust bean gum, natural flavor, pectin and vitamins A and D. There is no mention of the cultures, those probiotics that do your digestive system a world of good. Not sure why it needs all of that extra stuff.

Taste

How do they compare on taste? Well, the Yoplait Greek tastes exactly like vanilla cake frosting- far too sweet for me – and a creamy but sticky texture. The Chobani has a very subtle flavor with what I think is a creamier texture.

If you’re wanting to make the switch to Greek yogurt and selection is slim, definitely get started with the Yoplait. However, if your grocer provides a choice, read the labels and find one that is lower in sugar and has fewer ingredients, not to mention better taste.

You might recognize the brand, and they might dress it up to look like their competitor’s health food, but this is an easy lesson in the value of reading food labels. It only takes a second, and you will take home healthier choices every time.

Try Greek yogurt in these recipes:

March 29th, 2010

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 33 total comments)

Fixit Mann

Disgusting stuff. Our Walmart and Safeway have started stocking NOTHING BUT "Greek" yogurts and they're all disgusting as can be. They're not even made with whole milk or even 2% but NON-fat. They taste terrible, and mostly are just processed gelatin in the case of the Yoplait.
I had to buy baby food yogurt to get whole milk "regular" yogurt without all the added ingredients in it.

posted Sep 15th, 2014 3:13 am


Dan

Apparently this site is loaded with Chobani employees. I've tried both and couldn't get past a couple of spoons of Chobani. Yoplait is much better.

posted May 1st, 2014 3:11 am


Susie

I wonder if I was the only one concerned about sucralose in the Yoplait Greek? Unless I missed something, nobody mentioned that the Yoplait has sucralose which is Splenda which not everyone can tolerate and there is no mention that it is a "diet" food on the label. No wonder it has 40 fewer calories that Giant brand Greek yogurt. I'm amazed they can get away with that.

posted Apr 30th, 2013 12:22 pm


Lora Miranda

I don't like yogurt but want to try the Greek yogurt. Will I like it compared to the regular yogurt?

posted Apr 29th, 2012 6:45 am


linda

I prefer Chobani. I made the mistake of trying Yoplait Greek after having tried Chobani. I was disappointed. Also, the sugar content is too high for me.

posted Apr 4th, 2012 7:19 pm


Fred

Wait to you try Noosa Yoghurt from Colorado. There will be no comparison to Yoplait, Dannon, or Chobani.

posted Oct 27th, 2011 10:04 pm


Tom

Yoplait plain fat-free greek yogurt contains 115 mgs Sodium. Taste terrible.

posted Oct 18th, 2011 10:37 am



Gabriela Morris

Please try OLYMPUS, authentic, Made in GREECE! The one and only! Strained Yogurt with 3 ingredients when it's full fat:Grade A Pasteurized milk and cream, yogurt culture, the real one, L BULGARICUS, S. TERMOPHILUS
and 2 incredients when it's 0% fat content The yogurt is extremely creamy and yummy yummy!. Low in sodium too. It is not tangy!

posted Sep 21st, 2011 2:44 pm



Gabriela Morris

How about OLYMPUS, AUTHENTIC GREEK YOGURT? Please try OLYMPUS, authentic, Made in GREECE! The one and only! Strained Yogurt with 3 ingredients when it's full fat:Grade A Pasteurized milk and cream, yogurt culture, the real one, L BULGARICUS, S. TERMOPHILUS and 2 incredients when it's 0% fat content The yogurt is extremely creamy and yummy yummy!. Low in sodium too. It is not tangy!

posted Sep 21st, 2011 2:42 pm


Kati

To answer Tammy - since nonfat milk is used in this product, it is possible that a small amount of cholesterol is present in the product. Traces of fat may also be present despite the label saying 0 grams. Food manufacturers are also allowed an acceptable range for each nutrient when it comes to food labels, so it is possible that an insignificant amount (less than 0.5 grams) of fat may be present as well. Sometimes its hard to tell!

posted Sep 13th, 2011 4:28 pm


Tammy

I found your site because I bought Yoplait Greek Plain Yogurt non-fat. It shows 0% fat - no saturated, no trans, no FAT! But, what I don't understand is the cholesterol. It's 15 mg per 6 oz. serving. Now from everything I've ever know, cholesterol is normally associated with fat,, especially saturated fats. So,l how can a product be fat free and still have cholesterol? It has the same amount of cholesterol as a serving of full fat cheese. Does anyone know the why?

posted Sep 12th, 2011 6:13 pm


Suzanne

I usually buy plain yogurt. I thought I'd try the yoplait Greek plain, because the grocery store I was in didn't carry Chobani...big mistake. I hate to waste, but it was disgusting and inedible. I'm glad I only bought three.

posted Aug 23rd, 2011 11:52 am


Lou

Yoplait Plain Greek Yogurt basically tastes like sour cream... With added protein... It's very bitter and, in my opinion, disgusting. I haven't tried any other brand yet but everyone recommends Chobani; I'll give that a shot!

posted Jul 25th, 2011 2:19 pm


Rene

The ]Yoplait Greek with Strawberries is horrible. No one else puts gelatin in yogurt but there it is on the ingredient list along with cornstarch.. Even the strawberries are bad it seems that some of them may have been spoiled before being added to the "yogurt". I'll stick with Fage.

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 10:52 pm


Rutherford

I'll follow the article and most commenters to say the Yoplait Greek yogurt tastes terrible. I (regretfully) just bought 5 in plain, since they were on sale for 89 cents each. These don't compare to Chobani, they are much more bitter and have a bad aftertaste. I even added honey but it didn't help.

posted Apr 18th, 2011 8:31 pm


JB

I compared the nutrition info for a 6oz cup of Yoplait Greek Honey Vanilla (12 g sugar) to the CHobani Vanilla 6oz cup - (18g sugar). So how is that less than Yoplait? The Yoplait is cheaper and less sugar!

posted Apr 5th, 2011 4:00 pm


Yoyogirl

YOPLAIT GREEK Strawberry was HORRIBLE. GASTLY! GROSS. Chobani is the best. They sell it at my Sam's and I can get the 12-pack for under $11 so I will have to make the trip. Super Target didnt have it so I tried the Yoplait version...BIG MISTAKE! Won't happen again!

posted Mar 31st, 2011 10:59 am


Kc

Its just ok. But much cheaper, so I sometimes will buy it! Prefer Oikos or Chobani any day!

posted Mar 30th, 2011 12:32 pm


Ethel

as a gastric bypass patient ,out 9years i get tired of shakes ,so i put a scoop of protein powder in yogurt and it is so ,ithank you for a porduct that ia not to sweet and i can use in my selecfions for meaks

posted Mar 20th, 2011 3:13 am


Aaron



I didn't even bother to look at the ingredients, I just thought I'd save a few bucks buying something cheaper. Low and behold the Yoplait model of "greek yogurt" is nothing more than a lab created concoction of stuff intended to simulate the real thing. Next trip to the store I'm switching back to Chobani.

posted Sep 28th, 2010 4:32 pm


Avatar

Greek Gods greek yogurt is also very good. Chobani, Greek Gods & Fage are
becoming so popular the price is only about 30cents more than Yoplait. The first Greek yogurt I ever tried was Yoplait. It is so horrible i almost didn't get what all the rage was. I almost never tried Greek yogurt again. Yoplait is horrible tasting. I wonder weho gives the thumbs up for something so bad to go on the market. Blahhhh. If you greek yogurt lovers haven't tried Greek Gods, give it a whirl. You won't be sorry.

posted Aug 26th, 2010 12:37 pm



MDS

I bought the Yoplait Greek yogurt because it was on sale and half the price of the others. I eat the plain yogurt, with my own fruit, so the sweetness of the Yoplait yogurt is not an issue for me. What's an issue is the taste. I love the Oikos and Chobani. Yoplait is just plain awful.

Don't buy this unless you have no other choice.

posted Jul 26th, 2010 12:43 pm


Kimmy

Yoplait Greek yogurt is horrible. After eating Chobani and Fage for years, I decided to see what yoplait had to offer. The taste is not as smooth and creamy and the other greek yogurts. I bought 3 containers of it and have been eating it with fruit just to get it down. It's not sweet at all and taste a little like garlic at first taste. Thankfully, there is no aftertaste which is the only reason I can stomach it.

posted Jul 9th, 2010 10:00 am


KG

I am confused as to why you are sticking with Yoplait if it is not the best choice.

posted Jun 22nd, 2010 7:22 pm


mel

Yoplait Greek yogurt tastes terrible to me!
Despite having more sugar than Chobani, it tastes less sweet..
To me, this Yoplait Greek tastes like dirt..
Will never buy this brand again!

posted May 28th, 2010 1:25 pm


Jay

Ya'll are very fortunate to have a choice. I can't find ANY Greek yogurt in our supermarkets!

posted May 19th, 2010 7:27 pm



Golden Danielle

I caught that too and I agree Jennifer ^, Brandi seemed to imply she was sticking with the Yoplait. ;)

posted May 18th, 2010 5:24 pm


Amateras

I picked up a 6oz , $1 Yoplait GREEK , Plain today, and I disagree with all of you.
There are 100 calories in the entire 6oz cup, 14g of Protein and 9g of Sugar.
I think it's great !

posted May 4th, 2010 6:20 pm


Catherine

Thank You so much for your excellent review. I totally agree that Yoplait's "GREEK" yogurt is not the healthiest choice.

In fact, as you pointed out with the ingredient list, Yoplait's imposter is not GREEK yogurt at all.

Real, healthy GREEK yogurt does not require Kosher gelatin and locust bean gum (yuck!) to thicken it.

I am actually really mad that Yoplait can get away with calling this over-processed product "GREEK". I live in a smaller town, where dairy case space is at a premium. My store used to carry Oikos and sometimes FAGE, and never dreamed of carrying Chobani. And now, because Yoplait is such a big player in kiddie-candy-yogurt and probably pays for shelf space, my store just informed me that Yoplait is the only GREEK yogurt they will be carrying.

I guess I will take amnichols advice and make my own....assuming I can even find plain yogurt among the masses of over-processed, sugar-laden offerings.

SIGH....

posted Apr 29th, 2010 12:43 pm



amnichols

Brandi, I agree with you on taste. I'm a Stonyfield fan myself. However, Yoplait does have one of the cheaper Greek yogurt brands and Chobani and Stonyfield aren't available in many supermarkets.

Frankly, everyone should save some money and make their own. How? Get a big carton of plain, no fat yogurt . Line a colander with cheese cloth and put it in a large bowl. Dump the yogurt in the colander, cover and refrigerate overnight. In the morning the whey will be separated from the yogurt and you'll have a much cheaper version of plain, Greek yogurt. Then YOU can dictate how much sugar you want to add to it. Some suggestions include jam, berries, honey, agave, or your fave sugar substitute.

posted Apr 21st, 2010 4:32 pm


Alison

I agree with you Chobani is my fave, I like fage, oikos I can do but I actually threw out the yoplait after a few bites, it was just wrong, the texture the sweetness all of it. I like that Greek yogurt is a bit tangier and thick without holding the mold of the cup it comes in...

posted Apr 21st, 2010 4:30 pm


Carolyn

Right on. Everyone needs to turn the cup around and look at those ingredients. Yogurt is hardly health food anymore with all that coloring, chemicals and sugars! (I love chobani too!)

posted Apr 21st, 2010 4:24 pm


Jennifer

"and found that I??m sticking with the latter" - I believe you meant that you were sticking with the FORMER. :-)

posted Apr 21st, 2010 10:43 am



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account