Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Guest Blog: eDiets Deliciously Yours customer service woes

Diets In Review welcomes Paul Slater to the Diet Column today. He is, or was, an eDiets Deliciously Yours customer and after his own frustrating experience with the company, he started a Web site called Ediets Sucks!. There he learned that he was not alone. Other customers finding themselves caught in the same situation as Paul reached out to share their stories as well. We bring Paul’s first-hand account of his experience to you today so that you have a little more information and as a consumer can use that in making your own decisions.
eDiets Deliciously Yours

Now I’ve hit my mid-30s, it’s not only more difficult to get rid of that spare tire, it seems to sag a little more every day. It’s time to do something about it. This time properly.

I don’t have the time or patience to formally count calories, but I can follow rules, and eat what I’m told. So recently I began to think seriously about using a meal delivery service. NutriSystem is of course the most widely advertised, but I’ve never been a fan of shelf-stable food. I was looking for a healthier alternative, but still at a reasonable price. After much research online, I decided to pick the Ediets Deliciously Yours program.

The Deliciously Yours program is a new move for Ediets, although they have provided a slightly different meal delivery program in the past. You get 3 meals a day, plus a small snack, and you are expected to supplement with 3 portions of fresh fruit and two of dairy. The website provides a meal plan, but you can substitute any of the meals and snacks as you wish (albeit on a very unintuitive website). Food is fresh, and delivered once a week in a cooler by FedEx. Or at least so Ediets claims.

My first delivery was due to be delivered on a Saturday, so a day or so before I went online to get the tracking number. Surprisingly there is no way to view it. The website also was showing me food to eat for the day as though I had already had a package delivered. All in all I was starting to get a little worried. Still, a projected delivery date was still listed as Saturday, so I decided to have a little faith and wait patiently for it to arrive.

t didn’t. Not on Saturday, nor the following Monday, not even during the following week. Extremely frustrated, I tried calling them and waited on hold – for more than two hours. Eventually I was cut off. I tried calling multiple times, each with the same result. I tried e-mailing, no reply. Eventually in frustration I started my own blog – www.edietssucks.com mainly in an attempt to get their attention.

It rapidly became clear that I am by no means alone. I’ve received e-mails from many other frustrated customers, pointing me to discussion groups and blogs that document similar experiences. Many, many customers have been receiving shipments at the wrong time, shipments with the wrong food, and frequently no shipments at all. And all of us being billed weekly for up to about $130 a week with no obvious way to cancel the service.

The second week I finally did receive my food. It arrived on the wrong day, some of the food was missing and one of the dishes was substituted for something that I don’t eat. But at least it arrived. And actually, I hate to admit it, it tastes really good! This is exactly the kind of meal delivery service I would use, if I felt remotely confident in the company delivering it.

Finally, after about two weeks of less than subtle prodding from me – I got a phone call from an Ediets representative called Robert. Robert admitted that the company has had significant problems since launching the new service, but assured me that those problems are now being resolved. Ediets have apparently now pretty much tripled their customer service team, and are now answering calls “within minutes”. After some negotiation, Robert also told me that I will get a refund for my missing week, additional compensation for my missing and substituted meals, and a free week for my trouble. I’m supposed to get an e-mail confirming all this, but it has yet to arrive.

Unfortunately, for me Robert’s assurances were not enough. Despite loving the food I need to be able to trust the provider to deliver it, on time and accurately. So I have cancelled my service. If you are thinking of signing up for the Deliciously Yours program – I would urge you to check closely to see if these problems have been resolved. I really hope they are, but it is difficult to see how they can be until the company publicly owns up to these issues, formally apologizes and shows how it is resolving the situation.

Meantime, I’m back to looking for a decent meal delivery service…

Thank you, Paul, for bringing your concerns to our attention. There are many meal delivery services designed to help people lose and manage weight. Others that promise prompt and fresh service include:

Bistro M.D.

Chef’s Diet

Diet to Go

DineWise

Jenny Craig

Medifast

March 17th, 2008

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 3 total comments)

Kathy Ryan

I was VERY DISAPPOINTED with eDiets. I had always read good reviews about the online weight loss system. I was being charged monthly for practically NOTHING! I was the one who had to look up the menus, shopping lists, exercise routines, etc. I wasn't notified by email when my account was charged, and when I tried to find a payment history, all that showed was when the money was taken out..nothing about how much. I called to cancel and was put on hold for 10 minutes. When I asked the associate how much I was being billed, she told me, but when I said I'd like to see a record, she rudely instructed me to look at my credit card statement. That's BS and BAD BUSINESS!! I think I'd check the BBB report before signing up. Last time I looked they had an F rating. (12/16/10)

posted Dec 17th, 2010 3:22 am


Marie Jones

eDiets is a poorly-managed racket with intentionally confusing, advertising. IN BOLD LETTERS it advertises GET A FREE WEEK OF FOOD which makes you think you can TEST it out, based on the wording. *****THEN, you find out you must SIGN UP FIRST WITH CREDIT CARD and order first meals blindly, (WHICH ARE NOT NEARLY AS NICE AS THE ONES SHOWN ON THEIR SAMPLE MENU). THE FREE MEAL DEAL seems to happen somewhere around the 7th week, if you last that long!!!!

There is NO WAY to CANCEL easily or reliably, particularly during the holidays. If you highly inspect their tricky website you will see that you can "SKIP" but not "Cancel" their meal plan online. You must trust that a live call will effectively "Cancel" your service but this is not possible during weekends or holidays, whereby they charge you for 2 weeks of food, instead of one!!! Each week costs around $119.00 . I explained (carefully) that I wanted to use this as a one week trial for an aged parent living alone, would need to see how the grandparent did on the meals, liked taste, overall quality, ease of use, etc. I was reassured that this was NO PROBLEM, of course it was!!!!

When I found out that my credit card was being charged for a 2nd week for another $119.00, after the grandparent clearly did not like the food, felt like the meals were week old left-overs with gourmet titles, but garbage-pale taste, I called again. ALL regular CUSTOMER SERVICE PEOPLE are useless, they put you on hold endlessly with a loud, obnoxious advertisement constantly running, while you wait for a SUPERVISOR.

Then when you get the supervisor, they tell you information THAT I COULD NOT FIND ON THE WEBSITE THAT IS CRITICAL, such as you can E MAIL THEM ON WEEKENDS, as someone is sent in to "CHECK" e-mails. ****THIS IS IN TOTAL CONTRADICTION TO THEIR TELEPHONE RECORDINGS WHICH SAY THEY ARE CLOSED FOR BUSINESS UNTIL MONDAY MORNINGS. Please, check it all out for yourself, (1) YOU MUST SIGN UP FIRST TO TRY FOOD, THE GET A FREE WEEK IS NOT APPLICABLE TO THE FIRST, TO SEE IF IT WILL SUIT YOU. (2) The EXIT CANCELLATION policy is intentionally difficult , confusing and took 4 hours of my time!!!! (3) The food tastes like week old left-overs and my aged grandparent was afraid to eat some of it, particularly the breakfasts. (4) Their so-called Customer Service is rude, robot-like and could care less about Customer Satisfaction. I hope they go out of BUSINESS, AS THEY DESERVE TO!

posted Dec 29th, 2009 4:37 pm


Jan

I loved the foods I chose from eDiets.com, and the delivery always arrived on the day they said it would. The problem was that on several occasions the flimsy food containers had cracked and the food inside had spilled out. That was totally unacceptable so I had no choice but to cancel my subscription. Imagine receiving a box of food and instead of the food being in their neat little containers, the food has spilled everywhere. It was a huge mess, a had lost a good amount of food (not to mention money), and I literally burst into tears upon seeing the mess. If they can ever fix this BIG problem, I would consider renewing my subscription, but not until.

posted Jul 23rd, 2009 11:19 am



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




6 Responses to “Guest Blog: eDiets Deliciously Yours customer service woes”


CathyB
Apr 13th, 2008
4:50 pm

I have had nary a problem with this meal delivery service. I ordered one week to try it and see how the food was. It came exactly when it should, nothing substituted, and the food was delicious. I was not yet ready to start dieting (social obligations) so called customer service, was not put on hold, and cancelled easily, no questions asked. Two weeks later, I signed up again. Food came on Friday afternoon for the week startin Monday, and again the food is outstanding. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Waiting to see how the weight loss goes since I just started. I have changed all my menus at breakfast because I am not a fan of cold cereal and that seems not to have been a problem either, so I opted for muffins (delicious!) or the California breakfast (eggs, cheese, salsa), which is also delicious. Also switched out a few lunches/dinners for things I liked better. The website could be a little more user-friendly, but once you figure it out, no problem with that either. I would recommend this plan to anyone.


Michael
May 31st, 2008
10:22 pm

I was happy to have gotten out while I did. I was not a meal delivery customer, but I was appalled at eDiets’ apparent belief that people will pay indefinitely for a product that is broken. I finally got out in February. Diets with WAY too many calories (up to 1,000 per meal extra), no fitness programs (you have to be in a pretty bad way to not be able to handle 10 minutes of exercise at 55% of maximum heart rate), incorrect scientific information and amazingly stubborn treatment by eDiets staff. Like many others, I was unable to get through, the emails weren’t being answered, and LiveSupport was simply gone. I started complaining on dozens of boards every day until an eDiets rep offered to get my account cancelled. Even if they were to finally fix everything (and, a blog entry dated 5/27/2008 tells me they have not yet), eDiets will never, ever get any money from me again.


Crystal
Nov 21st, 2008
2:12 pm

The customer service at e-diets is horrible. The representatives are not ver polite and they sure don’t make you feel like a valued customer. I am said to say it, but I had to cancel my account with them. The food is really good, but the deliver reprocess is a nightmare. The food does not arrive on the dates that it should. As of today I am waiting on my final deliver that has been in transit for 4 days. Do I really want to eat food that has been in a box for 4 days??? NOOOO. So I had to cancel and the customer service rep didn’t apologize or even seemed like he cared.


Joanee
Jan 5th, 2009
5:41 pm

I signed up with the e-diets food delivery and scheduled my deliveries to start on Thursday – received my first FedEx box and started the food the next day – well it was pretty bad – first meal cheese omelet had a very long black hair in it!!! – I threw it away – and thought – well stuff happens – second meal – marsala beef w/rice – soggy at best -, third meal tuna casserole – uneatable – called to cancel on Friday – they were closed – called Saturday – closed on weekends – e-mailed them (thru their web site) canceling any future order and explained food was not up to par – no acknowledgment of e-mail – in fact they deny every receiving it – I called first thing Monday morning – was told “too late” delivery on it’s way – no way to stop it – and by the way you will be charged –
Down right rude, customer service – I thought I was listening to a recording – same line over and over – from the person who answered all the way to the supervisor – absolutely no way for you to cancel your orders on-line, or change your payment information, you have to call – terrible experience – horrible customer service – in fact what I would consider NO customer service – told me they had no record of any phone calls (of course not I got a recording saying to call back when they are open) and no e-mail – I used their own form on line under “contact us” so basically they were calling me a lier – oh and when they call you back – it is listed as a “private number” so no way for you to contact them directly – just the 800 number -


Peachy
Jan 29th, 2009
10:35 am

1/29/09 – First of all, the sample meals they show BEFORE you sign up for your first delivery, is not a good example of the weekly menu – my first week choices were full of beans, spicy foods, and ham – all of which my system won’t tolerate. Unfortunately, I was locked in as once you sign up, they have you on the hook. No refunds! Meals arrived, as stated, by Fed-X in styrofoam carton – soup was spilled all over the place. Now, the taste of the food is just HORRIBLE, and they use tons of spices and obviously love ONIONS – as everything has onions….food smells strong which to me, indicates that it is not fresh.

Guess what – I also have a shipment of Nutri-Systems, and will use their program as their food is fantastic – tho not fresh, but it has flavor, not spicy and not tons of onions.

I regret spending the $130 PLUS for my week of E-diets – waste of money and food.


Joan
May 19th, 2009
1:07 pm

Don’t try to cancel before you receive your first order. They won’t let you. They are crooks and their customer service is awful. I will not do business with anyone who will not let me change my mind.