Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

GIVEAWAY: Choose You from the American Cancer Society

Choose You American Cancer SocietyIt’s New Year’s resolution time! We all know that keeping resolutions is the tough part. So many women put others ahead of themselves, which is a fast way to derail personal fitness goals. The consequences can be more serious than you think: according to the American Cancer Society, 50 percent of cancer deaths could be prevented if women maintained a healthy weight through diet and regular exercise, avoided tobacco products and got recommended cancer screenings.

That’s why the American Cancer Society is helping women stick to their healthy habits with a new program, Choose You. Goal-setting and social support are important components to making a healthy lifestyle change, and now you can get both by logging into to ChooseYou.com. The site is full of advice, resources and also connects you with evens in your area.

To promote the new site, we’re helping the American Caner Society give away Choose You goodies. DietsInReview is offering two prize packs. One is a workout tee-shirt and a Choose You pin, and the other prize pack is a workout kit featuring a pedometer/calorie counter, a jump rope and a resistance band.

Read on to enter!

PrizesTo be picked as one of our two winners, just leave a comment on this page and tell us how you can start “Choosing You” to achieve your health goals. Do you need to avoid the stress of certain situations? Make more time to get to the gym? Stop buying those sugary cookies you can’t resist? Let us know!

At the end of January, we will contact the winner.

This giveaway has ended. Winners notified. (Stacey and Tiffany)

*DISCLAIMER: Only residents of the U.S. are eligible to win. DietsInReview.com will draw TWO (2) winners January 31, 2011 and will notify winners via the email used in the comment form. Winners have five business days to respond and claim prize or forfeit prize. DietsInReview.com is not responsible for lost or stolen packages, nor failed shipments due to user providing incorrect address. DietsInReview.com may replace the prize with one of equal value if prize is not available. Prize value is $30.00; not redeemable for cash. Prize provided by American Cancer Society.

January 1st, 2011

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 33 total comments)

susan smoaks

i have started taking time to walk around my neighborhood every morning, choosing me!

posted Jan 31st, 2011 8:16 pm


Heather

I would need to start making more time to work out!

posted Jan 31st, 2011 7:13 pm


Tiffanie M.

I am diabetic and don't do what I am supposed to do in order to stay healthy. I need to start counting my carbs right, eating less sugar, and checking my bloodsugar levels more often.

sparkofutterance(at)hotmail(dot)com

posted Jan 31st, 2011 4:03 am


Annette E

I need to seriously cut back on the sweets.

posted Jan 30th, 2011 11:53 pm


Erin

I need to make sure I eat fewer snacks, especially the sweet kind!

posted Jan 29th, 2011 12:05 am


hobit

Mine really that hard, having gotten cancer for the 2nd time, all I have to do is take my meds :-)

posted Jan 28th, 2011 1:12 pm


Katie R.

I need to stop stressing about earning A's in college so I can focus on staying healthy

posted Jan 28th, 2011 3:11 am


Melissa M.

I am going to try to get in at least 30 minutes of vigorous exercise a day.

posted Jan 25th, 2011 6:41 pm


Darrell Bennett

Thanks

posted Jan 24th, 2011 3:05 am


shelley

I have started 2011 with my mind set to lose weight. I have been going to a zumba class and love it. I would love to winner this.

posted Jan 22nd, 2011 11:33 pm



karinelizabethmeares

My friends and I have started a long term weight loss competition. Just the impetus needed for me to start taking MUCH better care of myself. Healthful food and portion choices, working out during my lunch breaks. Making the time to take care of myself. It's a good feeling and all part of the best life ever.

posted Jan 20th, 2011 7:21 pm



Youngsbabyangel

I am taking time out for me now. I need to think about my life an to worry more about my health an what will help me live longer so i can make a difference other peoples lives as i do now.

posted Jan 19th, 2011 2:36 am


elizabeth

Just taking more time for myself by scheduling workouts. I promised myself last year that I would workout more, and I'm really proud of myself that I stuck to it. I've also involved my oldest son who is six. We've run in a few 5ks together and he's loving running.

posted Jan 17th, 2011 11:26 pm



AmberRose95

I need to make more time to exercise and find some activities that are fun to do. Thank you for the giveaway!

posted Jan 16th, 2011 4:36 am


Ziggywag

I work online and am sitting all day. My plan is to take 1/2 hour a day to do some sort of indoor workout. Once the weather warms up here, I would like to bike ride or walk.

posted Jan 15th, 2011 12:11 am


HealthyLoserGal / Jan

This is amazingly in line with my New Year's resolution which is to take 10-15 minutes every morning and start the day off by meditating, thinking positive thoughts and giving myself some quiet time! : ) Already I feel the results in my day.

posted Jan 14th, 2011 9:13 pm


stacey

I need to stop buying sugary unhealthy snacks for my children and replacing those with healthier snack choices and start eating healthier myself to show them that it's a good thing to lose the "bad for you" foods! Not only will this help me, but my children as well, and hopefully they will see that when it comes to your health, you MUST put yourself in #1 position!

posted Jan 13th, 2011 5:22 pm



Angela Snipes

I have realized that I spend way too much time on Facebook and doing sedentary things. So, I decided to "earn" my sedentary pleasures. For every minute 5 minutes that I am active, I earn 1 minute playing on Facebook. Then I use an egg timer to make sure I don't go over my allotted time. :)

posted Jan 13th, 2011 3:51 pm


Dalina

I need to exercise more and not use the weather as an excuse.

posted Jan 12th, 2011 11:05 pm


Stac y

I just need to be more motivated to work out. I always feel better after but it's hard to be consistent.

posted Jan 12th, 2011 4:18 pm


Jennifer Johnston

My need is to join the just say no program. I am the poster child for this program here. I always hear someone elses needs and wants and cater to them instead of putting my health and weight loss journey first. That is exactly what got me at 300 lbs. I MUST turn this 180. I am moving end of this month and will be staying where there is a treadmill and will be the deciding voice on food that enters the house. Therefore I have no excuse not to put me first. Be disciplined and get moving/ cooking right and this can happen for me at home. Then I can conintue to help others like I so love to do but as an inspiration and story for others to change their lives. I have realized in some areas you can not help others until you first help yourself.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 2:18 pm



Connie Hamblen Williamson

If I can just convince myself to turn away from sweets more often, I'll be further along on my way. I've already lost 40 pounds (last year).

posted Jan 4th, 2011 4:34 am


Linda

I have chosen me by committing to walking and portion control. A New Year beans turning over a new leaf, only I can make the difference for me.

posted Jan 4th, 2011 2:48 am


scasolari

I need to avoid soda!

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 7:42 pm


Sammi

I just need to make time to exercise

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 7:45 am


Karen

I am choosing to cut back on the sweet stuff and to move more...not for weight reduction but for general health.

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 4:19 am


Emily N.

I'd choose to make time for exercise every morning and say no to other distractions.

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 11:25 pm


Susan Yates

I would like some information from the Cancer Society. I don't know what to eat for cancer.

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 9:08 pm


Linda Lansford

I need to stop the sugar

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 8:33 pm


Sylvia

I am going to the doctor more and starting a weight loss/exercise plan.

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 1:48 pm


Tiffany K

I will choose me in 2011 by not sweating the small stuff and sweating more in general (via exercise).

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 3:05 am


MaryBeth I

I think you have to reach a point where you put yourself and your health first and making healthier lifestyle choices

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 1:40 am


Tanya

I would choose me by eating at home more often. With busy schedules I am always tempted to eat out. This year I would like to prepare more healthy meals at home.

posted Jan 1st, 2011 3:39 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account